We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location a problem” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Floris Ustel Midi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Floris Ustel Midi to your Saves list
Floris Ustel Midi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Square de l'Aviation 6-8, Anderlecht, Brussels B-1070, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Location a problem”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here with my sister for a week long trip because we wanted to explore Belgium. The hotel itself wasn't bad. The rooms were clean, the staff were fine and the breakfast was alright - not a huge amount of choice but decent. You got what you paid for basically, don't go expecting it'll be five star. For me though the issue was the surrounding area of the hotel. It was a very rough and rundown area of Brussels. It was only good in terms of being close to the gare du midi station (5/10 minute walk) which was convenient. The area around it though was horrible, unclean and I felt unsafe walking around. Its very male dominated meaning a lot of prolonged stares. As young people we would have liked to go out for a few drinks at night in the city but because of the area we didn't. It just felt unsafe and uncomfortable. I definitely wouldn't return here, I'd pay more for a hotel in a nicer area of Brussels. This place wasn't nice at all, I'd not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    126
    155
    99
    119
See reviews for
78
185
46
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed monday and thursday night at Floris Ustel, good location 5 mins from Brussells midi train station and a steady walk from all other sights, lots of bars and restaurants around, you will never go hungry in Brussels. Lovely room, air con so no problem with noise, a good night's sleep followed by an excellent selection at breakfast, to set you up for the day's sightseeing ahead. More Chocolate and Lace shops than you can shake a stick at, bit dissapointed at the Manequin p-s but the Grand Square more than makes up for that. Would recomend the Carbonade (Belgium beef stew cooked in beer, served with stoempe mash and veg mixture, and the Flemish rabbit stew) washed down with a Belgium Blond on Blond....

Room Tip: What we saw they all looked good to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was quiet easy to get to from the airport. We caught a train to gare du nord then 4 tram (going to stelle). It is not even a 100m walk from the tram station to the hotel. This is def a good option if your wanting to save 50€ on a cab.

The hotel itself is located about 10 minute walk to grand place which is one of the main area in Brussels.i recommend going to a place called "planet chocolate" which does an hour demonstration and tasting about chocolate.that was the best €7 I spent in Brussels, they came with a hot coco,ate and all different chocolates to taste.

The hotel is quiet nice, ow ever like other reviews it is ruined terribly by the air conditioning, our room was extremely hot as well as our friends which were staying at the hotel. The room itself was quiet spacious and had plenty of room. Our view was at the stairs which was a bit disappointing but we didn't mind to much. The bathroom was big enough and they gave you fresh towels everyday.

Breakfast was adequate. Nothing out of the ordinary, ow ever they did have a toaster which is a plus for us being in Europe as many places don't have. The breakfast consisted of, bread, yoghurt, cheese. And a coffee machine.

The staff were not very helpful and pretty rude. We needed to print out something and he told us that we weren't allowed. The closest printer place was about 15 minutes away. I felt the staff didn't want to help us with any of our problems or with the local tourism things.
The wifi was the only thing that worked very well which we had no problems.
Overall was an okay hotel but next time would probably find somewhere different,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We complained the 1st day how hot our room was (90+ F) the desk said they'd look into. The next day & eve was even hotter. We lost all of our bulbs from Amsterdam, and any chocolate we had purchased. We complained again & asked for manager. Sorry none on duty, but we'll see what maintenance can do, was the reply (No change). The 3rd eve, I brought our molding and growing bulbs to the front desk, gave them the bags and told them how disappointed we were. Finally they offered to bring up fans. It didn't help much, but better than nothing.
We contacted the booking co. they did nothing, and the compensation from the manager of the hotel was a broken coffee mug filled with melted chocolates. This place is a joke! Never again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anderlecht hotels

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great price, included breakfast and wasn't too far to walk into the main part of the city. The room we were given was huge, with loads of windows looking out onto the decking area / restaurant next door which was quite pleasant. Looking at other traveller photos it looks as though we got very lucky with what we were given! Wouldn't go out of my way to go back, but wouldn't mind it either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Everything was fine with this hotel except parking. I selected this hotel because it came up as a result of hotels with free parking; I ended up paying $55 for one night and it was 10 minutes walk!! The staff was very helpful though especially Edrees; who amazingly speaks several languages and he did a great job answering my questions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for few days. Double room had everything except air conditioning but there was a fan. Bedroom clean and comfy, bathroom clean and shower worked. Breakfast good plenty to choose from and staff very helpful. All spoke good English.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Floris Ustel Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Ustel Midi

Address: Square de l'Aviation 6-8, Anderlecht, Brussels B-1070, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Anderlecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Ustel Midi 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six story, 19th century house 1 km from city center - 5 minute walk to Eurostar Station - 10 kms to Brussels National Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Floris Ustel Midi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floris Ustel Midi Hotel Anderlecht
Ustel Hotel Brussels
Floris Ustel Midi Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris Ustel Midi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.