We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get in quick, before the legend closes...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Grand Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Swiss Grand Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Swiss Grand Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Campbell Pde and Beach Rd, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2016, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bondi
Sydney, NSW
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Get in quick, before the legend closes...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This review will be wholly positive. Why? Time is limited - this hotel will no longer exist in its current form after April 2013. Therefore, any negative reviews, I believe are kinda pointless.
This has been my third stay over the last 16 years; plenty of conferences and meetings as well. I know this hotel well. Honestly, I've never had a bad experience here.
So why stay?
Bondi Beach is the iconic beach of Sydney, if not Australia. Fantastic beach for the whole family; big, soft white sand; clean water; the surf is fun. Swiss Grand is the ONLY large hotel facing this beach. Step out of the doors, cross Campbell Parade, you are on the beach. Once Swiss Grand closes, this kind of access will no longer exist. Yes, there are smaller, boutique accommodation options on the strip, but nothing as large as this.
Parking is cheap! At $20 a day; this is way cheaper than anything you get on street, and even most city beaches in Sydney. No valet, means no tip required; just find yourself a spot on the two underground levels.
The staff are hard-working, and pretty upbeat about their working futures. There will be an 88-room hotel on the back of the condos that are being developed on this site. Most of the staff will be transferred there. Global hotel chain Accor are managing the hotel at this time; they are keeping up with their brand standard.
The junior suite was excellent value - $259. Not only did it fit our family of five (included a rollaway at no cost); an excellent buffet breakfast was included.
The breakfast was busy! This meant the food turned over quickly, and was fresh.
Beach towels were provided at concierge, with a simple request: "Just bring them back." No deposit required, no tag, just simple courtesy and trust. Very nice.
For any negatives, you can read the other reviews. I will say, that I have always enjoyed my time at the Swiss Grand, and Bondi Beach. Book a night, before it closes forever - stay at the legend it was.

Room Tip: Obvious request: Facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Swiss-Grand, General Manager at Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay. Bondi Beach certainly is one of the most famous beaches in Australia, if not the world and we are very lucky that our location is the prime spot for accessing the beach.

It was great to read that you have enjoyed the accommodation, breakfast, and the service provided by our staff.

We hope to welcome you back prior to the redevelopment in April.

Kind Regards,

Richard Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    233
    251
    168
    139
See reviews for
308
319
57
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved the location and were willing to pay in excess of $520 per night for 2 adults and 2 kids but were hugely let down by the service and hotel. The room wasn't ready when we arrived the staff just said "we have been very busy", there were no towels for the room or the pool (same response from the staff), the bags were not bought up (5 calls to reception and a 1 hour wait) the bathroom had a basin with huge cracks in it, there was visible rust coming through the structure. The pillows were rubber and the sofa old and saggy. The pool area was completely run down and the pool fence broken. All in all, rubbish service, shabby rooms, grubby building but great location- shame.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Swiss-Grand, General Manager at Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the great location that we have here at Bondi Beach.

I have noted your comments on the hotel and apologise that we have not met your expectations on your recent stay. I will ensure your feedback is discussed in our next Executive meeting.

Kind Regards,

Richard Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had just flown in from the U.S. and were looking for a place to rest and recover from jet lag before heading around the country. Bondi Beach was suggested. This hotel was comfortable and scenic. Our room overlooked the ocean with a balcony. Lots of choices for eating just outside the hotel and the cliff walk from Bondi to Coogee was right across the street. We were quite satisified with our rooms -- we had two large rooms. King Beds in each, which I prefer. There was a little of the bar scene right under our room as the bar faces the beach, but because we were there on a Sunday and Monday, it quieted down fairly quickly. Not sure what it would be like on a Saturday. We didn't eat in the hotel, as it was much too expensive. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: I liked facing the ocean but you do need to worry about the bar and the street noise on a weekend wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Swiss-Grand, General Manager at Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay.

It was great to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort and convenience we offer here at the Swiss-Grand.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was probably a beatiful hotel once but they're closing in April 2013 to build condos and they're letting the hotel fall apart right now. The TV was unwatchable and has days left in it's life. The balcony overlooked the strip and the beach and would have been a wonderful view were it not for the 4 foot plywood barrier erected to separate you from the giant screen sign covering the opening. So instead we got filtered light and a hint of the view. Countless things that should have been fixed or replaced in a hotel of this quality have been left alone.
That said, the location is great being right on the strip and across the street from the beach and plenty of the hotel's former grandeur still shows through.

