We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to EU district hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel EU

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel EU to your Saves list
Thon Hotel EU
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Loi / Wetstraat 75, Etterbeek, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great addition to EU district hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a great new hotel in the EU area of Brussels. It has everything a business traveller needs - good location (within walking distance of key institutions), clean rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet. Access to the centre of the town is easy with the metro running underneath and the Etterbeek station close by. Only downside is that Rue de la Loi empties at night and if you want to eat out at night, the closest restaurants are about a 10 -15 minute walk to either Place du Luxemborg or Schuman roundabout.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Rue de la Loi side which are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamTHBCC, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel.

We are pleased to see that you liked your stay in our hotel.

Our hotel is indeed situated in a quarter that is rather quiet in the evening but at only 600 meters you are at the Place de Luxembourg with its pubs and restaurants. We also would like to mention that our hotel has its own modern bar and restaurant, The Twelve, where you can discover our new menu as of next Monday.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Thon Hotel EU.

Kind Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    264
    53
    14
    11
See reviews for
37
181
24
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is well situated and in close distance to metro. Rooms were big and very modern – some people might not like it. Breakfast was delicious – they served everything you could ask for. I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamTHBCC, . at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review.

As breakfast is the most important meal of the day, we propose to our customers a big choice of products to have the most complete and healthy) breakfast as possible. You can find sweet food (corn flakes, a lot of different fruits, yoghurts, dried fruits, …) and salty food (sausages, beans, potatoes, …) and there are different types of beverages and bread. With our breakfast, we want to satisfy everyone.

We are pleased to see you liked your stay in Thon Hotel EU and we hope to see you again at the Thon Hotel EU.

Kind Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the THON EU for one night. The “standard” room I got was rather on the small side but clean, quiet and pleasantly decorated and with all necessary amenities, including a coffee making kit. The water pressure in the shower was a bit low – perhaps because of the environment protection policy of the hotel. The bed was comfortable, the WiFi connection quite fast. The reception staff was very friendly and efficient, I asked for a quiet room and there was no problem in getting it. The hotel is ideally located if you have business at the Berlaymont, the Charlemagne or the EU Council buildings.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the reception. These look on the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamTHBCC, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Konstantin,

We are pleased to see that you enjoy your stay in our Thon Hotel EU and we would like to thank you for your review.

Regarding your comment about the room size, we indeed have larger and smaller rooms in the same room category. Our Classic Rooms vary between 20m² to 27m². The European Quarter being rather grey, we have chosen to use colours in our rooms as well as everywhere else in the hotel that are very flash and pleasantly to bring up joy and good mood to our guests.

We have adapted the water pressure to international standards limiting the pressure of the showers to maximum 7 litres by minute. As you say, this is indeed an ecological choice and we regret if you have the impression is was too low.

We would like to thank you to the kindness that you evidence towards our front office staff and hope to see you again in the Thon Hotel EU during your next visit in Brussels.

Kind Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is very well situated for conducting EU-business as it is very close to the downtown EU-institutions and meeting halls, even though Rue de la Loi is very dull to walk along. Personally I found the room a bit cramped, mainly due to the large bathroom which I felt was a bit oversized, I would have preferred a smaller bathroom and larger living area. The color scheme, with a stark green bedpost coupled with purple chairs also made me slightly nauseated. Sleep quality was excellent with comfortable beds and no annoying little noises. I opted out on the breakfast offer as I found it a little bit to pricey to my mind. A great hotel for just sleeping over, I can't really say anything on any of the other amenities as I never had the time to check them out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamTHBCC, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Buset,

Thank you so much for your review.

We regret that you did not like the style of the bedroom where you stayed. Our Classic Rooms indeed are all different, also in size. It seems to us you had a smaller one but be informed we also have bigger Classic Rooms (up to 27 m²). Regarding the colours used, there as well, we have variety. Next time you are staying with us, do not hesitate to give us your room preferences so we can take them into account when assigning you a room.

Do not hesitate to contact us in case you have further questions.

Have a nice day,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I never stay at Thon hotels in Norway where the chain originates. I did not choose this hotel myself. Well, I give good marks to the room, spaciuos an a very nice bathroom, but the decor left an impression of being in a hospital. That impression is absolutely negative; what if you wake up at night not remembering where you are?

I arrived as a member of a group. We had informed the mangement that we would come to the restaurant for supper. We set down at the table both hungry and thirsty. The beer arrived after 70 minutes, we had to wait another 15 minutes for the unmemorable food. Mr. Thon, why is the management always absent from your hotels? Is the truth so unpleasent to observe?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamTHBCC, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mister Hauken,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property through TripAdvisor.

We regret the inconveniences you experienced and sincerely like to apologise for it.

Nevertheless, we have some questions regarding your remarks. Our property is a colourful hotel, which is also visible in the rooms. Light pastel colours such as green, orange and purple are used. This colour palette has a fresh and modern feel and is, in our eyes, at the same time comforting. The wall-to-wall carpet has a quiet and modern pattern and creates a cosy atmosphere. We thus do not see how our rooms can be compared to hospital rooms.

We indeed were informed the day before that some of the group members would most likely have dinner on the 12th in our restaurant. Unfortunately, no set menu was chosen but you all had dinner à-la-carte, nor were we given the exact amount of participants. This indeed takes more time to prepare than having chosen in advance a set menu. We regret the waiting time this caused for you and although it seems that no one of our management team was present, we always have a manager on duty in our hotel that can be reached at any time.

We hope we will have the possibility to welcome you in one of our properties in Brussels or Norway to show you that we are able to change the impression you had following this stay about Thon Hotels.

Kind Regards,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had an early morning meeting close to the European Institutions and wanted to avoid the trauma of morning winter trafic to Brussels. Thon Hotel EU is a welcome new address for those wishing to be really close to their meeting place in the Business and European Union area, with good Metro communication to the Central Station and tourist sights of downtown Brussels.
I appreciated the very quiet and spacious room and the ability to turn off the air conditioning and open a window overlooking a central concourse. And about 85 different world TV channels in High Definition to choose from!
Breakfast was excellent and catered to all tastes.
A 5 minute Metro trip takes you downtown to the Central Station, but I preferred to walk.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floors overlooking the inner concourse is very pleasant. AirCo can be turned off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamTHBCC, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel EU, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay in our hotel the day before your meeting.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and that we could help you avoiding traffic issues in the morning.

It will be our pleasure welcoming you again during your next stays at Brussels.

Enjoy your day,
Aline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel EU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel EU

Address: Rue de la Loi / Wetstraat 75, Etterbeek, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel EU 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the European Quarter of Brussels, Thon Hotel EU is an ideal starting point for both business and leisure travellers: most of the European Institutions are within easy walking distance and the historical city centre is also but a stone’s throw away.Thon Hotel EU is a four star hotel, offering 24 hours a day a high quality service. The hotel has 405 comfortable, modern and functional rooms which are decorated in light colors. Thon Hotel EU also combines technology with comfort, to make your stay even better. For easy check-in and check-out, you can use our check-in terminals in the reception area.During its opening year, Thon Hotel EU has been awarded with the Green Key label for its sustainable efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Thon Hotel EU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel EU Brussels, Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel EU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.