We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cova

La Cova
Pareje Illeta s/n, Campello, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 104 Restaurants in Campello
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Reservations: 965 63 43 71, Phone 677 11 36 00 / 93 http://www.guiamaximin.com/un-jamon/restaurante-la-cova-el-campello-alicante.html
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a very posh place! Lovely views of the boats etc.
Nice food. Not the worlds cheapest place but is very upmarket if you like that kind of thing. Defo worth at least 1 visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    46
    23
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice food a bit pricey not sure i liked being charge for a bread roll that was on the table even if I ate it or not

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Must have a window table!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant just on the northern outskirt of El Campello but easily walkable from the centre of town in 15 minutes.
The food was very good as was the service. They have, as do many restaurants in the area, a daily menu at a fixed price and this usually operates between 6 and 8.30 in the evening. We had a small beer, half a bottle of wine each, water,three course meal with quite a good selection to chose from and coffee and were charged €17.50 and this was exceptionally good value. I would suggest you book and ask for a table next to the window as the view of the marina below is really lovely.
We found it best to arrive between 7.30 and 8 as there was a late rush to beat the 8.30 deadline and the best tables had long gone and the service started to slow up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A view to die for in Campello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Must be the top restaurant in the area with great views, superb food, attentive staff. We have visited twice now and it is a long way for us to travel but it is worth it. Go if you can and book to get a table overlooking the sea!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from a lunch at La Cova which used to be one of, if not THE, favourite restaurant of ours here. On this occasion it was 31 members of my walking group for an end of season lunch. It's some time since my last visit and the first thing I noticed was the increase in price-now 17.50 per hd. Secondly I seem to recall salad being served with Alioli and tomates before the main course-not this time. Cleverly, they now ask if you want a drink before the meal and this was billed separately even though, for some, this was the only drink they required and so they lost out when the drink-inclusive cost was then billed. On to the meal itself and again the standard seems to have fallen both in terms of quality and variety of offering with reduced choice on all three courses. All in all I'm very disappointed-not least since I chose the venue for our lunch. I shall not be in a hurry to return this time, there being several cheaper options who can match this current standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cova also viewed

Campello, Costa Blanca
 
Campello, Costa Blanca
Campello, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Cova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.