We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good idea but better places” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fishmongers Bondi Beach

Fishmongers Bondi Beach
42 Hall St, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia (Formerly Mongers)
(02) 9365 2205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 232 restaurants in Bondi
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good idea but better places”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Step above takeaway joint. Standard fish and salad dishes. Eat in better than takeout . They staff appear disinterested and the food lacked flavour and overlooked.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    4
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mongers has lost its Sole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This used to be my number one spot for fish and chips in Bondi. A combination of loss of value for money, and drop in quality has turned me away. Staff sometimes more interested in chatting to each other than manning the tills.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not brilliant either!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went to Mongers due to all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, which is always slightly dangerous! The atmosphere was great, busy and bustling and fun - but the fish and chips we found pretty average - and NO curry sauce - so not really a proper chippy at all! Good to have alternatives to the standard chippy range of food, but I'm not sure it lived up to the hype. We DO come from the UK, so maybe slightly spoilt! The chips were pretty grim! However, I like the idea and wouldn't want to put anyone off going - but if you are looking for an English style chippy, this isn't it! Loved all the alternatives tho'!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gourmet fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After swimming and sunbathing at the bondi beach, mongers was a very good choice for lunch as we wanted fish and seafood.
The food was nice and very reasonably priced, as the portions were very generous.
The service was good as well.
The only problem we had was that the grilled calamari was marinated in a red sauce (maybe containing curry as well? - not sure) and it kind of took away the calamari flavour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My style fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We ordered eat in BBQ octopus in two versions, it was the best!!! My only suggestions is keep the chips separate on the chips versions but it was fresh tasty and the staff were great happy and friendly and fast on their feet! I want to open one of these in my state!! Brilliant concept as an alternative to all fried fish. Caters to everyone inc traditional but also those like us who want salads and veg. Loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishmongers Bondi Beach also viewed

 
Bondi, Waverley
 
Bondi, Waverley
Manly, Greater Sydney

Been to Fishmongers Bondi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishmongers Bondi Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.