We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B in a beautiful city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Guriniere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malakoff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Guriniere
Save
You added La Guriniere to your Saves list
6 rue Raymond Fassin | PARIS Malakoff, 92240 Malakoff, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Malakoff B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I spent a week at La Guriniere in June. I spent a very enjoyable week there in 2009 and looked forwad to another great time. Micheline is a terrific host and it was a pleasure to stay there. The room was great, the food was beautiful and Micheline was always on hand to help out with my plans for the day. The location is ideal, a short walk to the Metro and only a short ride into the city. The weather was beautiful and it was lovely to be able to have breakfast in the garden. Staying with Micheline at La Gurniere is an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    6
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
49
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Guriniere our last 2 nights of an 8 night trip to France. This was our first time to France and we spent the first 6 nights in Provence. We took the TGV to Paris and headed to this lovely B&B that we found on TripAdvisor based on the great reviews. Although it's not in the heart of the Paris centre, it's right off the Metro which makes it really convenient to get around. The host couldn't have been any sweeter or more helpful. We loved her! The price is right and the rooms are spotless. Another great stay on our trip to France.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed 3 days and enjoyed it very much. Micheline was a very gracious and friendly hostess. The room was large and comfortable. The B&B location was just a 5 minute walk to the metro, so we were able to be in central Paris very conveniently and quickly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

In February 2010 my wife and I stayed 3 nights in Malakoff, which is just outside the Paris beltway (peripherique). We had rented a car to tour the surrounding areas. We easily parked the car each night in the secure garden, traveled during the day, and ate at the nearby Le Timbre Post each night. The room was spacious and comfortable. There is a large common area where we were served a delicious breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

When my lovely husband booked me a surprise trip to Paris to soften the blow of turning 30 we had no prior knowledge of the city. We did know that we didn't want to pay the inflated prices for accommodation and food that are levied when you stay in the city and so we looked to Trip Advisor for some advice about B&B accommodation just outside the city.

I have to thank those who reviewed La Guriniere because without those glowing reviews we wouldn't have been confident enough to book 2 nights in this lovely place. There was nothing to disappoint in our stay - the rooms were lovely and tidy (we had the upstairs green room), the shower was powerful and hot, the bathroom clean and the breakfasts fresh and delicious (croissants, pain au chocolat and french stick), Micheline and John Paul couldn't have been kinder or more helpful hosts. Evening dining was no problem with some lovely places located on the main road at the end of Rue De Raymond Fassin, we went to La Timbre Poste (food was nice, menu completely in French though so remember your phrasebook!, very crowded and cluttered) and Ginna's Pizza Restaurant which was fabulous - huge pizzas for a very reasonable price.

The B&B itself is located on a quiet road which is no more than 10 minutes walk from the Metro (you need to get off at Malakoff Plateau De Vanves). A few helpful tips for using the metro around Paris - the ticket machines have no language translation it is all in French, this means you will need to know what you are trying to buy (single ticket (unite), book of 10 tickets (carnet) or day pass etc). The machines don't take notes only change or cards. Some stations have no ticket office so be prepared to have to use the automated machines, a single trip on the Metro to anywhere is 1.60. Also be prepared to queue at machines - they seem to confuse tourists and Parisians alike!

While you can easily traverse Paris on the Metro we found a hidden gem to be something called a Batobus. The Batobus runs up and down the Seine and goes to all the main attractions on the river (Eiffel Tour, Champs-Elysees, Louvre etc), it is 12 euros for a day pass and you can get on and off all you want. Paris was just beautiful and we saw so much from the Batobus and got some wonderful views that we would have totally missed on the black hole of the underground. All of the stops were right next to the sights too which was really convenient. From La Guriniere we chose to join the Batobus at Jardins De Plantes (Zoological Gardens) as it was just 2 metro lines away (switch at Duroc and head to Gare D'Austerlitz).

Paris was a real delight of a city but be prepared for phenomenal queues at all the main attractions and factor this into your timings for the day. Drinks and food are more expensive in the centre so try to procure these in Malakoff. Just opposite La Guriniere is a small corner shop that sold drinks for about 1 euro and there is a BP garage just up the main road outside La Guriniere that sold large bottles of Evian for about the same price.

We had a fantastic trip and couldn't recommend a better place to stay than La Guriniere if you are looking for affordable B&B accommodation and you don't mind a short trip in and out of the city.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in this fabulous location near Paris. Micheline was so friendly. The breakfast is great. And the room (we had the blue room) was spacious and nice.
The location can't be better. Very close to Malakov metro which is only 15 minutes from Paris-centre.

I would recommend this place to everyone visiting Paris.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in the earlier part of September and we were both astounded as to how wonderful staying at the La Guriniere was. We stayed in the blue room which was cozy, comfortable and clean. The bathroom had ample space and was spotless. Micheline has a very beautiful garden where you can sit and enjoy the mornings or evenings. The location of the the B&B was maybe a 3 minute walk to the metro, so very convenient. The neighborhood around La Guriniere was very safe and very quiet at night.

But make no mistake, the best part about staying at La Guriniere is because of Micheline and Jean Paul. They are the most wonderful people you could ever imagine staying with. Like other have said, and its true, its like staying with family. Their hospitality is second to none. I always looked forward to Micheline's breakfasts (her crossiants and jams were the best!) and the morning chats we would have before we left on our sightseeing of Paris. She is very light hearted and always willing to help out with whatever questions you have and helpful in plotting out a more efficient route for your sightseeing. I can't stress enough how much it felt to me as if I were staying with family. Micheline and Jean Paul honestly put their best foot forward in order to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. I am definately staying with them again on my next visit to Paris. Thank you Micheline and Jean Paul for all you did for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Guriniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Guriniere

Address: 6 rue Raymond Fassin | PARIS Malakoff, 92240 Malakoff, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Malakoff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Malakoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Guriniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.