We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gelbison Pizzeria Ristorante Italiano

Gelbison Pizzeria Ristorante Italiano
10 Lamrock Ave, Bondi, Waverley, New South Wales 2026, Australia
9130-4042
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 235 Restaurants in Bondi
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

really bad service and overpriced itallian food that anyone could cook at home.
Its like its all prebought at woolies or coles and then just heated up.......not recomended

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paris
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“WOW .... what Yummy Pizza !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

You can tell from a block away this restaurant is a neighborhood favorite. Gelbison's is a little hole in the wall restaurant with small town local family style appeal and they are packed to the rafters every night.

The food is family style Italian with all the greatest hits of this genre of cuisine on their very extensive menu. Don't miss the lovely thin crusted pizza with a zesty, heady red sauce. Lovely pasta dishes arrive out steaming from the kitchen, makes you really feel like someone's Italian Grandma is in the back serving it up.

They only "loosely" honor reservations so don't be surprised if you arrive and you do not find a table waiting for you. Its a small, very busy restaurant and its actually surprising they even take reservations, they hardly need to. Service is swift so if you do have to wait for your table it won't be for too for too long. Plus gazing at the view of a sunset over Bondi Beach while you wait is wonderful compensation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Extensive menu - something for wveryone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Loved the food. Had delicious pasta and family had pizzas that they enjoyed. Very busy with locals as well as tourists. Efficient uptight service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst service I have come across in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

we booked a table for 8.15 having been told we could not get a table at 7.45. We arrived on time to find no table available, and a queue of people waiting for tables. We were told it would be10 minutes, then we we were seated at a table only to be told this was not our table. After 25 minutes we eventually got a table. Food is average , and only takes cash, no cards accepted. I would give this place a wide berth if you want to avoid having your stay in Bondi ruined

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Zero service. ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked for a table of 8 people for 8PM on Sunday the 29th of December and arrived there exactly on time. The waitress told us that we would have to wait for 10 minutes before our table would be ready.

It got to be 20:30 and we still didn't have a table. We landed up only getting seated by 20:40. We then sat for a long time waiting to order and no one came to check on us. We weren't even offered drinks or anything!

We landed up leaving because it had been an hour since we were supposed to be seated and still didn't have so much as some bread or drinks. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking to be fed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelbison Pizzeria Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Gelbison Pizzeria Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelbison Pizzeria Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.