We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All style, no substance.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vue Bar

Vue Bar
Level 1 80 Campbell Parade | Bondi Beach, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia (Formerly Vue Bar & Tapas)
+61 2 9130 5166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 235 Restaurants in Bondi
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Beach front location with amazing uninterrupted 180 views of Bondi Beach offering South American style tapas and platters combining a selection of pizzas and amazing salads accompanied with and international list of wines and boutique tap and bottled beers along with innovative list of cocktails. Catering for couples, groups, corporate functions and weddings.(Capacity 110) Smaller function room also available with a private bar for groups of 10-20. Fully protected and heated outdoor terrace to embrace that view all year round.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All style, no substance.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

1 Star service at 5 Star prices! It's not that they weren't friendly, but we went up to Vue Bar last night to celebrate my wife's birthday, and was greeted by a slack-jawed backpacker in a T-shirt that just didn't have a clue. It has a pleasant view, but the place was run by untrained, unprofessional staff. This is a bad reflection on the management.

Prices were very high, but we were ready to drink the night away anyway, until we got our first drinks. The waiter only half-filled my glass of $9 AUD Pinot Noir. As if that wasn't bad enough, it tasted like it had been stored near the oven, and was of VERY inferior quality.

After our first drinks we decided to leave. Then it took them ages to get our bill. How hard could that have been?

At those prices, it takes more than a pleasant view to run a good restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legitas2026, Manager at Vue Bar, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello
I would like to take the time to respond to your feed back regarding your visit at Vue Bar.
Unfortunately I have no respond regarding the warm wine, this should have never been served to you, our pours are to Australian standard however our glasses are particularly large and it may reflect the image of an under pour. We source our wines from good australian and New Zealand vineyards and some Spanish imports aswell and I apologise if your wine had turned or was not to your liking as this can happen.
We have addressed the staff member regarding all these issues and if you are about town please do pop in make yourself known and have a great glass of wine on us.
Many Thanks
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab Service - Fab Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Had our Christmas work function at Vue Bar last week. They reserved a section of the verandah for us. Wonderful location, fab service and really great food. Everyone from our company was completely raving about this amazing place. The staff were very attentive, particularly Emma the manager. Can completely recommend the venue, view, food and service - you would be completely mad to miss out!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely service, fresh seafood and icy cold Prosecco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went on a voucher, but would definitely come back and happily pay full price. The service was excellent - friendly but not obtrusive. The Prosecco was so delicious and icy cold that we had to have a second glass. Shard entrée plate was delicious with beautiful warm bread, olives, pate and other yummy things. The shared seafood platter was what you hope for in a seafood platter but rarely get. Oysters!! Mussels, baby octopus, calamari, prawns and squid, and pan-fried, not battered. Fresh and hot. Good selection of desserts. The view was lovely. Unfortunately it was windy and freezing so we didn't brave the outdoor tables, but inside had a lovely, understated, funky kind of atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great meal in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As we were dining using a voucher, it was a weekday and with only few other diners, a great view and good service, we really enjoyed our three course lunch. The food was very fresh and the portions perfect for sharing. The seafood platter provided an excellent range of seafood and the desserts options were varied and very substantial.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good view, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was recently here for a birthday party. The venue was nice and it was great sitting on the balcony outside with friends. Because it was a function, the food had been pre-organised and paid for and we all handed over our credit cards to create accounts for our drinks. This did little to make things easier, the staff were clearly flustered and simple orders took a prolonged period of time to be delivered. Several of my friends had to inquire where their drinks were and when they did turn up the staff had again forgotten who had ordered what, I was even poked by a waiter who was unsure of a drinks order. When food arrived, the wait staff tried in vain to put the trays on the table despite the fact it was already cluttered with previous food and drinks that had not been removed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue Bar also viewed

 

Been to Vue Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vue Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.