We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Stars Michelin justified” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant de l'Hotel de Ville

Restaurant de l'Hotel de Ville
rue d'Yverdon 1, Crissier 1023, Switzerland
+41 (0)21 634 0505
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurant de l'Hotel de Ville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 restaurants in Crissier
Price range: $0 - $240
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Le Mont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Three Stars Michelin justified”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This famous restaurant in the vicinity of Lausanne has become famous under its Chef Fredy Girardet, later on by Philippe Rochat and only since last year by Benoît Violier. Another famous restaurant guide, the Gault & Millau gave it recently the note 19/20. We celebrated there my wife's birthday. Entering the dining room, we were stunned by the generous space accorded to each table and the tasteful interior decoration. We did not order one of the proposed multicourse menus and just choose an entrée, a main dish and a dessert. We had fabulous small crabs, delicious mushrooms, a traditional duck (an old recipe of Girardet, the least interesting dish), highly original and visually beautiful as well as very tasty deserts. Excellent discreet service. We agree with Marianne K that the waitresses should take much more time in announcing the ingredients of the fabulous dishes

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    100
    15
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Truly exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ever since the great chef Girardet, the Restaurant de l'Hotel de Ville in Crissier has been in the forefront of great French cooking in this suburb of Lausanne. I had the pleasure to be at the “table d’hôte” in the kitchen and it is a great privilege to actually see the chef and his 20 odd kitchen brigade at work. It is too obvious to say that the food was exceptional, but it was. Benoit Violier continues the great tradition of a classical French cuisine in a modern, but not too modern, interpretation. Moreover, he keeps some of the great dishes of Girardet and Rochat on the menu. The wine waiter is exceptionally knowledgeable and in general, the service is of course highly professional, but most interesting “happy” and pleasant; not stuck up at all. This greatly adds to the overall feel of the restaurant.
All in all a great experience that is unfortunately too expensive to repeat often. But we’ll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

after having been many times celebrating family dinners while chef Rochat was still there we said that we give a try to the new chef. We were rather disappointed. The new owner's wife greated us in a casual outfit were we my husband, my son and daugther in law and I were dressed. So we felt already overdressed. Than we waited at least 20 minutes to order the menu and than suddenly everything went fast. We had almost no time to discover the food we were already given the new plate. The waitress annonced the dishes in such a fast way that we couldn't understand what she was explaining (difficult as no menu card is available at the time you eat). Also this waitress was efficient but unfriendly. The service manger of Mr. Rochat was present but it seems that he wansn't motivated. The food was just ok but not worse the prize. We also just had the menu items, no small appetizer or no additional dessert. The lobster was just ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“How French cuisine are and should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I dine here a month ago with a group of friends (30 pax ), I dine in several restaurant around the world, this restaurant deserve to be one of the top in the world.

The new chef (Benoit violier) lives up to both of his predecessors (Fredy girardet and Philippe to hat)

The quality , timing, and execution are impeccable. A must go if you happen to be in switzerland.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It has always been one of the best restaurant in Switzerland but now with the new chef Benoit Violier, I have the feeling that it is even nearer to perfection. I had the chance to follow a cooking class in the morning (before the meal) and to see how everything is prepared. The delivery of products is very impressive. I like to cook myself and try to get the best possible products but what is delivered there is from another league. The freshest, the rarest... the best. When you add to this the creativity and the talent of the Chef + the professionalism of the team, no wonder that what you get in your plates is absolutely perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant de l'Hotel de Ville also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant de l'Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant de l'Hotel de Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.