We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully located on the shore of Lake Garda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 45, 25088 Toscolano-Maderno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“Wonderfully located on the shore of Lake Garda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is wonderfully located on the shore of Lake Garda, just 15-20 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants of Maderno. The rooms are well decorated, clean and fresh - my only criticism is that the bathroom appears to have been created like a wet room but the water from the shower creates a slipping hazard on the floor tiles (I have marked the room score down because of this).
The beds and pillows are very comfortable and the air conditioning adds to the sleep quality that we found to be excellent.
The overall service was mixed but the front desk was very good throughout - helpful and informative.
We ate dinner in the restaurant during our stay and found the food and service to be good; we ate outside overlooking the lake - wonderful.
Buffet breakfast was included in the price of the room - a good choice of food with outside tables in a lovely location overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maspalomas, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As part of a lengthy motoring holiday around France and Italy, we were keeping our itinerary quite "loose" in case we wanted to change our plans - consequently this booking was made quite late and without even bothering to check the reviews.
We arrived to discover a magnificent hotel in an incredible location - and our experience was pretty much the same as all the other reviewers on here.
Our room was on the garden level and opened directly onto the grass leading towards the steps down to the private beach.
Absolutely idyllic.
Room was spotless, staff were friendly and VERY helpful, breakfast was excellent etc etc.
Impossible to fault.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Villa Maria for 9 nights, the hotel is a in a perfect position right by the lake. The breakfasts were buffet style and there was plenty of choice. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and throughly enjoyed the meals. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. We can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Relaxing, enchanting this is the place to chill out in style. The hotel is right next to the lake, the rooms are elegant and breakfast was very good. The only downside is the sofa beds in the rooms are not comfortable for adults and would suggest only to use them for small children.

Room Tip: The hotel often sells out, but some internet travel agents have pre booked rooms so you can still fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We planned to stay 4 nights in this hotel, fortunatley our car broke down & we were forced to stay an extra night. The rooms were amazing, clean & airy. The staff were so helpful especially when the car broken down helping translate to the garage.
The breakfast was really good & also we ate in the evening twice rather than go out and the food/menu was really good & well cooked.
I can't fault this hotel, even though it wasn't central there was a good walk to Toscolano or Garndone Riveria it was perfect for the lake & very private.
I would stay here again if we came back to Lake Garda.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel two nights, and would have loved to stay longer! The villa has a great location directly towards the water-front and in walking distance to the village. Room was continently spacy and spotless clean. Breakfast on the terrace with view over the lake was perfect start of the day.

The hotel offers various spa-treatments, which we didn’t make use of.

The small private beach is very pleasant but full of rocks and stones, so shoes/sandals for swimming are recommended – especially for the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the lake. Our room by the end of the corridor had noice from the road behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 days in this hotel,and it was perfect. Great place to stay for romantic and relaxing holidays,not a place to come with kids. The garden rooms have direct access to the lake.friendly staff.The hotel is only 1 km from Maderno. Use the ferry to Torrey, it saves a lot of time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac

Address: Via Roma, 45, 25088 Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac Toscolano-Maderno, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.