We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, shame about the view!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Estella Hotel to your Saves list
Estella Hotel
ELAFONISSOS, Elafonisos 23053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Elafonisos B&B and Inns
Torpoint, Cornwall.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel, shame about the view!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

2nd visit to Estella, and stayed in a studio this time so that room had a comfy sofa and fridge, but did not really need to pay the extra as their normal rooms are great and we spent most of our time on the beach or the balcony anyway. Love Elefonisos as much as last time and the Ferry ride over is lovely (12.50 euro both ways, but you pay 10.50 for the car and 1 for each passenger), but well worth the visit. Estella is right on the front as you get off the ferry so we drove round to the right of the island on our 2nd day and lay on the beach round the other side, which was stunning and peaceful. Estella is decorated beautifully and the rooms are Gorgeous and you can see that they have put a lot of time and effort into the place, so the only spoiler for us this time was the fact that some idiot has started to build another hotel right in front of them, so where you had an amazing sea view before, you now just look at a brick wall!!!! (Thankfully they were not working on it while we were there). If you want somewhere lovely to stay and aren't bothered about the view as you are going to go to the beach etc. then definately stay here as the people are just lovely. They reduced the price of our stay (I think because of the wall) and included breakfast, so it was great value and the omelettes were Fantastic. We will definately be back and wish them well, and we did not drown when we were leaving as it was absolutely pouring down when we left and got soaked, but it soon cleared.!! We would definately go in September again next time as we went in May this time and it was a bit early and not everything was open, so less choice of restaurants. Next stop Itilo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable , next to the sea, clean, and the owners of the hotel very helpful. It's in the village with the tavernas nearby, and Simos beach is very close (one of the most beautiful beaches i have ever seen). I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If this is the best hotel in Elafonissos, then there is a real market here for good hotels. It was clean enough but the woman at the front desk was a little lazy. The AC did not work and the bathroom was very small. On the plus side, it is centrally located and very close to all of the tavernas. The beaches are beautiful but there are much nicer places to visit in Greece.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel in most points is very good, the staff really polite and the rooms are in a good condition since the hotel operates few years. We enjoyed the spacious balcony with a table, umbrella and foure chairs which is good to chillaxing the night! The location is really good cause it's on the harbor but right infront of the hotel there is a constraction so you miss the view to the sea and may have some noise in the morning. The WiFi was really good with no problems with strong signal even from the room. There is a very convinient parking for the car next to the building. Moreover, I have to mention that in the room there was not hair dryer and that the towels didn't changed daily.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Went there on 2010 for nights days.
The room was spacious, with a large bed, a small closet and a very very tiny bathroom so when you went to wash yourself, you had to clean all the water on the flore. Worst was if you were taking a bath :-). The room was cleaned only once during our stay. We did not have a nice view as we had a view of the port and it was quite loud once the ships arrived as the hotel is situated 5 minutes from the port by foot. The personell was quite friendly, not very helpful I can say. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but went to the nice cafes around as we found it quite expensive the surcharges for the breakfast and what was giving for breakfast. You have a parking space but you have to be lucky enough to find a free space to park so we parked our car always outside on the street. We had quite a fight at check out with the owner as he was refusing us to provide a receipt of our stay and check out. We discussed about 30 min and then we gave it us. In my opinion, at Elafonisos there are much better places to stay than that hotel as it is quite overpriced for its quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Estella hotel in August. The hotel is new and very nice. Our room had a very nice balcony and partial view of port. It is straight ahead of where you get off the fairy. Very nice at night to walk to restaurants and cafes. Simos and Panagia beaches short drive.
Breakfast was very simple. Toasted sandwich, bread, cake with coffee and fresh squeezed OJ. What they served you was nice but it was not a very full breakfast.
I would stay here again. Sadly, the perfect sea view you see on the web site will probably be completed blocked by next summer with new building being built in front of it but I still recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I booked this hotel after checking out reviews on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. As soon as you get off the 5 minute ferry ride to the island, you land in the port of Elafonisos and right in front of you is the Estella Hotel. Located at the port and in the heart of this little island's "chora" or town, the Estella stands out as a new building, clean, modern and complete with Greek island charm.

Location - the hotel is located a mere 50 metres from the ferry, next to a bakery and right on the strip of souvenir shops, restaurants and coast side tavernas. A 5 minute car ride will take you to Simos Beach, otherwise known as paradise. Literally... When you arrive at the beach, a large banner thrown across palm trees reads "Welcome to Paradise". No need for a car at night, you walk out into town and enjoy yourself while you pass small fishing boats, lovely patios, tavernas and cafes. The location is simply perfect.

Hotel - I travel to Greece every year and have experienced my fair share of less than ideal conditions in island hotels. The bathrooms are usually tiny and cramped, they are minimally decorated and are basically just a place to sleep. This hotel was amazing by comparison. A newly renovated bathroom, great shower, a super clean room and nicely decorated. Obviously the owners took some time to give each room an artsy island feel. We had a nice little patio that faced the sea. with two chairs and a little table to sip our coffee. Also, breakfast was included! Typical continental style, but all you need when you're on an island if you ask me. There were many nice common areas, an elevator to get to the second floor (in case you cannot climb the small set of stairs or have many heavy luggages) and free parking located at the side.

We went in July and paid 80 euros for two nights. I wish I could have stayed longer because the beach was absolutely amazing... The beaches are simply stunning with the cleanest and I mean cleanest water around. It is like you're swimming in a swimming pool. The best beach I have seen on the Aegean to date - even better than it's Sporadic and Cycladic counterparts, like Santorini, Skiathos or Mykonos. Elafonisos is a Greek gem, not heavily invaded by tourists (yet) but visited mainly by Greeks and Italians.

TIP - if you're heading to Elafonisos from Kalamata or the western region of the Peloponessos, or have some time afterwards and have a car, take the coastal ride from Neapoli to Kalamata. This area is known as the Mycenean and is absolutely gorgeous. A mountain road trip while following the gorgeous coastline - many small towns, beach villages and new villas and restaurants found along the way. What a great road trip.

Room Tip: Email the hotel directly and let them know what you want ie. breakfast included, sea view room, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estella Hotel

Address: ELAFONISSOS, Elafonisos 23053, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Elafonisos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Elafonisos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Estella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.