We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English Tolerated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sighientu Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sighientu Resort to your Saves list
Sighientu Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Serchio, 09045 Capitana, Quartu Sant'Elena, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capitana
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“English Tolerated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We booked at last minute, read the other Tripadvisor reviews and our expectations were not high- thankfully. We found the hotel clean, the accommodation adequate and the shower pressure, at least was excellent. The airconditioning seemed to struggle at times.. Breakfast (buffet) was disappointing, lunch a total rip-off (no pizza either) and dinner (we booked halfboard) was generally fair and was good once. The entertainment for children was strictly for Italian and German kids and and no attempt was made to include English speakers - Even the Playstation games were in Italian, Spanish, Russian or Portuguese.- so no respite there either. The table tennis was exclusively for the resort repsm their would be girlfriends and sometimes for non-english speakers we felt.The excursions (to another beach and sailing/snorkelling) that were offered really missed the point with departure times set for the hottest times of the day with no shelter from the baking heat - not thought through at all. The hotel pool was cool and very pleasant and the attractive albeit man made (sandy) beach, was well managed and sunbeds always available. Unfortunately there was a very strong smell of sewage wafting across the bay for the last two days of our holiday, so the beach was not an option for those days. The evening shows were intensely Italian affairs but still had an amateurish charm of their own and our kids enjoyed some of the acts. Overall we felt tolerated but not welcome in a proud hotel managers sense - the wine waiters tried to make up for it and were excellent - as was the Sardinian wine and local Spumante . We did take a trip to Cagliari which is definitely work a visit. The hotel is in an attractive building directly next door to a large marina, which is a bit of an eyesore when viewed from the beach (retaining wall) but is otherwise beautiful views across the bay - especially at sunset. If you are Italian you will probably love this resort. If you are German or Spanish, you may like this resort. We thought that the Sighientu had a lot going for it but failed to capitalise on its assets.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    123
    66
    30
    30
See reviews for
118
123
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

In fairness this hotel could be brilliant, if it was located on the north side of the island. but its not !!! even if you rent a car there is nothing to see in the south side of the island. it is too far to walk from the hotel to Cagliari, when you get there you will be utterly disappointed the city is a mess with bad building, shoddy painting and bad food this will be the worst holidays you'll ever have. there is dust and dirt everywhere. the most usual colour you'll see is burnt orange to hide the dirt.
The hotel is not the cleanest but its not a disaster either. there was some dust because of the wind blowing sand everywhere inside and outside the hotel. there is a car park on site if you ask, but your car is going to need a good cleaning after. the staff at the hotel was ok for italy, but I still saw a waiter waving is head at some costumers in disdain behind the back of a couple of guys (you get the picture).
the images of the hotel are true of what is there but the beach is not. it's tiny artificial and wrong compared to the rest of Sardinia.
this hotel is good for kids as it has lots of space and things for the kids to play.
-do: take your kids
do: rent a car
do: research the north side of the island

don't : stay on the south side of the island
don't : stay on the south side of the island
don't : stay on the south side of the island

