We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bondi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bondi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bondi
178 Campbell Parade, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Bondi
Doncaster
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Very basic somewhere to put your head down for the night, nothing special we stayed over christmas and new the food in the bar is very nice though and if your up for the party seen then its a good stay if not take some ear plugs or you may not sleep to well. very central in Bondi though and everything is very accessible just a short ride to bondi junction where you can get the underground into the city day tripper $16 you ripper ha

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
europe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We've spend a night there, looking for a nice place close to the see but the only thing we've get there was a lot of noise.. the music from the bar 'till 4 Am and the cars and trucks in the street starting at 5 AM.Don't even think about going there if you need holidays..but if you want to drink all night, and being drunk enough it might be a go.
service at reception vas poor as well...
don't go

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

i stayed at the hotel for 3 weeks on and off in sept , Everything about our stay was fantastic, even bearing in mind we had previously been staying in 5 star hotels, this was a great place, so convenient for everything, beach, bars, shops etc and a great place to end the evening so as not to have too far to stumble to bed.The rooms are adequate and clean and value for money. The staff were extremely helpful at all times. We thought the food was good and not to pricey especially considering you are in the heart of Bondi. Only one slight grouse, kept having trouble with our key card. but thats just me being picky...

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2006

I stayed in Hotel Bondi for a total or 2 weeks in January this year with three other friends. Our stay was riddled with inconsistencies and the hotel reception staff,whom were extremely rude and had no idea what they were doing, with the exception of maybe two. Time after time my friends and I were left frustrated and in awe at the incompetencies we witnessed. Something as simple as getting a receipt proved a chore and we were even charged twice on one card, this, as you can imagine, threw the staff into total dissaray.

The rooms themselves were very basic for the money paid and air conditioning seemed to be the luck of the draw, some rooms had newer machines that kept the rooms cool whilst others had more dated air conditioners that did little more than push the hot air that already made the rooms so uncomfortable around the room. For a hotel located right on Bondi beach, in the height of the Sydney summer, this was highly unnacceptable.

The only pluses with the hotel were the convenient location for meeting friends for a few drinks or getting to the beach, literally across the road. Other than that, it had nothing going for it, the food was over priced and you could get the same dish yards down the street for a few dollars cheaper.

If location is your only concern and being able to fall in and out of bed to the bar in a sweaty heap appeals, then this is the place for you. Anything else, avoid at all costs

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bondi

Address: 178 Campbell Parade, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Waverley > Bondi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Bondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bondi Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bondi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.