We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bondi Beachouse YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bondi Beachouse YHA to your Saves list
Bondi Beachouse YHA
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   63 Fletcher Street, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wasnt easy to find hostel.
I guess theres something need to be change on the website, as the information stated that to get to YHA Bondi Beach house, from Bondi Junction, head to the bus interchange and take 381. Bus 381 wasnt on the go. So I took bus no. 333 and the bus driver dropped me off at Denhem Street. Managed to find someone who happened to be heading back to the hostel otherwise it is not easy to find the way from the main street.

However, it is close to the beach, like a 10minutes walk and you see it.

Somehow, the noise level in the hostel was unbearable. I just think they should do something about it!

It was a last minute booking at this hostel and I arrived at 10pm that night, the price were at a relatively good value. The guy at the reception was kind enough to offer me another blanket incase i feel cold at night. Thumbs up for that!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    42
    20
    10
See reviews for
4
29
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Ok, so it is a budget hostel but this was so disgusting that I checked in at 8am but had checked out by 9pm that night. It cost $80 for a private double room. The room was tiny, with damp walls, freeeeeezing to the point that I was in bed in jogging bottoms and socks. The window was broken adding to my cold discomfort. On two separate occasions I had people walk in to my "private" room while I was lying in bed. The lock didn't work. The only power socket is above the door, so if I wanted to charge my laptop I had to hold it in the air. The cold bathrooms were at the end of the corridor at the other end of the building. I was cold beyond comprehension and checked out that night. I got an alternative last minute deal which gave me a modern serviced apartment with amazing soft hotel bed, kitchenette, tv and lovely ensuite (and heating!!) for only $18 more than I paid for my vile room in YHA. Backpackers, don't fall for this, shop around. This is definitely not value for money. Sure, it might be more sociable but for a disgusting cold room I couldn't care less about the social aspect of a hostel! Would never return or recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Was a little hard to find as out of the way from the main street, but definitely in a good situation as only a 5 minute walk to the beach and right next to a supermarket and cafe. It also meant you didn't get any traffic or crowd noise. Had some very good night sleeps, except woken up early with building work going on around the building. Rooms were clean with lockers. Only two plugs but a multiple plug extension was supplied. Shower was cold on first day, used a different shower and worked fine. The kitchen was basic but annoying it did not open earlier than 8am, which meant if you were working you were unable to make yourself breakfast. Ok for me though who was not on a working holiday. For the price of this hostel it does not reflect in the standard. You have to pay 2 dollars for half an hour of internet this is extortionate especially for the price of the room and the fact you can get it free in other cheaper hostels. They will be making a fortune on that. You also have to hire cutlery and a deposit on room key. Every which way you have to spend money to stay there. I am happy I was only staying here a couple of nights, I feel sorry for people staying for the long haul as the rooms are expensive and then you still end up spending money to actually use the place. Don't bother with YHA hostels. Better and cheaper hostels out there.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs, so you do not get smoke blowing into your rooms from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiac, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Location was great, not too far from the airport, friendly staff and very clean environment. the hostel is well organized and offer daily activities or deals for backpackers! very close to the beach
if you try a YHA and you like it, you should consider buying a membership card which saves you about 3-4 $ per night . however, its the only YHA I did, and around Australia I found many other hostels offering more : free- wifi, free breakfast ...
However, I recommand to go. great way to meet people with the common areas

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night and was disappointed to be kept awake past 1am in the morning by the guests in the room above me thumping about on the wooden floor above, surely carpet should have insulated the noise.
Do not stay on the ground floor, request level 3.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was the beginning of our 6 month trip and was good first experience!
Room was decent size and bathrooms were clean, upon checking in we were given some great recommendations too!
Location was good and accross the road was a nice cafe and bus station.
Would recommend!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

When you're planning to go to the famous Bondi Beach and you want to stay in a really great hostel with lovely people, you should definitely book a room in Bondi Beachouse YHA! It is only a few minutes away from Bondi Beach and Tamarama Beach and you can easily go to the city center of Sydney by bus. The atmosphere of the hostel is really great, all the employees are very friendly and helpful. When you're going there by yourself, you will not be alone for a long time, there are always people to talk to and there is a nice outdoor courtyard where you can get to know people. Furthermore, there is a rooftop with view over the ocean and there are several other common areas, such as TV rooms and the dining room. I had the best time in this hostel, would love to go back!

Room Tip: Besides dorms, there are also private rooms, where you have your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bondi Beachouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bondi Beachouse YHA

Address: 63 Fletcher Street, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bondi Beachouse YHA 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bondi Beachouse YHA is located at Australia's famous Bondi Beach and is a great hostel for backpackers. Stay near the beach but close to the centre of Sydney. Awesome beach views from rooftop. Friendly and helpful staff. Free snorkelling gear, body boards and surf boards for hire. Internet cafe, movie room, games room, self-catering kitchen, BBQ, rooftop balcony and weekly backpacker activities. Free WiFi hot spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Bondi Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bondi Beachouse Yha Hotel Bondi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bondi Beachouse YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.