We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view of Bondi Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bondi Icebergs Bistro

Bondi Icebergs Bistro
1 Notts Ave, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia
(02) 9130 3120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 235 Restaurants in Bondi
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely view of Bondi Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for lunch before we started the trek from Bondi Beach to Coogee Beach. The dining room is contemporary and pleasant with fantastic views of the beach. We chose to dine inside since we would be walking the trek. The dishes were innovative and delicious. The staff was attentive...even though we didn't have reservations...the hostess went the extra mile to accommodate us. Although lunch was expensive, you are paying for the location and ambiance. My husband and I felt it was worth the expense. Icebergs added to the lovely day exploring the beautiful walk from Bondi to Coogee!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    94
    38
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not sure you can beat the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Amazing location and decent food although a limited menu IMO.
The oysters are very good as are the salads.
You have to try this place once just for the view - grab a table outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have been to Icebergs on a number of occasions when we have visited Sydney. our latest visit was a complete disappointment. I could only describe the menu as boring, the kitchen lazy and the service indifferent. sadly, we dined there at night so we did not even have much of a view to redeem the other shortcomings. The menu was dominated by dishes on could cook at home on the BBQ (Plain grilled steak and fish) - boring. The food was described as regional Italian but the only cooked vegetables were (true Italian staples!!!) mashed potato and shoestring fries - I ask you!! The steak was advertised on the menu as coming with "condiments" these turned out to be three commercial mustards only. At the price I would have expected to see at least four mustards plus horseradish and possibly a house made sauce. It left me feeling that the kitchen was simply lazy (the steak was however, quite good). The service was indifferent with waiters unable to describe the food accurately and slow in bringing menu's and drinks. Has Maurizio Terzini lost interest?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondiIcebergsClub, Events Department at Bondi Icebergs Bistro, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Martin!

Thanks for taking the time to pen your experience.

Lots of people often confuse 'Bondi Icebergs Club' with 'Icebergs Fine Dining Room & Bar' which is a seperate business located next door.

They are a regional Italian style, silver service venue; whilst we are a Club Bistro, so I think you may be referring to the wrong venue.

Hopefully this has been helpful to you.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great oysters (if a little expensive at 5.50 per oyster). Exceptional view. Good looking staff (if a little slow)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Ooooooooh yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

There are some restaurants that once you've been to, simply remembering their name gets the appropriate juices a' flowing and Icebergs is certainly one of those. Everytime I visit Sydney (which was a lot until recently) I never fail to make a booking here. Sure, I always have the same meal; 1/2 a doz. fresh oysters folowed by 400g Black Angus rib eye and mash, but it is always delicious, always a treat. And there are plenty of other delights on the 'Italian with an Aussie accent' menu that my fellow diners raved about.
But of course a restaurant is not all about the food and Icebergs certainly offers more than that. It has an incredible location at one end of Bondi's famous beach and is situated above the Icebergs swimming club (one of the oldest in Sydney). Watch the waves crashing onto the rocks beside you, as surfers and kite-surfers practise endlessly as the sun sinks behind the headland and paints the bay red, while intrepid future Olympic stars churn up and down the lengths in the Icebergs pool. Arrive early or stay late and have a glass (or 6) of tongue tinglingly sharp& fruity, Aussie savvy blanc, in the friendly bar next to the main restaurant.
Grapple with the infuriatingly hard to get into loos and startle fellow diners by appearing as if from nowhere as you exit them.
I notice a few grumbles about the staff from some of the other reviwers, but personally I found them very chilled, friendly and funny in that typical Aussie way.
It's certainly not cheap, but where is in Sydney these days? Icebergs to me is the complete package, only equalled (in a different way) by the amazing Cottage Point in the Ku-Ring-Gai National park (fly there in 20 mins in a sea plane, cheaper than you think).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bondi Icebergs Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bondi Icebergs Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bondi Icebergs Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.