We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bel Soggiorno to your Saves list
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 19, 25088 Toscolano-Maderno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pros and cons.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012. First impressions were not good and when we saw our room we were very disappointed. It was very dark and while the en-suite bathroom was excellent, the wall paper had damp marks extensively. Food was mediocre, but dining room staff were excellent in spite of poor English. We found the family who owned the hotel, with one exception, not very friendly. The "garden" at rear was very untidy and all garden furniture was in need of a good spruce-up, Maderno as a village was great and suited us very well. The promenade walks were
excellent and plenty of bars for a drink in the late evening. I would suggest that this is not a 4 star hotel, but it probably gets it`s grading due to a good spa etc.

Room Tip: Ask for up-grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
11
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Maderno proved to be a fabulous, quiet & peacefull place to stay. The accommodation was beautifully presented, clean & full of Italian charm. The family owners were friendly, & helpful at all times, & the food was consistantly good. The hotel staff, particularly the chef, waitresses & cleaners, were all warm & friendly & the views over the lake from the room balcony were breathtaking. (Ask for a room with a lake view). Maderno itself is a quiet town, completely unspoilt by mass tourism, & seems to attract discerning visitors who wish to be "away from the crowds". The small number of cafe's, resturants & shops all had friendly & helpful staff, prices generally were very reasonable. For anyone looking to spend time in a romantic, peaceful location it would be difficult to improve upon. The lakeside town & particularly the Bel Soggiorno Hotel comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We spent a week in this resort early September 2008 at the Hotel Bel Soggiorno. Well we so so disappointed in this resort we were ready to come home on our second day. The resort it's self has very little to entertain the vistor no night life at all , not a bar for an evening cocktail, no music.
The resort has a ferry but is quite expensive to use often.
Hotel, 4 Star also disappointing, Very noisy if you stay on the front for which you pay extra( lake view), food poor cold veg with all evening meals?. rooms acceptable. generally not what one would expect from it's rating. If you go on venice by night trip get a key to get back in the hotel as you will find it locked up when you get back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Sept 3rd to 10th. First time to Italy and loved lake Garda. Maderno is a small place but fine to stay in ( we are in our late 50s.) Ferries are close to hotel, not much going on in Maderno ,not much night life.We used the ferries every day. I expect younger people would enjoy the busier towns on the lake such as Malasine and Denzenzano or Riva, A must is the Dolomite tour and a trip up the mountain , we enjoyed Venice but you dont get much time there, The lake tour is very worthwhile.
Rooms in the Hotel were clean to a good standard, we had a balcony view ,the food was ok but not a lot of it.
Staff were helpful and freindly,

  • Liked — Close to ferries and buses
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We have just got back from the Hotel Bel Soggiorno at Maderno in August 08. The hotel is excellent place to stay. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, they were always on hand to answer any questions and whilst their English is not the best we were able to get by .The food was excellent, great choice and if the menu wasn’t to your liking on the day you could always ask for the daily fish dish. The meals are served daily with a choice of potato's and a selection of cold vegetable's - don’t be put off by this they tasted wonderful .Gilberto, the chef, came round every table each evening to make sure you were enjoying your meal, Our room was overlooking the lake, and like others have said you could hear the traffic noise, when the shutters are closed you here very little. The rooms are clean and have a mini bar which surprisingly was priced low, towels and bed linen changed daily infact the towels were changed every time you seem to use them. The room also had a TV but only had CNN as the English choice channel - however I didn’t go on holiday to watch TV. Open the widow and there is a magnificent picture of the lake WOW. The rooftop pool was great, freezing cold when you get in but take the plunge you soon warm up. There are fantastic views over the lake, sun bed and towels were supplied by the hotel and there was always one free. Maderno is quiet; there are a few bars and cafes, a really nice walk along the prom. We hired a car but never used it once so save yourselves the money and see every thing the island has to offer by boat. The hotel is ideally placed for the ferries, we went somewhere different every day, This is a wonderful place to stay and relax, enjoy the peace and quiet the lake has to offer, travel across the lake to the small village's and wonder around the cobbled streets, there are markets on every day some where around the lake, you will find however leather and items expensive as its more like shopping on a high street than a market when it comes to price , you just have to haggle a bit. Most people however, speak a little English! A trip to the top of the mountain in Malcesine Monte Baldo is well worth a visit, get there early as you will need to queue, it took us about 1hours 20mins but was worth the wait. Other places we went to were Venice, over rated in my opinion, however you have to go, share a gondola with other people if you can we paid 18 euros each, better than the 120 they wanted for the 2 of us. Isle of garda is also worth a visit, included in the price is a guided tour which is excellent. When we went we were the only two people that spoke English so had our own guide for 2 hours. There’s so much to see and do - can't wait till we go back , and oh the weather was 30+ every day - not that that mattered, Ciao.

  • Liked — All around excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in kingswood
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Have just returned from a week in Maderno on Lake Garda, staying at the Hotel Bel Soggiorno. This hotel deserves its good reputation. It was excellent value for money. An old hotel over two buildings. With a roof terrace swimming pool affording a lovely view of the lake and mountains. Clean, very comfortable beds, large shower rooms and excellent service. I always have a single room and they can be inferior - not this hotel! A lovely double room with plenty of lovely towels! The hotel staff could not have done more for us, even letting me keep my room until I left in the late afternoon. The food was plentiful and varied. The family running the hotel are always around and very friendly - eating in the dining room every evening with the guests. Tipping the staff was a good idea and I am sure that is why they were so kind about keeping my room on.
The resort of Maderno is very quiet and is best used for a base to visit the other resorts (beware the last ferry gets back about 6.30pm). However there is a lovely walk all along the promenade past the ferry terminal and ice cream parlour! The place is beautiful, friendly and not a rip off.
We were able to arrange trips to Verona and Venice throught Reception.

I cannot reccomend this hotel highly enough.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, good service and friendliness
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Bel Soggiorno at Maderno in September 07. I had looked for reviews of this hotel, and information about Maderno for weeks before we went and just could not find anything. Well, the hotel was great. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent, good varied choice and always piping hot. Our room was on the front overlooking the lake, yes you could hear the traffic noise but we knew this hotel was on a road so it did not bother us, it wasnt bad at night. The room was clean and beautifully decorated, you only looked at a towel and it was changed. The rooftop pool was great, fantastic views over the lake and you could always get a sunbed and towels were supplied by the hotel. Maderno was quiet, but there were a few bars and cafes and a really nice long prom to have a wander on to walk off all the fantastic food. It is ideally placed for the ferrys and we went somewhere different every day. All in all we had a great holiday and would return to this hotel. Just a mention about Gilberto, the chef. He came round every evening to make sure you were enjoying his food, a really nice touch.

  • Liked — Cleaness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No curtains at window
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Address: Via Roma, 19, 25088 Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bel Soggiorno 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bel Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Hotel Bel Soggiorno Toscolano-Maderno, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bel Soggiorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.