We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for reclaiming your energies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Apulia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iberotel Apulia to your Saves list
Iberotel Apulia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vicinale Fontanelle | Torre San Giovanni, 73059 Ugento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Ugento
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place for reclaiming your energies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

As for the sky, the chances to see a cloud over the Iberotel Apulia in Summer are very, very little. The chance of a rainy day is zero, because Salento is a dry land. One does not need to check weather forecasts, because any day is basically as sunny as the earlier one (if your skin tone or that of your child is light, think about protection factor 50).

As for the sea, Iberotel Apulia is situated at walking distance from the long, shallow, and clean sand beach between Gallipoli and Santa Maria di Leuca, which is orientated from NW to SE and is therefore protected from the local dominant Summer breezes, mostly veering from N to W. This makes it a very safe and pleasurable place for swimming, especially for children (at dawn and sunset, the sea might be as still and clear as a swimming pool).

As for the land, the Iberotel Apulia is inside a protected natural park, which develops from the sea dunes, to the reeds and Mediterranean vegetation, to the Aleppo pine trees, and finally to the lawn around the swimming pools and the courtyards (one may practice in privacy jogging or yoga or the like).

In such great natural context, the large and harmonious swimming pools are the heart of the hotel. From there, one may reach the beach-house to take a drink and spend time on the beach, or the children playground under the pine trees, or the mini-club for children activities, or the scout base (yes, there is one), or the bar, or the restaurant, or the fitness and wellness center, or the sport courts, or the shadow of the olive trees. At evening, one may enjoy live music by the swimming pools or attend the show at the amphitheater (there is one every day).

No more, no less, the air-conditioned rooms and the service are according to seaside southern European 4-star hotel standards. The 'all-inclusive' formula is a successful one, in that one takes in abundance what one wishes at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The personnel and especially the animation team energetically attempt to make everybody feel at ease, and mostly succeed.

You may reach the Iberotel Apulia from Brindisi airport (ask the reception for a shuttle bus), get there, and just take it easy. I was there with my little family, and we had a splendid time for three weeks in a row. Around the pools or at the restaurant, we met families from the US, from Germany, from Belgium, from France, and most of all from a variety of places in Italy. My child (6 years old) asked me whether we could stay again at the Iberotel Apulia next year, and I replied that we will indeed think about it. This says it all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    274
    59
    18
    17
See reviews for
479
185
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Seaside is definitely a plus - you will love the beach, as well as the pools and the overall green park. Personnel proved generally gentle, kind and available.
The "all inclusive" formula is definitely the best choice, good variety of drinks even on the beach bar. Beach services included always clean bathrooms and showers.
Animation team ("Staff One") was ok, they are mainly focused on children, and they delivered a good job. Everything is in Italian and German, giving german shareholder "World of Tui".
Not a place for "hunting singles" - great place for families and romantic couples instead.
To be improved: food almost meets expectations, a 4 star hotel should deliver better quality.
No free internet (and quite expensive on demand) - nowadays cheap (or free wifi) should be offered to guests, even on the seaside, that's what other (even smaller) competitors are doing.
If planning to be there in August, you've got to be on the beach something like before 10.30, otherwise no free seats on the seaside (in the afternoon there's generally more room). Hotel is huge and they cannot guarantee beach ombrella to everybody.
But, looking at the full package, great time over there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed second time in Iberotel Apulia for 13 nights from end of July onwards 2012. All in all the hotel is overpriced and weaknesses are not addressed, i.e. rather deteriorating than improving. It is though from my perspective the best family resort in this area of Apulia - but simply not delivering the quality I expect for paying about 325 EUR per night for a family room with full board (half board was unfortunately not bookable any more in high season).

I would like to give some further examples for my evaluation:

We kindly requested – already in early 2012 and again about a week before our arrival – a room on the first floow in building 1 or 2. When we arrived no one knew about our wish and we had a room on the ground floor in neither building 1 or 2. Only after insisting to take our wish seriously they found the possibility to switch rooms to a first floor building 1 family room the next day.

This year most waiters were not friendly at all. When I gave feedback to the Maitre on this (in English) he immediately denied that this is not true, cannot be the case, etc. Only when my wife talked to him in Italian (she is in fact Italian with her family from that area) that I was even insulted in local dialect some days earlier, he suddenly took us seriously, apologized, etc.

Already last year, the child care was rather “storing” the children than really taking care of them and doing interesting things together. This year it was not better. The new team leader of the child care was doing this job for the first time. Also, the children’s program repeats in a weekly rhythm – pretty boring for all who stay 2 weeks.

