We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a work thing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel EU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel EU to your Saves list
Thon Hotel EU
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Loi / Wetstraat 75, Etterbeek, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a work thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Anyone dealing with the EU will end up visiting Brussels at least once in their life and could well end up visiting on a cold Sunday in November.

Plus points - very close to the Metro (but make sure you take the right exit). Very close to a number of the EU builidngs and not too far to walk to Place de Luxembourg where you might find a bit more life!

Also clean and comfortable - and quiet. Minor bugbear of mine in that it took me a few minutes to work out how to switch the lights on (the card needs to be pushed in hard). Quite secure - the lift and some ground floor doors need a room-key to operate. The breakfast was fine. The staff suitably helpful and as ever had good English.

What I didn't like. OK it's pricey (about 150 Euro/night) but hey I wasn't paying. However, this is a hotel in Brussels, centre of possibly the finest range of beers in the known Universe. And what did the bar offer? Stella. I ask you. Not that there is anything wrong with Stella but guys, please. You can get Stella everywhere. When I'm visiting I like to drink and eat local. A couple of good local beers would make a big difference and would have secured my expenses as opposed to the bar 10 mins down the road.

Other than that a comfortable, clean, modern, bland hotel. Could have been anywhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline V, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are surprised to read we only would have Stella in our bar The Twelve. Stella is only one of the Belgian beers we have in stock but we also do have other beers (such as Kriek, Westmalle Triple or
Delirium Tremens). We even serve a “Thonner’ke”: indeed, at Thon Hotel EU, we not only think green, we also drink green! Our own green beer “ Thonner’ke” has been brewed with 100% natural ingredients and is part of our green project. This exceptional beer can only be tasted at Thon Hotel EU and it’s bar & restaurant The Twelve.

Next time you are at our hotel, do not hesitate to ask for the barmenu with the complete choice of beers or even better, just try out our “Thonner’ke”!

Best regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    322
    62
    16
    14
See reviews for
50
237
27
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Spacious rooms with modern, clean and Scandinavian style lines. Everything worked, the bathroom was large and comfortable. Very quiet for city centre as well and the limited interaction I had with staff led me to think they were helpful and skilled.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline V, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Thon Hotel EU and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We travelled to Brussels for a weekend birthday getaway with friends and stayed at the Thon Hotel EU from the 14th - 16th February. Firstly it is important to note than we had taken a taxi from Brussels Charleroi airport to the hotel and this was 120 euros one way, however the taxi driver was able to find another group of people heading to the same area so we could split the costs.

Upon arrival each member of our party commented on how clean the hotel was as soon as we set foot inside. We were greeted by a member of staff on reception who was extremely accommodating as we had arrived on an early flight (The website states check-in is after 2pm). He managed to find rooms close by to eachother and allowed us to check in early, he was also able to point us in the right direction to the main areas of the city.

The rooms which we were allocated were on the seventh floor of the hotel and it was evident the hotel takes a lot of pride in it's appearance and maintenance as the cleanliness is of the highest standard. Entering the rooms (standard doubles) we were pleasantly surprised as the rooms had ample space, modern decor, good sized beds (which were comfortable) and an excellent bathroom with power shower.

I booked the hotel through Trivago and at the time the price was extremely reasonable at 46 euros per night, this however did not include breakfast. Not a problem though as we found out that on a weekend they offer half price breakfast at 14 euros per person. I assume the hotel is mainly aimed at business persons through the week and at this time breakfast is a rather steep 28 euros per person. However i struggle to think of a better selection of breakfast foods, ranging from cold meats, cheese and fruit to pastries, cereals, cooked breakfast and ample choices of drinks.

Overall our stay at this hotel was excellent, however i do wish to point out a couple of small things. The price of alcoholic drinks in the bar is slightly excessive with two large beers and a small beer totalling over 25 euros along with being charged to use the wifi after the first hour is free. Also we were searching for restaurants away from the hotel for a birthday meal but the staff were not willing to advise us where we might be able to go as there is a self contained restaurant. I completely appreciate that they want you to eat in the hotel but on either evening i did not see one person eating in the restaurant.

I certainly would recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Brussels as the location is far enough away from the busy centre but you are able to access the Grand Place and other main areas within 15 minutes walk. Also if you wish to get a taxi then it costs under 10 euros to get to said places. Thank you to all the staff for a very enjoyable stay and i would certainly try other Thon hotels in the future.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is facing onto a main road so ask to be placed away from the road if you wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline V, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Rob,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your extensive review of your weekend stay at Thon Hotel EU.

It is always a pleasure receiving positive comments from our guests and we will gladly share your feed back with our staff members.

We regret you have the feeling not having been advised regarding outside restaurants and we wish to apologise for it.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you again at our hotel for another happy occasion.

Kind Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Book as a Christmas weekend break away. Great location with modern rooms and set up. Staff friendly and polite. Easy access to shopping the rest of the city by metro, bus or taxi. Will be returning for future visits.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline V, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Sir,

We will be delighted to welcome you during your future visits and are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Best regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel before so I decided to chose it again this time. It is a nice clean, modern hotel but some of the rooms are a little cold looking with a blue and grey colour scheme. It is situated right next to a metro station (Maalbeek) so very easy to get around Brussels.The food is on the expensive side, breakfast is way too expensive so I gave it a miss and although dinner is very nice it cost EUR 30 for a main course, a wine and a cup of tea which seems a bit steep considering the portion sizes. There is a good restaurant just round the corner called Il Buongustaio on Rue d'Arlon 85. They only seem to serve dinner on Wednesday and Thursdays though but are open for lunch other days. Don't be put off by the bright lighting, the food is very good and reasonably priced and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline V, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Sarphati,

It is always a pleasure knowing our guests are returning to our Thon Hotel EU and we thank you for your confidence.

We regret you consider the rates of our restaurant as too expensive but we can ensure you this rates are comparable with the rates applied by other Brussels’ hotels of our category. Please note we have a special business lunch menu (Monday – Friday) at The Twelve which changes weekly. The rate of this weekly lunch is reasonably: € 23,00 for a two-course lunch and € 29,00 for a three-course lunch.

We hope we will also have the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next visit of Brussels.

Best Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel has a good location in the EU district. The rooms are clean and the breakfast has everything that you want to have for breakfast. Soundproof rooms and a comfortable bed will let you relax after a day of work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline V, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you very much for your feedback about Thon Hotel EU.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Funtipnal hotel, well located to who want to work at Comission. You fan reach walking the downtown in 15 minutes. The bar of hotel, XII, was crowded of executive taking a drink.

Hotel funcional y bien situado si vas a reunirte en organismos europeo. Se puede ir al centro historico andando en 15 minutos. El bar restaurante XIi esta muy animadi

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aline V, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Miguel,

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Thon Hotel EU and that you wish to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel EU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel EU

Address: Rue de la Loi / Wetstraat 75, Etterbeek, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel EU 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the European Quarter of Brussels, Thon Hotel EU is an ideal starting point for both business and leisure travellers: most of the European Institutions are within easy walking distance and the historical city centre is also but a stone's throw away.Thon Hotel EU is a four star hotel, offering 24 hours a day a high quality service. The hotel has 405 comfortable, modern and functional rooms which are decorated in light colors. Thon Hotel EU also combines technology with comfort, to make your stay even better. For easy check-in and check-out, you can use our check-in terminals in the reception area.During its opening year, Thon Hotel EU has been awarded with the "Green Key", "Ecodynamic Enterprise" and "GreenLeaders" labels, for its sustainable efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel EU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel EU Brussels, Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel EU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.