We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“odd night in brussels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Floris Ustel Midi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Floris Ustel Midi to your Saves list
Floris Ustel Midi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Square de l'Aviation 6-8, Anderlecht, Brussels B-1070, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“odd night in brussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

the hotel is close to the station but is not easy to find. it is literally 5 mins walk. there is a metro station across the road from it. the hotel is neatly kept and the staff are friendly and helpful. we only stayed one night but found the hotel to be in a convenient position just two metro stops from the grand place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Ustel Midi, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guests,

We are really glad to read that you have found our hotel be neatly kept and our staff to be friendly and helpful.
Looking forward welcoming you for your next stay!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    105
    140
    90
    114
See reviews for
67
168
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you are looking for a trendy or luxury hotel, look away now. This hotel is about great value which it supplies in spades.

We arrived late and were greeted by an exceptionally helpful and efficient receptionist who upgraded our room on the spot. We got a large clean room with a view over teh small square/plaza with a large clean bathroom. It was already good value (circa £60 for the room) but when I found that a full breakfast was included we were very pleased. Lots of hot coffee, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheeses cold meats bread and pastries were included.

And when we were finished it was a simple 10 min walk to Gare du Midi for our morning train to Dresden.

The immediate surroundings are not the most salubrious, with limited attractions. Though I did spot one lively looking bar. But its not an area you would remain in.

Thoroughly recommended for those who are travelling onward from the train station and those who want good value, friendly service and generous rooms and breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have a good view over the plaza and are, I suspect, quieter (there is a busy road ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Ustel Midi, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for your kind and genuine feedback – We’re pleased to read that you were happily satisfied with your stay.
Our staff constantly strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.
Your positive comments are therefore highly valued will be transmitted to the team.

As for the location, our hotel is strategically placed just next to Gare du Midi. Therefore, it is very easy to travel around Belgium as well as Europe.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very good breakfast which the only good thing for that price in this hotel. The bathroom was old a little destroyed, a lot a noise during the night you can hear all the traffic noise, not helpfull receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Ustel Midi, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for staying with us and your review about your experience at the Floris Ustel Hotel in Brussels – your comments have received our full attention.
It’s important to receive constructive feedback in order to learn from and improve our services where necessary, thank you in that context for bringing to my attention some of your remarks.

We hope to see you soon again at Floris Ustel, Brussels.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at Floris at the end of October during a school trip to the Parlamentarium.Although there was a misunderstanding on which sections the students would stay in, I guess in overall it was a pleasant stay. The location of the hotel is ideal for city tours, either on foot or metro. Ok, walking at night isn't the best idea, but after all, aren't all the capital city centres full of immigrants?
I have to say that we didn't face ANY problems. The breakfast was quite good, with a variety of dishes and in the evening you could stay at the lobby, bring your own drinks without anyone bothering you.The receptionists were quite helpful but on one occasion (the night shift promised a change of a room which the day shift wasn't informed of-or pretended that she wasn't)one of them was extremely rude." I don't care. You find a solution" was the answer when we politely asked to move a pair of students to a section where there would be a teacher-supervisor. I hope this was just a misfortunate occasion!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Ustel Midi, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your stay at Floris Ustel, Brussels and the nice comments about your stay with us.

I am truly astonished and sad to read about your encounter with one of our team members. Please, rest assured that your remark will be forwarded to our management team as we are trying very hard to meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests.
Apart from this, I see your general impression of the hotel, facilitates and its location is positive and therefore we hope the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel looks good on pictures and if you look quick, but had alot of minus points once you get there! It is made up of four buildings the staffs say they are currently renovating, and they should continue!

Location is what it is, close to the train station so not in the best neighborhood, but convenient.
Entry hall and breakfast rooms were spacious and modern, just the opposite of the corridors going to the rooms, which were dirty (the crumbles on the carpet stayed as long as I did), very narrow, and smelly from cigarette smoke (although it is in the meantime a non-smoking floor). I wouldn't recommend taking the steps, which were in a horrible state.

The room I was in had been renovated. I hope it was not long ago, cause the plugs were still missing on the wall. In any case, renovation stopped at the bathroom door: Cracked wall tiles with more than 10 drill holes in them, very suspicious hairdryer, rusty shelf holder, no hooks to hang clothing and a shower curtain that had drifted from original white to somewhere between pink and orange and that could stand up on its own! The heating system hung above the door was noisy enough to wake someone with a light sleep in the middle of the night (happily not my case!).
Okay, this might be better in other rooms, but we for sure all had the same doors on this floor, which were letting enough noise in that I knew each time my neighbors talked, and what they watched on TV!
In short, they should have cut down on the bling bling in the shared rooms and invest more in what people actually pay for: an adequate, clean and quiet room. For now, I would say overpriced for what it is. But keep renovating!

Room Tip: Can only recommend to avoid building 1 and especially its first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Ustel Midi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Joan

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for your feed-back.

Your comments have received our full attention and I will personally follow up on the different experiences. I regret that we have not been able to make up for this during your stay and I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. Rest assured that we are trying very hard to meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests.

I would like to thank you for your understanding and hope to welcome you again someday to show to you our improvements.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to assist with your next reservation.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anderlecht hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we spent 3 nights at this hotel,,we were given a large room capable of sleeping 5 or 6 people although we were only 2 of us, food was good, even scrambled eggs and bacon, my partner had looked at the reviews and was put off by them but I managed to talk her round by saying if it was bad we would leave and find another hotel but she was delighted with the space in our room, staff were polite and the rooom was cleaned every day.
To the people who wrote bad reviewes I can only say " Remember this is a 3 star hotel, if you want 5 star treatment then go 5 star,"

Room Tip: try before complaining, if you want more go to a 5 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Ustel Midi, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you ever so much for your honest and genuine feedback! I'm so pleased to read that we were able to proove the other 'bad' reviews wrong during your stay. Please contact us directly when booking your next stay as it will be our pleasure making sure you have an unforgettable stay again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had a wonderful stay here with my boyfriend, we stayed three nights in October 2012. The staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming, the location is great (walking distance to Midi station and 100 m from metro), the rooms were modern, clean and nice and although the breakfast was very average it still was fantastic at that price. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in building three, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Ustel Midi, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Jack

We really appreciate your realistic feedback. Your honest and warm comments inspire us to continue improve our services every single day to satisfy our clients expectations. Should you ever visit Brussels again, do not hesitate to contact us directly, as it will be our pleasure to make sure you have a memorable stay once again.

With my best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Floris Ustel Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Ustel Midi

Address: Square de l'Aviation 6-8, Anderlecht, Brussels B-1070, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Anderlecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Ustel Midi 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six story, 19th century house 1 km from city center - 5 minute walk to Eurostar Station - 10 kms to Brussels National Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Floris Ustel Midi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floris Ustel Midi Hotel Anderlecht
Ustel Hotel Brussels
Floris Ustel Midi Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris Ustel Midi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.