We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach

Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach to your Saves list
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 O'Brien St, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bondi
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Good accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

It's a family run motel american style: u shape building with the swimming pool in the middle of the courtyard / parking. The rooms are provided with a small kitchenette and living area. Bathroom is really basic and needs a deep renovation.
Cleanliness might be improved ...
The man at the front office - probably the owner - is really very kind and polite.
Bondi beach is only 5 minutes walking and in the area there is a number of restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    29
    17
    8
See reviews for
23
40
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Shared an apartment (well more like a large room with bathroom and mini kitchen) with my two adult daughters for three nights. The location was fantastic - bus stop across the road, $2 trip to Bondi Junction. Beach 10 minutes away and just a short walk to Bondi Cafe which does a great breakfast and really good coffee. The pool, which is in the middle of the car park, was clean and was a real bonus as the weather was so hot. Not a great pool for lounging around though, there is shade but not a lot of "pretty". However, our room was nice and clean, the shower really good, microwave, hot plate, plates etc. BUT, the twin beds had mattresses which were vinyl, (like you might get at a school camp) and with the sheet straight on top, the sheet wriggled about all night and we felt quite sweaty - there was no undersheet. The pull out sofa was nice to sit on, but when made into a bed it was a torture machine!! Very, very thin mattress and the wires and bars poked up made it very uncomfortable. We piled the bedspreads from the other beds on top of the mattress to try and make it a bit softer. We did manage to sleep ok, but only because we were exhausted from so much walking and shopping!!!
So yes, an excellent location, but comes with a bed warning!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I brought my American boyfriend to Sydney for the first time and wanted to make sure we stayed right by Bondi Beach. Ultimate Apartments is ideally located, a 7min walk to the beach, close to great restaurants and cafes and not far from the city or other gorgeous parts of the eastern suburbs. Ultimate Apartments was clean, simple and inexpensive. We were there to hit the beach and take in the sights of Sydney, not to sit in a fancy hotel room. Don't get me wrong, I love the finer things in life but for our purposes? This was exactly what we needed.

I would definitely recommend it to other people and in fact, I already have!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

I was very nervous about staying at the ultimate appartments after reading negative feedback before leaving on our holiday.. My opinion is ignore the negative feedback and find out for yourselves. What I did find was a great "budget" place to stay in an excellant location. The rooms were clean and very quiet for such a busy area and the staff were very friendly. There was a bus stop right outside the appartments which takes you to Bondi Junction where you can shop to your hearts content. or hop on another bus or train to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The web page gives you a totally wrong impression of what the place is and its location ie best on the beach ( not even close), apartments . This is a Motel type set up with no end of rules and regulations stuck all over the place , makes you feel nervous about doing or touching anything .Its all very uninviting and extremely disappointing .I was glad I wasn't staying any longer than two nights .The unit was very clean and well presented and the bed very comfortable but that's about all it had going for it .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I stayed here while visiting family whom live in Bondi. At the time the management couple were very approachable and very willing to please. The rooms are basic ,, but the location was excellent. The bus Stop is directly out side the front enterence which will bring you to Bondi junction. There are shops and lovely cafes 3 minutes walk away. The best seafood restaurant in 4 mins of a walk and best of all Bondi Beach is at the bottom of the street.
Pool area is secure and we will def be back

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach

Address: 59 O'Brien St, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Waverley > Bondi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach Hotel Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.