We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite hotel in Bruxelles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel to your Saves list
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My new favorite hotel in Bruxelles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I won't mention my previous favorite hotel (although I did review it), but now I found a new treat in the Aloft. I had not stayed in Schuman before but I enjoy how quite it is and th eproximity to the park for running and walking. There is also a nicer neighborhood feel to the area rather than the usual Grand Place hotels. It is also closer to Zaventum when you need to leave.

The hotel is fully modern with basic, clean conveniences. The room was very big by European standards with a nice rain shower and open bath area. All ameneties are there, including iron and board which you normally have to request from a hotel. The common areas are trendy and open and a good place to meet and chat with fellow travellers. The bar is great in the evening with big LCD TV's and billiards. Very nice distraction. The gym is well equipped and open 24x7. The dining is a bit more convenient in that it is self-service although there could be more selections in this case.

What I was most impressed with was the front desk staff. The level of friendliness and helpfulness bordered on Canadian rather than European.

I would and I will stay here again and I would recommend the hotel to fellow SPG members rather than the Sheraton, Four Points or even Le Meridien.

Good luck!

SPG Gold
Hyatt Platinum
Hilton Silver
United 1K

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Man_from_Maplewood,

We are very excited to have become the local favorite of such a heavy traveler! Thank you so much for sharing this!

I just love that you have had such a great experience with our a-team at the front desk! I will make sure your feedback will be shared!

We are very happy with your recommendation and we hope to see you again!

Have an easy breezy day,

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    414
    84
    27
    15
See reviews for
87
452
102
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights for the wedding in Brussels. We were in the room 304 with a not bad view (grass).
The room was equipped with comfortable king size bed with brand new modern decoration in the room. relax environment, save and quiet area with 5 walk to metro station. 1 mins walk to Leopard park and 3 mins walk to a lot of great bistro and restaurant- even supermarket.
But the lobby offered self-helped food area with reasonable price.
It would be great for the travelers who want to have quiet neighborhood instead of crowds.
The first thing i didnt like - we arrived on 7 June and it was about 24C outside and there's no air-conditioning in the lobby and hall way. same the next morning/afternoon.- but in the room, the air-conditioner worked well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi there Zu Y,

First off, I hope the wedding was fabulous!

It’s very nice to read that you noticed the green features of the hotel and our surroundings. These can indeed be just the relaxing spots you need!

As for the air-conditioning; we were experiencing some technical difficulties during your stay. I can assure you that the re:mix and reception area will be just as cool as your room for your next stay!

Hoping to have you with us again,

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at the aloft in London so we knew the concept and was just as thrilling as London. We arrived at Brussels airport and once we left arrivals we headed to catch the number 12 bus which takes about 25mins to get near to the hotel in Schuman. Check in was very easy and we were soon given our key card and in our room in no time. We had the most comfortable super king size bed, room clean and tastefully done out with a modern twist. Had the usual nice large flat screen TV, Telephone, dark blinds for those early mornings, great shower and everything you want from a bathroom (including hairdryer). Once we checked in we decided to go to the Bar to decided where we should go to eat. We had the most fabulous weather so the aloft terrance outside was a great place to sit and of course the young bar staff came over and took your orders. We even asked the bar staff where he would recommended to eat (apart from the hotel he laughed). Basically if you are looking for some nice places to eat, head out of the hotel bar area terrance and cross over at the supermarket on the corner, head straight down this road and here there is a main square with lots of difference cafe to choose from.
The hotel is close to the European Parliament and lots of the business district.
Check out was just as easy, invoice sent to your email and offered to leave our luggage which we did as the metro (schuman) is only a few mins walk away which again is very easy to use and can be in some nice locations within 5/15mins away depending on what you want to go and see.

Overall great hotel, great staff and like the way the hotel is hip and trendy but at a reasonable price, would defiantly recommend and would defiantly go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi CAMPO75C,

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time for writing such an extensive review - Very much appreciated!

It looks as if you had the typical Aloft a-list experience! From check-in to check-out, your next stay will most definitely be just as awesome!

Thanks again!

Have an easy breezy day,

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with a bunch of friends for one night and we really liked the hotel. Nice and relaxed atmosphere, spacious and nicely decorated rooms and very friendly and helpful staff - all you need for a good stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi there KTee07,

Thanks for your contribution! Awesome to read that you and your friends had such a great time! You are more than invited for another cool and relaxed night!