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Capitana hotels

Brampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Tip: This hotel is difficult to find as it's in a rural area. If you are coming from Cagliari airport, don't got to Quartu St Elena centre. Keep following the coast road towards Villasimius and after about half an hour you will see a small brown sign for a turn which says 'Sighientu' which is at a place called Capitana, right next to Marina Di Capitana. We got a hire car and drove there in the dark which probably didnt help.
Tip: The room walls are very thin. We were in an area called Libecchio (spelling may not be right) and also there is a door in the wall between some rooms, so you may find yourself woken by people next door and it sounds like they are actually in your room. The Supervisor on Reception was great and kindly moved us to a different room in an area which looks out onto a paved terrace area. This was okay for one night but the remaining nights we didnt sleep as there is a nightclub/bar very close to the hotel which plays loud club music and has a person on the microphone geeing the clubbers up, from shortly after midnight right through until about 5.30am! Recommend you request a room which isn't near the nightclub.
Tip: Check what you are entitled to in your booking. Bear in mind that if you are half board and you decide to have the buffet lunch in the hotel, it is 25 euro per head, even for children. If you want a light lunch then this probably isn't a good option. If you are planning to be out for the evening and are on half board, if you give Reception notice they 'may' be prepared to let you have lunch instead of evening meal. There is a supermarket within walking distance where you can buy sandwiches too.
Reception are very good and the Customer Service is impeccable. I was so pleased with how several issues were handled for us, so if you do have any concerns I would recommend speaking to Reception as they are fantastic.
It is not overcrowded, there is never a problem getting sunbed round the pool, or on the beach. The pool is not overcrowded, its just about right. The restaurant for breakfast and the poolside restaurant for lunch also were not crowded; you could always get a table.
If I had been able to sleep properly during the week instead of having about 4 out of the 7 nights without sleep, then I would have rated this hotel much higher. It is gorgeous outside and has a beautiful location. Hopefully Sighientu will complain to the local nightclub and will improve soundproofing or put in some guidelines for guests on noise after a certain time.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the area near the local nightclub and without a door adjoining to a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

The hotel rooms are very basic comparing to the way it looks on the outside and it's lobby area. Pool area is very nice but the private beach is full of seaweed in the water, does not look clean enough, almost unusable. The dinner buffet at the hotel also looked very boring and they were charing 25 euros for it. You need a car to drive into Cagliari for decent restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Firstly it took 3 hours to find the hotel from the airport in our hire car, as the satellite doesn't locate the address or post code and phoning the hotel elicited hopless directions from dizzy receptionist. A map (quaint old tech) would have helped but from where at midnight on a Sunday in Italy?

Secondly, when you do eventually locate it, it is in the middle of no-man's land, a tawdry, lifeless suburb of Cagliari; too far from the centre for any decent local nightlife or dining out, yet not yet in the attractive countryside. You MUST have a hire car, even then it takes a good 30 mins to drive to central Cagliari and some semblance of civilisation.

Thirdly, the foyer area is impressive, a pastiche of an Indian palace, but, typically, the rooms behind do not maintain the standard, and although clean are not 4 star. No kettle or coffee making facilities. A fridge but no mini-bar stock, no glasses to use. Old clapped-out CRT TV. Walls very thin, can hear everything, and I mean EVERYTHING your neighbours say and do.

Fourthly, the "beach" is small and clearly artificial, and as others have noted, not reallly suitable for bathing at all. The pool area is pleasant but must get very overcrowded in high season.

Fifthly, the restauarant is very poor, a disgrace to Italy's culinary reputation. Lunch or dinner there is simply out of the question. You are forced to drive at least several miles to find a restaurant that would suffice.

Breakfast coffee is instant Nescafe from a vending machine!

Vended, instant coffee. In Italy. Just read that once again.

I think this one fact encapsualtes and epitomises the contempt in which the managment and a substantial number of staff hold their non-Italian guests.

The English are universally unpopular overseas now, a legacy of 3 decades of exporting football hooligans, wars, and sucking up to G W Bush. There is a definte hierachy in a hotel such as this: Italians, then French, Germans and Swiss, with us trailing last. English are ignored, invisible at best. An example: when we were stranded due to the volcano, staff initially said we could use their internet facility to book alternative travel, but then withdrew the offer and, bizarrely, wouldn't even let me use the expensively-rated per minute guest PC in the lobby, despite being willing to pay. After getting a little assertive and shirty she eventually relented.

You will find the local supermarket becomes a vertiable Oasis to your eyes, and a sad highlight of the day will be buying bread, beer or wine and proscuitto for lunch, and sneaking it past the officious staff to the beach or pool area.

There is a SPA but you have to pay extra to access any of the facilities including the gym.

