We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sexy trendy hotel full of artistic types” 5 of 5 stars
Review of be Manos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added be Manos to your Saves list
be Manos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Square de l'Aviation 23-27, Anderlecht, Brussels 1070, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Devon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sexy trendy hotel full of artistic types”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My boyfriend is a regular visitor to this hotel on business and has wanted to bring me here for a long time as we both love luxury, boutique hotels. I'm glad he did, the style is trendy and artistic and so are the people. The rooms all have nude arty photos and are kitted out in all black and white, leather and ponyskin, really sexy!

We had one of the suites on the second floor as the one on the third floor by the terrace bar was having work done. The suite was beautiful although I thought it a little odd that there was no sofa, only two separate chairs, comfortable nonetheless. Only other thing I found a strange was the glass door to the bathroom - the only place you get privacy is the toilet! I was fine as travelling with my partner but if I was with friends I wouldn't be too pleased. The room and hotel in general was spotlessly clean and in 32 degrees, we were extremely grateful for the room's air conditioning.

We had room service breakfast in bed on each morning of our stay. The food was lovely although a little unadventurous. The hot choices were very limited (English hotels have wide continental choices, so why not expect the same vice versa?) although the bread basket was good and the coffee was lovely. I believe you get a little more choice if you go downstairs for breakfast but not much.

We also dined in the hotel restaurant for one night. The waiters were friendly, English speaking and the service was good. The food was lovely although not a great deal of choice again, I had ostrich with sweet potato mash which was very tasty. I did appreciate that the menu was translated into several different languages.

The location is brilliant for travel, the Eurostar is only a five minute walk away and there is a free shuttle back and forth which is very useful. The neighbourhood leaves a lot to be desired though, boarded up shops and unsavoury characters line the streets. I wouldn't feel safe on my own at night and a taxi is a must. It's a little way out from any attractions (about 5/10 minutes from Grand Place in a taxi).

All in all, I would stay here again if in Brussels!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    161
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
246
29
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The hotel offers what you expect, and more: spacious, clean rooms with great design. Alas, the location is all wrong: too far away from the centre and in a unattractive neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I would never stay there again - frankly I would never visit Brussels again. In the last 10 years I found it to have turned into a dirty, unpleasant city. The area in which the hotel is located is horrible - think boarded-up shops, broken windows, lots of homeless people and loitering, unpleasant-looking types. We ended up taking taxis - I didn't even feel safe enough in the metro at night (and this is coming from someone who grew up in Holland, next door!).

The rooms are nice, service is okay, general decor is attractive (but far too dark in places) but there are several flaws, the major ones including the stupid design error to make the bathroom wall of glass (zero privacy - not good when travellin with a friend or parents) and poor soundproofing which means that we could hear people going to the bathroom upstairs. Minor issues included poor lighting in the rooms (but almost every hotel has this problem it seems), little water flow (15 minutes to fill a bath), and uneven service.

Breakfast was pretty good and overall the hotel is quite attractively designed, but primarily because of the location I would never consider it again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

be Manos is an extremely trendy and sexy hotel. It is unique and unlike any hotel, I have ever stayed in before. From the uniquely identifiable photos on the doors to the courtyard, water sculptures be Manos is something special.

I was there on business so the negotiated rate was far less than the posted public rates. The Midi-Gare station is a close walk, but the neighborhood was not that great. Considering the old real-estate adage goes, location, location, location, be Manos is an odd find. It is much nicer than anything else is close by. However, the place is so sexy; I wish my wife had come along.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I enjoyed staying at be Manos. I was dissapointed that they did not retrieve me from the train station as confirmed but stuff happens. The hotel is stylish, the beds comfy, the rooms quiet and the breakfast was excellent. The location is odd and not really close to anything but if your looking to have a nice hotel to come back to after a day of exploring this is the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We booked Be Manos through the Mr & Mrs Smith website for a short break in Brussels.

The hotel is walkable from the Eurostar (although a large part of the walk is along a concrete area by a flyover, with several winos / tramps congregating on benches along the street so the smell of toilets and alcohol on a sunny april morning was pungent to say the leat) BUT - it really was only a very short walk from the Gare Du Midi, so what the journey from the staion lacked in picturesque-ness, it made up for in convenience.

The desk staff on check-in at Be Manos were friendly and polite. To get to your room you go up in a glass sided lift with views accross the atrium water feature of the hotel, which is very tranquil. The room itself was immaculately clean, filled with light, spacious, well laid out, and very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, with a big deep bath, a good shower, fluffy white bathrobes, and nice toiletries by Korres.

The decor of this hotel is the thing. Be Manos does market itself as a 'design hotel', but I suppose it is a question of trend... I get the feeling it was kitted out about 4 years ago when the whole look was up-to the-minute-trendy in interior design terms, so now a few years later, it already looks a bit dated. The overall style is a bit 60's retro infulenced, so you feel like you're in Austin Powers or Barbarella.

In the rooms there are black carpets, black leather seating, black and white ponyskin covered bedside cabinets, glass-topped tables, big mirrors, and the bathrooms are tiled with textured black stone and slate.

In the communal areas of the hotel the colour schemes are again largely black, white and silver, with touches of vivid colour (lime green, hot pink etc), and large room dividing curtains made of shiny silver metal discs with holes punched in them. In the restaurant/breakfast room, one wall is white, while the other is tiled in bright lime green ponyskin, there are lime green Kartell perspex chairs, white tables, a big silver leather upholstered recess seat in the wall, and black flooring. All this attention to designer detail, and colour scheme obviously cost a lot of money, but the flowers in the vases on each table were horrible artificial frosted silk orchids - the kind that you'd see in a 99p store which look like they've been sprayed with fake snow-dust, which I thought was a bit tacky.

The breakfasts were nice with lots of choice and good coffee, but the Villeroy and Bosch mugs at breakfast are not good for left-handed people - the cup handles are placed so that you are forced to use your right hand or spill the contents down yourself. This gives you an idea of the slight leaning towards style over function that can be annoying with 'design hotels' of this type.

All in all, Be Manos was a really nice hotel, and in a good location if you don't mind a bit of a walk - you can walk to the Grand Place in 20 minutes. It's also well located for the weekend Marche Du midi and the Flea Markets of The Marolles area. which are about 7 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Excellent hotel - very big rooms and very friendly staff. Loved the decore, lovely fireplace in lobby/sitting area.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to be Manos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about be Manos

Address: Square de l'Aviation 23-27, Anderlecht, Brussels 1070, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Anderlecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — be Manos 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Manos Hotel, ideally located next to the Thalys and Eurostar Terminal, is the first Design Boutique Luxury Hotel in Brussels. The Hotel, with its 60 Rooms and Junior Suites decorated in Black and White with natural black stone floors, metallic curtains, joyful photographs laid in aluminum, terraces with a panoramic view and gastronomic Restaurant Be Lella are a mixture of esthetics, luxury and a timeless design.Being a tourist or a businessman, it offers you a personalized welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your be Manos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Manos Hotel Anderlecht
Be Manos Brussels, Belgium
Be Manos Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage be Manos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.