We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, economical choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkville Place Apartments

Save Saved
You added Parkville Place Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parkville Place Apartments
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   124 Brunswick Road, Brunswick, Moreland, Victoria 3056, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Brunswick
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money, economical choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed there for 3 nights in Melbourne as part of our road trip in Australia. We rented a one bedroom apartment which could fit 5. There were 1 double bed and 1 single bed in the room. Then there were a large double in the living room. The room was fairly clean with a small kitchenette and a small bathroom with standing shower. There was an old AC in the living area but not in the room. There wasn't even a window in the room so we had to leave the bedroom door open at night. Overall the room was a bit small for 5 adults but good enough if u r traveling on a budget. On the plus side, they have free parking and was relatively close to supermarkets and restaurants (2-3 mins driving distance)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on our apartments. Just to clarify your comment about the window - there are windows and a glass door, the windows do not open but the glass door does which leads onto the balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for nine nights. Short walk to the tram stop, supermarkets close by and some great places to eat in or take out. The room have basic cooking facilities which come in handy. Arrived late and had good instructions on how to find my way to my room. Would choose to stay here the next time in Melbourne

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Manager at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for the review - always good to have Kiwi neighbors staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I picked these apartments because I needed to be within walking distance to the Royal Melbourne Hospital Royal Park Campus. Based on other reviews that I had read I requested a room at the back of the hotel to cut down traffic noise. Unfortunately this request was unable to be accommodated and we were in an apartment facing right onto Brunswick Road. Brunswick Road is a very busy main road in Melbourne so if you are a light sleeper you need to consider this. We stayed in apartment 9 and this was definitely not double glazed. The noise of traffic was considerable but it did ease off during the night.

We were in a two bedroom family apartment and stayed for 5 nights.

The Good:
Clean bathroom with towels changed daily if needed.
Clean but very small kitchenette. I found the facility really only adequate to make breakfast.
Comfortable beds.
Staff generally were helpful.
We never ran out of hot water with 3 people showering daily.
Great location. Near to trams and great restaurants.
Sensitive smoke alarms (both good and bad). Read on.
Locked front-door after hours which provided some security.

The not so good:
Very noisy. No double glazing in our room.
Grubby carpet's throughout.
Dusty and dirty windowsills, curtains and windows.
Bedside light not working and was not fixed despite reporting it.
Extremely sensitive smoke alarms. I found it necessary to open windows and keep the extractor fan on for quite a while when boiling eggs and cooking toast. Although nothing was burnt the alarms went off twice in my room. In the end I was fearful to cook anything. The first time this happened my husband raced down to reception to let them now it was a false alarm. We were informed that the alarms were not connected to the fire stations so no fire engines arrived.
The internet in the foyer did not work. I was not able to access the most basic of websites, e.g. hotmail.

Overall: We paid $165.00 per night which for Melbourne would be considered to be very reasonable. Although I was grateful for comfortable beds, for me, the negative points outweigh the positive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Clare
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on our apartments.
A couple of points in response:
• The room type you booked, Family Apartment is not available of the side of the building away from the road thus the reason we could not accommodate your request.
• All Family Apartments on the road side have now been double glazed as of 5/11/12.
• I acknowledge that the carpets on level 2 are worn and require replacing, something that is on our list to be done.
• I dispute that the Internet either at the reception console is or was not working. Every day we have numerous people using it and as long as you are signed in correctly there is never a problem.
• I will get the smoke alarm serviced by our electrician.
• No excuse for dirty windows and dust – I will certainly look into that with the housekeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Third stay at Parkville Place and still very happy. Healthy walk to tram or train. Aldi and Coles closeby and plenty of interesting and good food places. Staff always helpful. This is budget accommodation so don't expect the Ritz!
Thanks for another great value for money stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments, we appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Convenient, friendly and you can cook too. Parking a bit tight for a big car..but it is free and undercover. Will stay here again

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Friendly and smiley employees and they are very helpful. Rooms are comfortable. Little kitchen which you can make your own food and TV with good channels and most important very good internet connection. Everything you need with average price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you Valletta for your positive feedback, look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I found this place by accident whle searching for accomodation in Melbourne. What I needed was a place to accmodate 5 persons with parking bays, a place close to stores and restaurants, come with a simple kitchen and a place I can call home. Parkville Place fulfilled all these criterias. Although the room was a bit small but it didn't matter to me because I am paid a very cheap rate for it. After all, we only need a place to stay after touring Melbourne. I would like t o recommend this place to those who travel light and without children. One more thing, this small apartment has a lift, so disabled people who require wheelchair can move easily in this apartment.

The famous Lygon Street is just about 200 metres away and you can literally get almost everything there.

Room Tip: Most windows at this apartment are double glass. Minimal noise enter the room except those from Harl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Parkville Place Apartments, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thanks for the positive feedback, we appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkville Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkville Place Apartments

Address: 124 Brunswick Road, Brunswick, Moreland, Victoria 3056, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Brunswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkville Place Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced Apartments offering self contained one and two bedroom apartments catering for up to 6 people. All apartments containing kitchenettes with 4 burner stove top and cooking / eating utensils, microwave, fridge, dining area, TV, DVD, bathroom, iron and lock up safe. Our facilities are recently renovated, clean and smoke free. Free Wi-Fi access to all guests as well as free parking. We offer a safe, friendly environment for business people and holiday makers alike. We are located on the city fringe in the near the vibrant Sydney Road area. Easy access into the CBD with tram stops close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parkville Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkville Place Apartments Melbourne
Parkville Place Apartments Greater Melbourne/Brunswick, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkville Place Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.