We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prato Cafe & Diner

Prato Cafe & Diner
378 Great North Road, Abbotsford, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 9712 5638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 Restaurants in Abbotsford
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Prato Cafe & Diner has been trading at the old Pavilion from April 2013.Our commitment is to great service with fresh food and the always tasty Campos Coffee.The Pavilion has been brought back to locals.So, come in for a lazy breakfast or lunch at our verandah.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I love this place, its consistent with great food, great coffee and great service. great value for money and surprised by some of the reviews as its the opposite to what i have experienced - this is my every weekend breakfast spot - i look forward to it every weekend :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service slower than a snail....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a quick bite to eat at lunch and found ourselves sat there 45mins later still waiting for our two basic sandwiches to be served. Whilst coffee is good the service and speed at which food is delivered really let's this cafe down. To add insult to injury the waitress who served us proceeded to ensure that her lunch was ready within record time and sat at the table opposite to eat lunch whilst we were still waiting for ours to come out. Ended up getting the food to go and costing a grand total of $42 for what was two ham sandwiches and two coffees. Won't be coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“$5 coffee "because it's Saturday"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

An enjoyable coffee, but for $5 for a take away it just isn't worth it, sorry guys your quest for extra cash has just lost you a valuable customer...won't be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Had been sitting there for 15 minutes n asked 2 staff members for menus and water. still no service my dad and i got up and left.
Its a shame as we are local(abbotsford cove) so would have frequented this cafe alot and reccomended it to friends and neighbours.
Not now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having read a recent review in the Sydney Morning Herald I was keen to try Prato. As we were travelling to Sydney from Canberra I tried to make a reservation for 6 only to be told they didn't take reservations. Being made of stern stuff we decided to take our chances on Sunday lunch arriving at midday. Imagine our surprise when being asked if we had a reservation! We answered in the negative and were shown to a noisy table close to the perpetually open front door where we got to experience the cold wind that blew between it and the open rear door. Normally this would have been enough for me to leave but as we were meeting people we decided to stick it out. The food was merely tolerable- on the advice of the review 3 of us ordered the fish pie which would have been better labelled potato pie for the volume of potato and scarcity of fish. To add insult to injury it was served tepid. The pork and pasta dishes were apparently a better choice. I found the rocket salad tasty but my dining companions thought it over oily. We decided to have dessert, a rarity for me, and were surprised that the selection did not appear on a menu, requiring us to peer into the covered cake plates and read the attached labels before returning to our seats, attracting the waiter's attention and ordering. The desserts and coffee were delivered intermittently, so some of us were just starting to eat while others had finished. On the bright side it was an interesting building, but as this is not the only thing I expect when eating out, I certainly won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratocafediner, Owner at Prato Cafe & Diner, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I'm sorry your experience was disappointing we try to please everyone the best we can. Unfortunately we don't take bookings on the weekends due to the high volume of customers, however we do take a waiting list of customers during our busy period for walk ins who are happy to wait for a table to ensure everybody is seated fairly you may have been mistaken upon your arrival of being asked if your name had been taken.
We try to please everybody's seating requirements and ensure everybody's eating environment in comfortable it upsets us that you didn't mention this and give us the opportunity to remedy this.
We display our homemade cakes and slices so people can look and see what they want or feel like rather then what's written on a menu we do this to provide a more casual dining experience.
We apologize that your food was unsatisfactory and we do hope you come back and dine with us soon.

Kind regards Brock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prato Cafe & Diner also viewed

Abbotsford, Sydney
 

Been to Prato Cafe & Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prato Cafe & Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.