We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ Ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hurricane's Grill Bondi Beach

Hurricane's Grill Bondi Beach
130 Roscoe Street, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly Hurricane's Grill )
+61 2 9130 7101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 235 Restaurants in Bondi
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Just across the road from Australia’s world famous Bondi Beach is Hurricane’s Grill Bondi Beach - a fully licensed alfresco steak restaurant. Specialising in premium quality Australian Beef Steaks, tasty Beef, Pork and Lamb Ribs and BBQ Chicken, Hurricane’s signature dishes are marinated in special basting sauces originating from South Africa. Our choice of spices and other special ingredients make our flavours unique and flavoursome. We also offer burgers, fresh seafood, vegetarian dishes, speciality salads, tempting desserts and a quality selection of wines and cocktails.Hurricane's has a lively and buzzy atmosphere. Frequented by locals and visitors alike, this is the place to be if you’re looking to soak up some of the local Bondi Beach vibe.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“BBQ Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

went with friends for a meat feast and enjoyed the BBQ Ribs in Beef and Pork. Luckily we order full rack instead of half, and managed to eat the lot, washed down with a pinot noir, but no room for dessert. Well worth a visit but parking can be a problem on Saturday night fireworks. We booked but someone waiting claimed our table and we had to wait 40 minutes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    101
    29
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We have just finished dining at Hurricanes in Bondi and it was a fantastic experience for the whole family. They even catered for our son who has allergies to certain foods. We had the combo chicken and ribs. The beef ribs were very tasty. The service manager was extremely friendly and accomodated to our needs. Thoroughly recommend Hurricanes in Bondi.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great hamburger and pork ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

First of all you have to promise me that you won't order any desserts before I can tell you that the meat there is very good. Always packed, lunch time is a better option, the pork ribs are big and tasty and the hamburgers are very good. From the kids menu go for the chicken. Avoid the desserts. Not cheap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Famous pork ribs in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Their pork ribs is famous in Sydney and usually a must try for visitors. I went a few weeks ago and felt that it wasn't as good as it used to be. Plus at almost $40 each it is quite expensive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Popular dressed up steakhouse but actually pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Visited this popular hang out at bondi beach. Had to wait 20 mins for our table, which was pretty cramped and a squeeze to fit the 9 of us around, and that's before we stuffed ourselves with copious amounts of meat!! Staff were attentive and friendly and our food came out pretty quickly. Pretty much all of us ordered steak, I had the rib eye which was average, certainly not the best steak I've had. My friends steak was way too overdone despite him ordering a medium rare. You can order a selection of sauces to go with your steak which again are pretty average. My other half had an octopus salad which was enormous, they literally had put a whole iceberg lettuce on the plate, but the overall dish lacked flavour and finesse. A dressed up steak place that looks classy but actually just serves average steak and meats.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane's Grill Bondi Beach also viewed

Bondi, Waverley
Bondi, Waverley
 

Been to Hurricane's Grill Bondi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurricane's Grill Bondi Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.