We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grows on you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel to your Saves list
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grows on you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Quirky, minimalist and bare are the first impressions in the lobby. But this hotel grows on you. It takes a little work to figure out the reception and how the breakfast and bar work but it is not off-putting. The rooms are comfortable and have all facilities. We liked the approach to credits or charity from replacing towels and the turn-down service. Breakfast not great and there is better in local cafes.

The location is perfect for business in the EU. It is also fine for downtown Brussels because it is on the Metro and bus lines. (Metro current a building site). There is a bus from the airport that stops outside the door.

Room Tip: Bus to and from Zaventam airport and to Zuidstation. Vincents cafe opens on Saturday morning. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    417
    85
    27
    15
See reviews for
88
456
102
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My friends and I stayed from the 2nd to 4th April 2014, and we loved this hotel! We were a group of 9 visiting Brussels for a weekend away and this hotel was perfect. It was located about 2 mins from the closest metro station, and about a 5 min walk from some local shops which was also convenient. The buffet breakfast was included in our price and was really good, as there was a good selection always available.

The rooms were amazing; comfortable, modern and spacious. The rooms were cleaned to perfection and not one of us had any complaints ever.

The staff at reception were also super friendly and helpful, we arrived quite late around 23:30 and they ensured check in was speedy and also gave us useful tips regarding Brussels and the area we were staying in.

This hotel deserves the Excellent ratings from trip advisor, and if you book with them, you will not be disappointed.

Brussels is not the most exciting place on earth for a group of 18-25 year olds, however this city does have a lot of history. When I return to Brussels to visit friends, I will definitely be staying at this hotel, it surpassed all my expectations!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor, and the rest of my friends were on the 3rd floor, all were pretty go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel proved very easy to get to - there's a direct bus from both the airport and Brussels Midi station to right outside, and it's very close to a metro stop too. Lovely park just round the corner too, and not too far from the centre, so generally a great spot!

This was my first Aloft stay, and I have to say I liked it. It feels like a cross between a W and a Hampton! The hotel has a trendy vibe to it, with friendly staff, great spaces to hang out in, well decorated rooms etc. Unlike a W, it's not crazy money, instead it has decent quality furnishings and layout like a Hampton. For me, it worked well, though it made me miss it when I stayed in a Hampton a week later...

One way it differs from a Hampton is that the breakfast isn't free, and what there is is much like a Hampton breakfast, so I'd suggest you skip it and head elsewhere for something nicer at the same price.

Overall, well done, great spot, friendly staff, I'll be back next time I'm in Brussels!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is clean and certainly looks new. The room is certainly spacious and v comfy typical of aloft's standard. There are few eateries nearby within walking distance and a supermarket across the road. It is also less than 5 mins to metro station which is 2 stops away from Central station which again is less than 5 mins journey.
Will be back again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a high quality hotel with very good amenities. The "concept" which distinguishes it from other 4-star hotels is really just square rather than rectangular rooms and self-check in options, but, that said, they do a very good job with it.

The weekend package including a very good buffet breakfast was quite reasonably priced. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose the Aloft Brussels as we are SPG members, thus often look first for an SPG hotel. What makes this hotel high on my list of recommended properties is more the excellent service than location or accommodations. But all of it was good.

Our check-in with Olivier was seamless and wonderfully friendly, and we were accommodated for our early arrival. We received a nice room, although there was one thing I would change: the safe was located in a place where you had to engage it (put in a code to close it) or you would bump into it when exiting the washroom. I still have the mark on my hip from that mistake. Unfortunately, the batteries were out on the safe so it made an annoying noise, but Olivier quickly fixed it.

The hotel is located in the EU area, which is incredibly convenient if you're needing to access these offices. It's not a long walk from either of two Metro stations, and there is a bus stop right in front. To walk to Grand Place takes about 20+ minutes.

We used the lounge in the evening and really enjoyed sampling the bartender's cocktail offerings. The next morning, we used the breakfast facilities and were more than satisfied with the available food.

All in all, a good stay made great by fantastic staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Susan Z!

Wow, thanks for this amazing review on your stay with us here at Aloft Brussels Schuman!

We are super excited to read that one of our valued talents Olivier made your stay great! He says hi :)

We really hope we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us soon again - until then we wish you an Easy Breezy time!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Handy location in EU area so good for my work trip.

Room was spacious and well insulated so nice and quiet despite being beside what is sometimes a busy road.

Bed was comfortable, shower nice and big but the room always seemed to smell bad - had to open the window to get rid of it & sometimes it was coming from the drain in the shower.

Clever idea to offer a €5 F&B voucher for being environmentally friendly - for every day you don't change the linens BUT this means that your room doesn't get serviced at all: no toilet roll, no cleaning, bed not made, bins not emptied. This is not made clear in the documentation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveline N, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi ShivCaughey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us!

First of all I am a bit sad to read that your experience was not as flawless as it should have been! Please allow me to apologize for the fact that you dealt with a smell in your room - we take this very seriously and I want to ensure that this never happens again!

Would you therefore be so kind to email me on eveline.noort@alofthotels.com so I can find out what room you stayed in?

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Have an easy breezy day!

Eveline Noort
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new tWist in Travel keeps Brussels European district Abuzz with a prime location in the heart of the European quarter. Located only a few minutes away from the city center by metro, the Aloft Brussels Schuman offers you an easy access and connections to the entire Brussels area. The hotel offers an eclectic mix of forward-thinking design, open loft-inspired rooms and free WiFi. The always Abuzz WXYZ Bar welcomes you daily with a selection of signatures cocktails, that you can sip on our backyard when the wheather permits. Aloft Brussels Schuman is the fun, fresh alternative to stay and play at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.