We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cote du Cinquantenaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added A Cote du Cinquantenaire to your Saves list
A Cote du Cinquantenaire
139 rue du Cornet, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Etterbeek B&B and Inns
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel during my work-related trip to Brussels. Loved it. The location is terrific for those coming EU institutions (takes 10 minutes to get to the Parliament or the Commission), it is around the corner to the park- for those who want to go for a run or have a nice walk in the evening. Metro is not far. The owner is very welcoming and the breakfast is really filling :) for this price it must have been the best quality/price place I have stayed in while in Brussels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Positives: very nice, welcoming and helpful owner; in walking distance to EU buildings; well reacheable by bus No.12 from the airport to Schuman stop, then about 10 minutes walk through the Parc du Cinquantenaire; clean streets; looks like newly furnished; simple rooms, but nothing important missing (with chocolate, notebook and pencil and big mirror in the wardrobe); garden with couple tables and chairs, where you can smoke; in the "breakfast room" a coffee/tea machine and some guide books or maps at disposal; great breakfast.

Negatives: like any other B&B it doesn't have the 24 hours reception, so you have to tell the host when approximately you'll be arriving (please don't panic, if you stand in front of the B&B, ring and nobody comes - it could mean that the "ringing line" is occupied because is somehow connected to the phone, when you press the ringbutton and hear sound like dialling a phone, you are on the right track!:). My only objection to this B&B would be, that it probably has very thin walls (I heard a lot of television and bathroom sounds, which is not that horrible, it's like at my home:) but I really didn't get the "furniture-moving-sounds" on the floor above me at 21:00, which continued to 1:30..

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Centered location near the park of the Cinquantenaire. Nice and friendly/helpful service. Breakfast is included. No luxury, functional and new furniture. Good price/quality relation being by the centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I spent several days in this B&B, and one thing I observed is: everyone left this place with a huge smile and completely relaxed.

This is most thanks to two factors:
1. Very friendly and helpful host, which serves personally breakfast (fresh squeezed orange juice!) and provides all information necessary for the traffic, connections, metro, ordering taxi (well, I had problems to spell out name of the street), map of Brussels. Laurent really goes out of his way to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.
2. Prices. You can feel at ease knowing that you get what you pay for: excellent service for appropriate price. Compared with other options available, especially near EU corner, this is the best quality/price ratio.

Practicalities:

B&B is really easy to find. It is between two metro stations (Schuman and Merode), from each app. 3 min. walk. It is on a quite street, directly near the park where people go for jogging or just to relax near the fountain. The main building is marked with "H" sign, which I assume indicates "hotel" or other hospitality establishment.

Rooms in main building should be very nice - I will tell more when I will stay there next time. This time I took small studio apartment, which was completely sufficient for my stay (traveled single, for a couple it could be too small). Only remark - there is missing a bigger mirror, since the one in bathroom is sufficient maybe only for shaving or some make up work.

Breakfast is included in price, and it is really great! Fresh squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee, warm croissant, selection of bread, cheese and ham, and usual selection of cereals, yogurt, marmalade. I asked for vegetables, and next morning Laurent served some tomatoes!
If you stay in studio apartment, you will get also key from main house and can enjoy breakfast together with other guests.

The B&B also provides a phone which you can use for local calls, e.g. to call Laurent or taxi. Wireless is available in all room and studio apartment, and the connection is good. Studio apartment has small kitchenette, which enables you cooking your own tea or food, if you wish so.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay, and will look no further for another accommodation when going to Brussels.

Room Tip: If you travel single and look for budget option, do not hesitate to stay in their studio apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This B&B was located at the quiet street next to a park, and easy to get to by public transportation. We took bus 27 from Gare du Midi and found a place without a problem.

Laurent the host was extremely helpful and friendly, He suggested walking paths, transportation, provided maps and answered all the questions we had. The breakfast here was also superb, more than I expected and Laurent took good care of us.

The room was fantastic, although central A/C would make it more comfortable. In May we opened our windows and it cooled down the room nicely.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was superb, and Wifi signal was strong. Overall I am glad we stayed here for our last stop on our vacations.

I would def come back here when I return to Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Located on a quiet street close to Cinquantenaire Park and EU buildings. You can get to the historical center by foot.
Clean room with new, modern furniture. The room next to breakfast area can be noisy in the morning.
Helpful and friendly owner.

Room Tip: avoid the room next to breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The B&B has large rooms. I had a two-floor room with a small kitchen. Rooms are essential, but clean. Maybe some comfort could be improve (i.e. toiletries). The B&B is at a walking distance from Schumann and European Commission, which is perfect for business. Internet Wifi is free.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Cote du Cinquantenaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cote du Cinquantenaire

Address: 139 rue du Cornet, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B is located next to Schuman, in the heart of the European quarter, 200m the "Parc du Cinquantenaire". It is a beautiful and friendly place - a gem in the urban center. The attentive service and warm atmosphere will make you naturally feel at home. The public transportation (including to/from the airports) as well as the access to the highways are very easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your A Cote du Cinquantenaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Cote Du Cinquantenaire Brussels, Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cote du Cinquantenaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.