We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishmongers Bondi Beach

Fishmongers Bondi Beach
42 Hall St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia (Formerly Mongers)
61293652205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 313 Restaurants in Bondi
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were hesitant at first because other places were crowded and this one was empty. Glad we went - delicious food. Fresh food w/many options as to preparation and sides - you can be as healthy or indulgent as you want.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bos2nTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great seaside bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fish and chips par excellence.
Have the fish grilled or battered.
The kids loved the variety (and the enormity!) of the family basket - a huge and varied feast.
It's bring your own booze.
Great place - excellent value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinjbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food, not the best location in Manly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Fish and chips were acceptable and worth a little bit of higher price than other places. I found the salad and specially the chips even more attractive. Calamari rings worth a try, but the prawns the prawns interested us the least. 45AUD for two persons with the soft drinks. Next time, I will have plain fish and chips, not anything else.
You can find better located places around the wharf, corso , or the beach in Manly if the food is not all you are after.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amir r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge servings of tasty chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ordered the family basket for 4 adults. Couldn't finish the whole thing! The fish was perfectly battered and tasted amazing!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kento1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Real hand cut chips with skin on, yummy fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had the $55 family box. 3 big pieces grilled fish, 4 large prawns, 8 grilled calamari, 4 fresh oysters, 2 potato scalops, and large serving of hand cut skin on chips with a hint of spice. Came with two little pots of homemade mayonnaise and one little pot of sweet chilli sauce. We had to leave some chips as we were too full.
Lightening fast, it was 2pm on a Friday in a rain storm and we were the only customers. A beautiful mound of food came out topped with home made sweet potato crisps.
We loved it. And they changed the music for us. The band Heroes for Hire was good, just not conducive to conversation.
Would like to try other menu items such as interesting greens, tempura vegetables, Asian sounding things.
Not your average chippy. A cut above (especially the chips).

Helpful?
Thank fb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishmongers Bondi Beach also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Fishmongers Bondi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing