We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Avenue De L'Yser, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Etterbeek
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

The hotel looks somewhat nicer than it is, with just adequate rooms, below average breakfast, undermanned. Staff were nice and pluringual, but one clerk at peak check-in/out times is just not enough and it shows.
Room service only works after 6.30 p.m. and not even a sandwich was available before that time.
Lovely garden. Overall, the hotel is totally overpriced at euros 164 per night, single room with breakfast. More like a good 3 star than its 4-star rating.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    21
    3
    8
See reviews for
3
10
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Took the car to Belgium and spent three nights at the Best Western.
Right opposite the Park Cinquantenaire with its wild parakeets and a stone's throw from the metro and trams.
Free parking just down the road (if you go in the right direction - ask at the desk) and we didn't need to use the car once in the city.
Lovely foyer, large clean spacious room with fully stocked drinks cabinet and interesting breakfast room for the inclusive breakfast.
Three nights for the price of two was a hugely attractive offer to good to miss.
Would definitely visit here again.

  • Liked — Size of bedroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

I booked this hotel a a few nights during the summer of 2006.

Here are my thoughts.

Good Points:

Friendly Staff & Service (Most of the time). Free Continental Breakfast, (it was Free when i stayed there). Gym, I just loved the Sauna. Good Location, Near to Subway etc.

Bad Points

During my stay the Hotel A/C was not working, No Fans available, Complained to Manager that i could not sleep because of the heat, he ''Suddenly'' found me a room that i has A/C Working (quite surprised me).
Stay away from the Mini-Bar, Extortion Prices, I mean something like €5.00 for a Can of Coke, €4.00 for a bag of Crisps and almost €9.00 for a bottle of beer.

Overall

I would say my stay was OK, i would probably choose another hotel the next time i go to Brussels.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

I stayed at the BW Park Hotel this August on a business trip to Brussels. I was pretty upset when I heard that the inviting company booked rooms at this place because I've been there before and I did not like it at all.

The same on this trip: total disappointment!
The lobby is pretty small, which makes it look cozy and home, but that is all I can say on the positive side.

The room was located on the 5th floor, small, dark, a bit smelly and poorly equipped.
The bathroom only had a shower and a plastic sink, the overall design was old-fashioned and cheap.
The bed was around 3ft wide. The entire room was probably 7ft wide. Not too much space for that much money.

The tv set was smaller than my laptop screen, so I decided to watch some dvds on my laptop instead.

The breakfast "English breakfast buffet" was included in the price.
But it was poor, too. Small selection of bread, no fresh fruits, no nothing. I had to wait 10 minutes for my coffee, so I was almost done with the breakfast

They charged me 150 Euros, which is a joke for that mess. At Le meridien, you pay 170 and you get all the amenities from a "real" 4 star hotel.

Well, if you need a cheap place to stay over the weekend, it might be ok, but for business traveller, who need some relaxation, better stay away.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

I have stayed here twice, each time in the summer and in a single room. The single rooms tend to be available on hotel websites at a good rate, in my experience single rooms are a bit rare. Even though I had been very happy on a previous stay, I found some of the other reviews a bit scary so went with some anticipation. However, as on my other stay, the location on the backside facing the nice back yard, and with the window open, allowed a very pleasant sleep in the summer, and air conditioning was not needed. The breakfast was very good, although I do agree with those who noted the lack of evident willingness to refill teapots, etc. on the part of staff.

The single room was actually very large compared to many doubles I have stayed in, the only small part being the bed, which was however quite comfortable. My only small issue was the drain plug on the bath, whose holder came detached.

As others have mentioned, the location is not central but easily reached on the metro. If you are a museum hound this is in an excellent location near a museum complex, but much of the action in Brussels is downtown, so one would need a metro pass and can't stay out too late.

On a previous trip this year I found that this property was never listed at a reasonable rate (so did not stay there); during the busy spring season they must be getting rack rate, which is rather high. But in summer, I found my stay a great deal and would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — suburban/park atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

Nice hotel and good location near the underground station and the park. The breakfast was OK, internet didn’t work. The hotel needs some repair. A bit overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

This hotel suffers from incredibly bad service and bad attitude towards the guest.

1. Although it was -8 degrees outside, there was no hot water to shower with. The reception staff did not care about the problem and blamed the guests for not knowing how to open the water. After 50 complaints they admitted the hotel's old water system is bad.
2. Terrible breakfast and they are 2 lazy to refresh the food or serve coffee/tea.
3. The staff is very unfriendly and does not like to help the guest with area information. They even gave us WRONG information several times until we understood from other guests that they do this intentionally.
4. There is no laudnry service on the weekend although they do not write this anywhere.
5. Internet connection stopped working and they refused to do anything to fix it.
6. the beds are old, small and extremely uncomfortable
7. Housekeeping enters your room without knocking EVEN when the do not disturb sign is on the door.
8. They really give the impression that the guest is unwanted.

TERRIBLE HOTEL - DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels

Address: 21 Avenue De L'Yser, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels is located in a mansion dating from 1903, has been completely renovated to meet the comfort requirements of a 4 * Deluxe. Thanks to the experience of our staff will make you feel at home whether you come for business or leisure. A buffet breakfast is served in the English-style room overlooking the garden. * The hotel is at 300m from Merode metro station, 400m from the museums of Park of Cinquantenaire (Army, Aviation, History, Autoworld and Royal Museums of Art), 2 km from Parliament and European institutions, embassies and just 20 minutes from the International Airport (Zaventem) and Midi Station (Thalys and Eurostar Terminus). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brussels
Brussels Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.