Compared to our last year’s normal double room of about 25 square meters (estimated), the family room was only about an (estimated) 5 square meters bigger. Though nice to have a separate room for the child this is not generously spacious. Also, the quality of material (e.g., door handles were all loose) and the general quality of how the rooms have been built does not adhere to the price level requested (e.g. terrace doors do not fit well, so they scratch over the floor all the time; the curtains get always caught in the terrace doors, so they are all damaged). Further, equipment is rather of low quality, e.g. super mini TV flat screens with bad picture, and for example, no adequate German children’s TV (Kika), but only Super RTL. What really is from my perspective totally unacceptable in the year 2012 is the very bad Internet connection in the whole hotel including the rooms. The connection very often even completely fails. Connection via LAN cable in the room did not work at all, WLAN connection in the room sometimes worked (but with very low signal quality and frequent failures for multiple hours per day), and even in the public areas (bar, lobby) WLAN is cut off frequently. To address this they now installed two chargeable Internet terminals in the lobby where you have to insert coins – welcome in the 90s.

Finally, food is ok, but quite disappointing for the price level of the hotel and the possibilities of the Apulian cuisine. It repeats every week (so again, if you stay two weeks…). For dinner, there is the alternative “A la carte” restaurant A’Puteca (which was included every day in our booking). However, the carte in principle has not changed since last year. Also, there are no daily offers in this restaurant. It is boring and mediocre quality. For breakfast, the “Cornetti” are not good.

If above points would be addressed and improved I would consider returning for a third stay, otherwise not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm el-Sheikh, Janub Sina', Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

this is the best hotel I've ever been to. The rooms are amazing and the animation are very entertaining and the service is very good its an amazing hotel view is beautiful staff are kind and patient the sea is very nice .

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A beautiful, elegant and spacious hotel in a fantastic location, by the sea, with olive trees, flowers and well kept gardens.White, sandy beaches and a crystal clear sea water. The restaurants, pools, bars and all the common areas as well as the rooms very all very clean .The best of it all, was the friendliness and kindness of all the staff. The animation team was exceptional, very kind and professional and gave us a wonderful time: Barbara, Lele, Luana, Marvin, Mirko, Marta, Sharon, the DJ, and all the others made our days and evenings very pleasant. We miss our 10 days holiday very much ! From Antonella and family (Rome)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Myself and a friend spent four days at the exquisite Iberotel in Apulia late Autumn last year, and whatever expectations we may have had were surpassed at every level, this gem of a place is yet to be discovered by the English market! The resort is immaculate, and every detail is tended to with great finesse. The comfortable and airy villas are set within lush landscaped gardens, and the swimming pool area is superb. Each of the pools offers a new experience, whether it be the different water temperatures, massage jets, and it’s all beautifully landscaped.

The stunning sandy beach is a short five minute walk away along a wooden boardwalk, and en-route you will find an outdoor decking area under the pine trees for morning yoga or aerobics classes, a children’s play area and an outdoor gym, every last detail has been considered. The beach bar is the perfect spot for a cocktail at sunset overlooking the ocean.

The highlight for us was the food, we were pretty dubious about what to expect because of the “all-inclusive” buffet package we were on, but I have never experienced such an array of fresh, beautifully prepared food. Each food station offers something different, from pasta to barbequed meats, freshly caught fish, to salads, the most indulgent desserts, we spent the first evening walking around in a bit of a happy daze!

Last but not least, the spa area with its sauna and steam room is a haven, and it has yet another swimming pool which nobody else staying at the resort seemed to have discovered – swimming in our own private pool at sunset was paradise. We didn’t leave the resort the whole time, and wished we could have stayed a whole lot longer!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I had a lovely time at Iberotel Apulia with my friends - totally relaxing.
The hotel is very comfortable.
There are four different swimming pools including one heated pool outdoors (which has its own spa). The resort also has Spa facilities including a Finnish sauna, Turkish bath and a wide variety of beauty and relaxing treatments.
Within a short walking distance (surrounded by beautiful sand dunes) there is a private sandy beach with a clean, calm and turquoise sea. Having a Beach Bar too just made such a difference.
A spacious restaurant with rich and various buffet, food is fresh, plenty to choose from and catered for most diet types.
The staff was helpful, courteous and available.
The hotel room was lovely and situated in a quiet area, everything was clean and well run.
For us this resort is highly recommended and I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Apulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Apulia

Address: Via Vicinale Fontanelle | Torre San Giovanni, 73059 Ugento, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Ugento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ugento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ugento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ugento
#4 Family Hotel in Ugento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Apulia 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberotel Apulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Apulia Ugento
Iberotel Apulia Hotel Ugento
Iberotel Apulia Italy/Ugento, Puglia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Apulia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.