Good points: the room cleaners are lovely ladies and very efficient. Bar staff are also very obliging and deserved my handsome tips.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Our expectations weren't high and actually the hotel was in many ways fine. The rooms were basic but clean. The reception areas were similar. The pool area was very nice and well kept and the beach although dispappointing for Sardinia standards was alright (lots of seaweed and pebbles underfoot in the water), it was right beside the hotel and pool area and therefore very convenient. Also being next to the marina was very pleasant. This could be a very nice hotel if they cleared out the staff (with the exception of housekeeping who were efficient and very pleasant) .
I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED SUCH INCREDIBLE RUDENESS AND GENERAL UNHELPFULNESS IN ANY HOTEL, EVER!!! (AND I TRAVEL ALOT). The occasions are too many to mention (constant) but feature the restaurant and leisure staff in particular. Everything was a problem, no service or help was ever offered or given even when asked . When asking for use of a facility we were repeatedly told that "the season had finished" this was despite our booking being accepted and also that the hotel was busy (eg getting tables in restuarant was difficult in the evening). We felt incredibly unwelcome at all times. We initially thought this was due to the size of our party (12) and that we had kids ,but on speaking to others in the hotel their experiences seemed to be very similar.
The location was also disappointing to me. I had understood it to be 4 miles from Cagliari and therefore walkable (at least one way). This was not the case at all. The local bus (we had to change) took us over 1 1/2hours to meandre through the suburbs to Cagliari. The taxi cost 50 Euro per cab carrying 4 each way (therefore 300 euro for our party per round trip). There was nothing close by in terms of sight seeing or restaurants/bars. Hotel food was ok, but repetitive and of course tended by rude, surly staff who didn't want us there at all.
I have been to Sardinia before (north west of Island) and found the people friendly, food great, beaches wonderful - NONE of that was in evidence here
In conclusion - don't go unless they have cleared out all the staff of this hotel and you hire a car to get about! PS - weather was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Prior to this holiday I read a number of negative reviews about this hotel and was quite worried that I may have made a mistake booking it. I have never written a review on a hotel but my wonderful experience at Sighientu made me compelled to give my opinion on this hotel.

Firstly, yes the hotel is in a very isolated location and if you want a lively holiday it is not for you. You do need to hire a car or use a bus or taxi if you want activities outside the hotel complex. And that is the ONLY negative thing I have to say.

The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. No sign of rudeness as stated by other reviewers. The complex and rooms were clean and spacious and the private beach was lovely with lots of free sunbeds and near the pool bar so you could take your drinks to the beach. Yes you paid a deposit for your towel card but you could change your towels as many times as you liked and you got every euro back when you handed the cards back in.

We went all inclusive and were given a list at check in clearly stating what drinks were included and there was plenty of choice and the wine was good and plentiful. The food was above average although breakfast was repetitive but overall the meals were excellent value for money considering what we paid. The waiters were fun and helpful and made the mealtimes enjoyable.

We never got to the spa as the weather was too nice to go indoors but comments from other guests were that it was excellent and it certainly looked good from the outside.

Overall this hotel is fantastic if you want a relaxing holiday combining beach and pool with the most difficult decision to make is what time to eat lunch!! We will definately go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sighientu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sighientu Resort

Address: Via Serchio, 09045 Capitana, Quartu Sant'Elena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Quartu Sant'Elena > Capitana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capitana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sighientu Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on its own private beach in Marina Di Capitana, Sighientu resort has beautiful sea view. It features a large swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers. Parking is free and Cagliari-Elmas Airport is a 40-minute drive away. All air-conditioned, the rooms have an elegant design with local stone, wood and ethnic furnishings. The main Scirocco restaurant has large terraces with panoramic sea views. The alternative restaurant with grill, the Libeccio, provides a large buffet of international and regional cuisine. A reserved children area is available. The hotel`s spa, Centro Thalasso Sighientu features a 32° seawater pool, and much more. You can also take advantage and book massages, beauty treatments, and use the outdoor hot tub. The Sighientu resort features a tennis court, sun loungers and parasols on the beach. During summer, a free shuttle is available to nearby beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sighientu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aw Sighientu Life Hotel And Spa
Aw Sighientu Life Hotel Marina Di Capitana
Sighientu Village Hotel
Sighientu Resort Capitana, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sighientu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.