We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Australian tourism is in grave danger of extinction - terrible stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Grand Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Swiss Grand Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Swiss Grand Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Campbell Pde and Beach Rd, Bondi, New South Wales 2016, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bondi
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Why Australian tourism is in grave danger of extinction - terrible stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed one night for a business conference, checked out and drove home during the early hours of the morning. The owner must be investing the profits elsewhere as this hotel hasn't been updated since the late 70s at best! The hotel's attitude = we have the location in Bondi and people will stay here notwithstanding the fact that our rooms are filthy, squalid and outdated. Do not stay here if you can possibly avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    235
    251
    168
    139
See reviews for
308
320
57
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

All good expect the fire alarm went off at 2.30am - it was a false alarm but they couldn't turn it off for about 10 mins. Some of the area's are a little run down, but a renovation is in the pipeline. Otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Swiss-Grand, General Manager at Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Jillstar29,

Thank you for your comments regarding the Swiss-Grand.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay here! We apologise for the inconvenience of the fire alarm going off, in the interests of guest safety and security we were required to evacuate the hotel.

The hotel is looking forward to it's redevelopment within the next few months, and we do hope you return to enjoy the beautiful Bondi Beach sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is quite worn the first room we were allocated was dirty and very worn, the fire alarm went off at 2;30 am and was a false alarm.
The breakfast was below average. When trying to call recepion the phone rang out and went to message bank.
Location was great plenty to see and do

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Swiss-Grand, General Manager at Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Mwricey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I apologise for the inconvenience of the fire alarm going off, thankfully it was a false alarm however it in the interests of guest safety we were required to evacuate the hotel. I have passed your comments regarding breakfast and housekeeping onto the appropriate managers and we will look at improvements we can make.
Great to hear you enjoyed the fantastic location of being in the heart of Bondi and we hope to see you back here in the future.

Kind Regards,

Richard Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great location, average service, room fairly clean (but obvious crumbs on bed side table), 1 mattress had springs coming through, the other was OK, could not sleep in middle of king bed because of ridge between the 2 mattresses
Pleasant enough but not 4 1/2 star

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Swiss Grand in Bondi for a one off occasion, mid week on a Wednesday night. The location is fantastic, can't beat staying right on the infamous Bondi Beachfront. The lobby is very fancy with a 5 star feel, however the room weren't as flashy as I expected. They were comfortable and spacious with a standard room including a double, single and fold out bed in a seperate room - which was impressive. The bathroom was nice with marble decor but I felt like the general atmosphere of the room was outdated, a very old television and overall not very 'contemporary.' The service was also nothing special with only one person on the front desk being swamped with guest enquiries and phone calls and not much help in the restaurant/bar area so my friend and I end up eating somewhere else on the Bondi Beachfront. I would recommend staying at the Swiss Grand for the location but don't expect anything too flashy beyond the lobby. Generally though the beds were comfortable and the rooms clean, so I would return but not for a long stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Swiss-Grand, General Manager at Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for your review of the Swiss-Grand, Bondi Beach.

It's great that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the many restaurants and bars that are nearby. I apologise that you did not receive the usual high standard of service that we strive for.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the Swiss-Grand in the future.

Kind Regards,

Richard Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel apparently in on its way out.... and it appears that the staff have given up too! I wish we had of been told about the closure at the time of booking. We had requested a twin bed room and we checked in to find that the mattress on one of the beds was "sunken"... This was highly obvious just looking at the bed so obviously ignored by housekeeping. After speaking with reception, we were moved to a second room only to find that the lights were short circuiting on and off. We were told by reception that they were sending someone up to the room but after 20 minutes no one had arrived and so we had to chase this up ourselves. Finally we were offered a free upgrade to a deluxe ocean view "refurbished" room..... this is were we just gave up! The room was filthy.... dust everywhere ... mould and dust in the vents.... cracked basin in the bathroom that had been puttied up...... Housekeeping and staff have clearly just given up.... To keep on advertising the hotel as 4.5 stars is just not an appropriate rating given the state of the hotel. Website and photos should be updated to show the current conditions. Would not have booked had we had an honest representation of the hotel. Also, had to leave credit card deposit to cover mini bar purchases..but...THERE ARE NO MINI BARS IN THE HOTEL... Worst stay in any hotel .....

Room Tip: Ask to Inspect a room first before payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Swiss-Grand, General Manager at Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Dancinglady999, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I thoroughly apologise that you felt so strongly about the condition of the hotel and you did not enjoy your time here. We definitely do not wish this upon any guest and have taken your comments on board - whether good or bad we do appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss your concerns further generalmanager@swissgrand.com.au

The hotel is looking forward to it's redevelopment within the next few months, and do hope you return to enjoy the beautiful Bondi Beach sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is great and the staff were lovely and very helpful. I know the hotel is on its way to closing down but the rates were way too high for the 'tired' hotel rooms. The photos available on the net do not represent the hotel appropriately. Great stay though just disappointed that it was already on the 'close down' and yet we were paying such a high rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Grand Resort and Spa

Address: Cnr Campbell Pde and Beach Rd, Bondi, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Grand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiss-Grand Resort & Spa Bondi Beach, managed by Accor is a 4.5 star all suite property and the only conference hotel located on the world famous Bondi Beach. The hotel features 203 suites, many with balconies and some with ocean views. Hotel features also include an outdoor rooftop pool, Samsara Day Spa, Health Club including indoor lap pool, Internet access throughout and an outdoor rooftop with 180° views of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swiss Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Grand Resort And Spa Bondi Beach
Swiss-Grand Resort & Spa Bondi Beach Hotel Bondi Beach
Swiss Grand Hotel Sydney
Swiss Grand Resort Sydney
Bondi Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.