We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the rough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Andrews by the Lake

St Andrews by the Lake
White Lake Road | RR#1 S-30B, C-9, Okanagan Falls, British Columbia V0H 1K0, Canada
(250) 497-5648
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Jewel in the rough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

You would never think that this exists amid the dry mountains in this area...but there it is a beautiful oasis type golf course hidden in the hills! The course is lovely, with willow trees surrounding this small lake. The Restaurant serves great food! This is a must for a different course away from cities!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am not a golfer but I always tag along when my husband goes to play. The view of the mountains so close on all sides and the wind blowing thru the trees make it magical. It's fun to spot the turtles strolling around the greens, and watch out for drowned balls in the lake!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“One of best courses of Penticton area for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I really enjoy this course each time I play it as staff are nice, (big improvement though from a few years ago as they got rid of the rude guy in the pro shop), and course is challenging and in good shape but the red blocks on hole 7 are very unfair as unless you are a pro you will hit the branches of the tree before the water as set up that way to do so. It is good to make for new changes but to keep in mind most men that will play here are not pros and will then go in the water and get frustrated. And please have a marshal in place as even on a Friday the round was over 2 hrs for 9 holes and not right as not even a weekend yet. I have played 9 holes on this course in past with me and a buddy and took just an hr and 10 mins! Marshal please to avoid people taking 5 practice swings every shot and then going 5 feet or shanking it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Mid sized course but with red tees that allow it to play like a par 5 9 hole course. Tough!!! Tricky greens, tucked in and not as accessible as you'd think. A true island green surrounded by old willows - tough! Restaurant needs updating but the food is really good and the service is like "down home" friendly. They also have very inexpensive rooms for stay n play. In the heart of wine country the best deal going!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Andrews by the Lake also viewed

Okanagan Falls, Okanagan Valley
Okanagan Falls, Okanagan Valley
 
Okanagan Falls, Okanagan Valley
Okanagan Falls, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to St Andrews by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Andrews by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.