We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel to your Saves list
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here while on a training course with the European Commission. Position-wise, it is perfect as it is conveniently located a stone's throw away from Place Schuman. You can easily get there from the airport by using the bus (12 or 21, depending what time and when you are travelling) or by train (Gare Schuman is also round the corner).
The hotel is pretty new/newly refurbished and the room I was staying in was very big. Bed was comfortable, there was plenty of room for clothes and it also contained other amenities. The bathroom had a very big walk-in shower and you could also benefit from a safe and tea/coffee if you wanted to.
Breakfast was decent enough without being brilliant and worked on a buffet basis. You could usually see a choice of pastries (sometimes more, sometimes less), cheese, ham and bread, but there were also some cereals and fresh fruit (mostly bananas and oranges).
Staff was friendly enough, although sometimes I think they should have had more than one person dealing with the front desk as they could get swamped.
The only advice I would give is that the rooms tend to go very warm and I had to sleep with the air conditioning on all night. Also, I could clearly hear the water pipes from my room on the first floor, but my colleagues who also stayed in the hotel didn't report anything similar, so maybe it was my room. There's a bar downstairs and prices are average for the area. Don't get any of the snacks, though, as they are the frozen and reheated type. The choice is also very limited, chinese rolls and samosas (which they misleadingly call 'dim sum').

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from the first floor as it is situated directly over the main entrance hall, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi Andrea A,

Wow! Thanks for your review on your stay with us! We are always very happy to get feedback, and I can't thank you enough for taking the time to share it with us!

In case you have any other points of feedback, feel free to reach out to me directly at eveline.noort@alofthotels.com.

Have an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    497
    94
    33
    17
See reviews for
105
531
116
377
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We chose Aloft Brussels for our 3-day stay because it was one of the hotels that participate in SPG rewards. The reception desk was extremely friendly and greeted us with the smiles. They explained all the facilities and area, gave us a map and were eager to answer our questions. The receptionist booked restaurants, taxis, etc. with the smile. The requests to fix shower or AC were done in a matter of minutes. The rooms were large and modern with comfortable beds and pillows. The shower facilities and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The free wifi provided was fast. Continental breakfast was average. The location was very close to the subway and in a nice area of the city close to European Quarter. We were very happy with our stay and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Great value for your money.

Room Tip: Great value for you money, close to metro stations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi Ritochka,

I want to start with thanking you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at Aloft Brussels Schuman! And we are extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much!!

I have shared your comments with the team, and especially with the reception team who are delighted to hear of your feedback!

Have an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The location is really good within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and the metro. The room is very simple, yet very clean. The bed was comfortable. Don't do laundry, it is a rip off!! Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi mangoCooper!

Thanks for leaving us your thoughts on your stay here at the Aloft Brussels Schuman! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much!

I wanted to point out however, that guests at the Aloft can also opt to do their own laundry in our Clean facility, located on the second floor. We sell washing powder and softener in the Front Desk, and this is of course the easiest and price-friendliest way to do your laundry. Of course we also offer full service, where we send off the items for washing and dry cleaning.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Until then we wish you an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We travelled with 2 young kids and the hotel was perfect for what we aksed for. it was clean, chic and trendy. The staff were very helpful, informative and friendly. The hotel is tucked in a quite place just next to the Leopold Garden.. but there are options for 2 metro stations, Schuman and Maalbeek located withing walking distance. So easy access to Grand Place from these metros.. Also bus stop outside the hotel will take to the Brussels Midi station for acess to Thalys trains. also eatouts at Jourdan is just a 5 minute walk. Highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel was clean and updated. Staff was friendly. The hotel is located aways from the city center (Grand Place), but is easily accessible via a metro stop and walking a few blocks. It is also located near the known frittes restaurant Maison Antoinne. Had a pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Truly friendly staff, very homey, clean and neat, nice hotel bar with lots of social events. Conveniently located close to metro, place Jourdan and EU quarters. Downsides: potential noise if you're below 3rd floor on end-of-week days and lack of proper breakfast included.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Proxyangel,

Thanks so much for leaving your thoughts on your second home here at the Aloft Brussels Schuman!

We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Have an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague, holland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

From arrival, we thought 'What a cool place'. Checked in at the desk and got to our room on 5th floor which was just amazing! So spacious, gorgeous décor, great big windows, everything perfect! We were in Brussels to visit friends so came for a weekend. The Friday night, we walked round to Place Jourdan which is literally one street away, loads of nice restaurants and great atmosphere. Short walk back to hotel for a good sleep in the great bed! We did not have breakfast in the hotel, because this was a bit simple, but it was no problem with everything just around the corner, we went to PAUL Boulangerie which is awesome.
The hotel has a gym which was nice to work off all the great food from Place Jourdan! The hotel has a great ambiance and is really fun and homely at the same time. We have stayed in loads of hotels in Brussels visiting our good friends but will always come back here. No need to look elsewhere anymore! Don't be fooled thinking its far outta town. Its just a couple tube stops away and youre better off staying somewhere like this than in tourist central!

Room Tip: We were in 519. Huge room with loads of space. Looked out onto the apartments in the enclosed area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
HI LWilson80,

Wow, thanks so much for your awesome review on your stay with us here at Aloft Brussels Schuman! We are super excited to read that you enjoyed your stay so much!

Hope you will come back to stay again soon!

Have an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#4 of 195 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
2.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
1.0 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#6 of 195 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 14 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 stars 2,641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#3 of 4 in Etterbeek
4.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#1 of 4 in Etterbeek
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new tWist in Travel keeps Brussels European district Abuzz with a prime location in the heart of the European quarter. Located only a few minutes away from the city center by metro, the Aloft Brussels Schuman offers you an easy access and connections to the entire Brussels area. The hotel offers an eclectic mix of forward-thinking design, open loft-inspired rooms and free WiFi. The always Abuzz WXYZ Bar welcomes you daily with a selection of signatures cocktails, that you can sip on our backyard when the wheather permits. Aloft Brussels Schuman is the fun, fresh alternative to stay and play at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.