Room Tip: There are still rooms on the beach side without the giant sign covering the balconies if you want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas. The positive for the hotel is the location is fantastic, near the beach and shops. The breakfast is nice and the service is superb. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The negative is the room we were put in was the junior suite overlooking the beach, firstly there was no view because there was a large screen covering the balcony so you could hardly see the beach, secondly this room was incredibly noisy because there is a bar/club underneath it, there was music, dancing, drums. I had ear plugs in but it still seemed liked the pub was in my room. After 3 hours from check in I had to request to be moved because it was unbearable. The room we were put into was around the back and was much quieter. The hotel is very old and needs a major refurbishment. The tap was constantly leaking water and I could see rust in the corners of the walls. The carpeted floors on the 4th floor is stained and bumpy, it seems the floor is uneven because it wasn't flat throughout the entire floor. On several occasions our access key didn't work so I had to continually go to reception and get new ones. Overall it was ok but it didn't meet my expectation, I would stay here again but it wouldn't be my first pick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I with our five year old son stayed at the Swiss Grand for the 23rd and 24th of December as our family was meeting for the Christmas lunch being held there on Christmas day. From the moment we arrived I was shocked by the state of the hotel- it was tired and run down. The hallway lights where twisted around/broken, wallpaper had been ripped from the walls, the carpet was ripped and stained.

The room itself was boiling- the air conditioning was broken. The lights in the bathroom where flickering and sometimes wouldn't come on at all. The clock was broken. The tv was outdated and with bad reception. The balcony wasnt big enough to fit a chair on and would of had a view of the beach if a huge piece fabric hadnt been put in the way.

After our first night we ordered room service- they charged us for food we didn't order as well as the food advertised was not what we recieved- the $32 steak with redwine sauce was infact a piece of steak(which was not cooked to order but cooked overdone) with chips and tomato sauce. When the food was delivered the women wouldn't enter the room because it was too hot, she told us she would send someone up to fix the air conditioning. 3hrs later and no one coming up we rang to complain. They told us they would fix it/bring up a fan.

We went to my parents room(after waiting over an hour for someone to come up). My parents where having their own problems. They had to wait when they arrived because their room was not ready, eventually they where allowed up to watch their windows being clean. They also had the wait serval hours for their luggage to be brought up, which waited in the heat and some of it needed to be refrigerated. Then while in their room we ordered a moive- it shut off three times while watching it, being charged each time- the moive cost where erased but it was more the stress and the fact they had paid over $400 per night for their ocean view room.

When we returned to our room on Christmas eve we found one fan- for the three of us. The room was hotter then outside- we went down to the reception and told them of our problems- it was now 9pm on Christmas eve. They upgraded us and erased the cost of our lunch. So we packed up our room and over hot five year old and moved into the upgrade. Amazing view but still a outdated room, the toliet had a crack through it and the bath was falling apart. But a much nicer room. We where happy to out of the hot and to accept this view. So we enjoyed a moive.

The next day at check out- I was told to forget about the moive the night before for the inconvievce. She did not get me to sign anything even though I asked.

I thought it was over until I had my credit card charged for the moive and for unknown expensive from the lobby bar which we never entered. After ignored emails and eight unanswered phone calls we where told we where lying, then finally agreed to return the money. We then got a call back saying she had refunded too many customer today we would have to wait till tomorrow. Then today the payment didn't come through we called again to be told they had no idea what had been agreed on and wait a few days to see if we might get paid. Then she hung up on my husband.

It has just one big headache after another.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Grand Resort and Spa

Address: Cnr Campbell Pde and Beach Rd, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Waverley > Bondi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Grand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiss-Grand Resort & Spa Bondi Beach, managed by Accor is a 4.5 star all suite property and the only conference hotel located on the world famous Bondi Beach. The hotel features 203 suites, many with balconies and some with ocean views. Hotel features also include an outdoor rooftop pool, Samsara Day Spa, Health Club including indoor lap pool, Internet access throughout and an outdoor rooftop with 180° views of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swiss Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Grand Resort And Spa Bondi Beach
Swiss-Grand Resort & Spa Bondi Beach Hotel Bondi Beach
Swiss Grand Hotel Sydney
Swiss Grand Resort Sydney
Bondi Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.