We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bondi Beachouse YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bondi Beachouse YHA to your Saves list
Bondi Beachouse YHA
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   63 Fletcher Street, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could have been so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

First of all, this place has the potential to be a nice hostel but they lose when it comes to cleanliness and customer service. We spent 3 weeks here mostly because it was cheaper than downtown and because it was close to Bondi beach.

This place is overall very dirty. The toilets are at times appalling. They should clean them more often. The kitchen is absolutely disgusting after about 8pm when people have made dinner. For some reason this hostel can't find a way to keep their kitchen clean. They should look into how the other YHA's arrange this. The kitchen is very tiny and almost always overcrowded, you have to fight your way to get a pot and a pan if you can find one that's clean.

The top deck has a nice view of Tamarama beach, but that's about it. There are almost no seats so people just sit on the floor. Several of the clientele openly smokes weed on the roof and staff doesn't seem to care at all which was a bit strange. Having said that, there was a police bust in one of the shared rooms when we were there.

The weekends can be extremely noisy and the staff doesn't bother to stop the drink binging party next door until about 2am... probably great for the people partying but not for everybody else who just wants a night sleep because they have to get up early in the morning.

In one of the rooms we stayed in the window leaked water when it was raining, but other than that the rooms were OK.

Internet connection is expensive at $1 dollar per 15 minutes... or $8 per day if you have your own computer.
Cleaning clothes is ridiculously expensive and will set you back another $4 per wash + $3 to use the dryer for 45 minutes. The clothes does not get clean or dry...

Just a final note.
Most staff are very friendly and helpful, but you know when you meet that one person behind the counter that you immediately know shouldn't be working in a service job and handle customers? A person like that can ruin the entire stay. YHA should check up on their staff and either send them to some serious training or weed out the bad apples and get new staff.

Room Tip: If you go to bed before midnight, try to get a room that's not facing the middle court where peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    37
    17
    9
See reviews for
4
26
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at Bondi Beachouse YHA in January 2012.
YHA Bondi looked like clean, but it was not. I found a cockroach in my bed!
At least they changed my room. The bathroom and kitchen was not so bad.
The good thing is that the staff were helpful and friendly.
To find a cheap supermarket you need to walk 30min (Bondi Junction) or you can find expensive shops besides the hostel.
I suggest clean better the room and bathroom.

Room Tip: Roms are quieter Beautiful view Helpful staff Cockroachs in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at Bondi Beachouse YHA in June 2012. It was clean, with friendly, helpful staff. There was a cafe over the road and a small dairy/supermarket 10 metres from front door of the backpackers. It was about 10 minutes walk to Bondi shops (Bondi Road) and 10 minutes walk to Bondi Beach and more shopping. The room had a double bed and was very small. I only had room to put my suitcase and was just able to walk around the bed. The staff provided me with a television and rabbit ears that got some Australian channels. There was no heating at all in the room so I spent most of the time in my feather jacket with the bed's blankets covering my legs. A pretty average hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean Hostel, Friendly staff, Great location, only downside is expensive internet, everything else was great. We met lots of friendly people from all over the world! Had a wonderful time wish I was back there

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice location, closed to the ocean with a beautiful sight. Since it was summer, there was not so muche people in the hostel, so the atmosphere was quiet. The double room we booked was decently clean, but quite damp and cold. Toilettes were always a little dirt...
The staff of the hostel was always helpful and gentle.
At the end, an average hostel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wasnt easy to find hostel.
I guess theres something need to be change on the website, as the information stated that to get to YHA Bondi Beach house, from Bondi Junction, head to the bus interchange and take 381. Bus 381 wasnt on the go. So I took bus no. 333 and the bus driver dropped me off at Denhem Street. Managed to find someone who happened to be heading back to the hostel otherwise it is not easy to find the way from the main street.

However, it is close to the beach, like a 10minutes walk and you see it.

Somehow, the noise level in the hostel was unbearable. I just think they should do something about it!

It was a last minute booking at this hostel and I arrived at 10pm that night, the price were at a relatively good value. The guy at the reception was kind enough to offer me another blanket incase i feel cold at night. Thumbs up for that!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so it is a budget hostel but this was so disgusting that I checked in at 8am but had checked out by 9pm that night. It cost $80 for a private double room. The room was tiny, with damp walls, freeeeeezing to the point that I was in bed in jogging bottoms and socks. The window was broken adding to my cold discomfort. On two separate occasions I had people walk in to my "private" room while I was lying in bed. The lock didn't work. The only power socket is above the door, so if I wanted to charge my laptop I had to hold it in the air. The cold bathrooms were at the end of the corridor at the other end of the building. I was cold beyond comprehension and checked out that night. I got an alternative last minute deal which gave me a modern serviced apartment with amazing soft hotel bed, kitchenette, tv and lovely ensuite (and heating!!) for only $18 more than I paid for my vile room in YHA. Backpackers, don't fall for this, shop around. This is definitely not value for money. Sure, it might be more sociable but for a disgusting cold room I couldn't care less about the social aspect of a hostel! Would never return or recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bondi Beachouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bondi Beachouse YHA

Address: 63 Fletcher Street, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Waverley > Bondi
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bondi Beachouse YHA 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bondi Beachouse YHA is located at Australia's famous Bondi Beach and is a great hostel for backpackers. Stay near the beach but close to the centre of Sydney. Awesome beach views from rooftop. Friendly and helpful staff. Free snorkelling gear, body boards and surf boards for hire. Internet cafe, movie room, games room, self-catering kitchen, BBQ, rooftop balcony and weekly backpacker activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bondi Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bondi Beachouse Yha Hotel Bondi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bondi Beachouse YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.