Have a great day,

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As an American, I've found that European hotels (especially affordable ones) can be very hit or miss. We have stayed at many hotels throughout Europe (Germany, France, Netherlands, Britain), spanning three to five stars. Absolutely none were better than Aloft Brussels.

We were travelling with our 1yo and 5yo kids, and finding a room that can accomodate a family of four is often impossible in Europe. No problem here - I had requested a King room and the excellent front desk clerk upgraded me to a corner room (slightly larger than the already large standard room) and quickly requested a crib. Room was also big enough for my 5yo to have her own "cot" - actually a rolling twin Aerobed that we easily set up ourselves. The airbed was super comfortable and she loved jumping around on it - automatic pump worked great, and they included a fun letter welcoming her to "Camp Aloft" along with some bubbles. Crib came up less than five minutes after entering the room. Room was easily big enough for king bed, crib on one side, twin aerobed on other side, and still lots of extra room to open up our bags, etc. Nice to have an empty fridge (no minibar bs!) and there's a huge desk and big windows.

Room was spotless, bedding very comfortable. We have stayed at other Alofts, so were familiar with layout etc. I am always pleased by the thoughtful layout and extensive amenities, incl free internet and water - which are always egregiously expensive at every other Euro hotel we've stayed in.

Room was perfectly quiet, despite a very loud party going on in the lobby - sound isolation from neighboring rooms was fantastic too. Parking situation was easy - adjacent garage for 25 euros a night, expensive but simple enough. There's laundry on-site (a very family friendly feature) and a nice exercise room.

Requested towels often, and they always came up within 4-5 minutes - honestly, service for everything was faster than most 5-star hotels we've stayed in. Only problem is that ice is only available at the bar - was embarrassing to walk through a very hip party at 10pm in my pj's!

All in all, an outstanding hotel and impeccable service.

Room Tip: Corner room was huge and could accomodate a king bed, crib, and twin aerobed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi ModernTraveler42,

Thanks for such a raving review - just superb! It is also nice to read that you appreciated Camp Aloft so much. It is such a fun program for youngsters, isn't it?

Nice to read as well that you have stayed in other Aloft's before and find the concept appealing for your needs. We do hope that means you will come back soon for some more!

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

An affordable stay with a fun vibe. The hotel itself is located quite close to the "heart of the city" and makes most sightseeing endeavors a walk away (the walk was about 20-25 mintues). The lobby of the hotel has a well stocked bar, billiard tables, foosball, and some board games. There is also a separate room with a Wii system and some games. Really enjoyed staying here since it had a fun vibe downstaires. It was also quite convenient to have breakfast available to purchase (reasonable prices). Costs about 17 euros to get from the main train station to the hotel, or you can use the metro for about 3 euros.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi AAR_65,

Indeed we're closely located from the heart of the city. Take a hike of about 20 minutes passing some of the best sites such as the EU Parliament, Royal Palace, Sablon Square, etc. and you're there. If you don't fancy walking, take the metro or bus; both leave within a couple of minutes walk and take you into the center in a breeze.

Looking forward to having you stay soon again!

Have an easy breezy day,

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

excellent hotel with great customer service. emailed about early check in or luggage storage prior to visit and prompt email back confirmed they would try and help- and they did. there was a room ready 2 hours before agreed check in time. room was spacious, clean and modern. walk in shower was lovely, as was free toiletries and complimentary water. hotel have a scheme by where if you opt out of linen and towel changes you get 5 euros to spend in the bar, on breakfast or donate to charity. there is a happy hour in the bar, and there is pool table, wii games and a nice terrace to enjoy. i would without a doubt stay here again as it was a beautiful modern hotel, excellent value for money and very close to Schuman metro station. TIP: there is a lovely park across the road from the rear entrance of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi sarahlowe26,

Spot on! A very candid but good description of us so thanks for sharing that with the rest of the tripadvisor world. It is super to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

Make sure to come back soon!

Have an easy breezy day,

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new tWist in Travel keeps Brussels European district Abuzz with a prime location in the heart of the European quarter. Located only a few minutes away from the city center by metro, the Aloft Brussels Schuman offers you an easy access and connections to the entire Brussels area. The hotel offers an eclectic mix of forward-thinking design, open loft-inspired rooms and free WiFi. The always Abuzz WXYZ Bar welcomes you daily with a selection of signatures cocktails, that you can sip on our backyard when the wheather permits. Aloft Brussels Schuman is the fun, fresh alternative to stay and play at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.