We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time in 4 years, every winter. There must be a reason....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Familyhotel Sonnwies

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Familyhotel Sonnwies
Save
You added Familyhotel Sonnwies to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alter Runggerweg, 20, 39040 Luson, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Luson
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“4th time in 4 years, every winter. There must be a reason....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

First stayed here back inFeb.2011; I have been back for a week ever since! This year I went with my sister and our 3 boys now aged 9,8&7. My husband joined us for the last few days.

Why do we go back every year? Quite simply because it has everything you would want from a relaxing family winter holiday:

Accommodation: we had the Sonnweis suite which comfortably sleeps 6 people (with room for more) in 3 bedrooms with two bathrooms. Great views with front and rear terraces! Rooms are furnished comfortably with simple Alpine wood design.

Food: Excellent quality, especially dinner and varied choices. Occasionally (mainly at lunch) if you arrived late some items ran out... All inclusive works well.

Service: All members of staff are friendly and professional. Rooms are very well cleaned, restaurant staff attentive and the family members very warm and welcoming! Nice to see the hotel owners children growing up into such polite young adults!

Children's club & activities: Excellent! As the boys are getting older I was worried there would not be enough to entertain them....I did not have to worry, there were not enough hours in the day for all the things they wanted to do from sledging, tubing (fantastic addition this year), pony rides, outside playground and playing in the snow to inside activities with the games room and activities with the entertainers who always gave them age appropriate activities including end of week show :-)

Wellness & Spa: Great indoor pool and children's sauna as well as spa area for adults which is professionally run with a good offering of treatments. Great massages but book in advance as it gets very busy!

Ski school: a key reason for coming back are the ski instructors who are excellent and multi lingual! Our boys did the ski school in the morning from 10-12.00 and then free skied afterwards. My son had private Snowboarding lessons in the afternoon with and progressed quickly. All instructors are excellent and are the same each year. Pirmin is superb with the little ones! One piece of advice is to book your children in a class before you arrive via hotel (especially if you arrive on Sunday) as classes fill up on busy weeks and also if you want private lessons.

Skiing: We were lucky this year as there was lots of snow. To get to the slope it is a short walk across a field to a blue slope (about 1.2km long) with pommel/rope tow ski lift as well as a 'magic carpet' on the nursery slope. The slopes are treated with snow machines every night so even with little snow the slopes are always covered. Regarding difficulty, it is great for the children to learn in such a safe environment as there is very little 'traffic' but there are some moguls etc that make it fun. We felt very happy to let the boys go skiing by themselves.

Overall a great week for young and old, peppered with activities for all the family including sledging expeditions, night lantern walks and Tyrolese evenings :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    46
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
188
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Location is beautiful and facilities are good. Rooms are spacious, however the beds are not 4-star quality. A simple matras and simple slatted bed base. We didn't sleep well, a box spring bed should be more comfortable. We heard more people complaining about this.

Food is very nice, five course dinner, lunch and breakfast are good. Because it is a kids-hotel dinner goes very fast (within one hour finished). The quality is very good and for the kids there is a special menu. The weekly bbq with pizza-baking for the kids was favorite of our son.

Animation-team are superb and yet again; friendly. It is indeed a family-hotel were children are in the center-point of attention.

Generally a good hotel but there are some point of improvement necessary, like the beds and airco in the room would be nice because of the high temperatures in the summer. The hotel is not very cheap (all inclusive) but you get a lot in return for the money spend. Water en lemonade is available all day long, it would be nice if coffee and thee are added for the adults. This family Hinteregger is very fortunate with a very friendly staff. They really make the difference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika H, Inhaber at Familyhotel Sonnwies, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Grüß Gott,
thank you for your nice holiday report. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.

Yours Sincerly
Fam. Hinteregger and the Sonnwies Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

My second visit to the Sonnwies, this time during the carnival week with my husband and 6 year old son. We stayed in the Hannes family room which was comfortable with a great sun terrace and views! The hotel is well run with attention to detail, great food and well stocked wine cellar. For children you can feel safe as they go to the playroom or around the hotel. The spa and pool area is only accessed by adults. The ski school is well run and effective! Only 'critical' feedback would be:
1) finish lunch at 14.00 not 13.30
2) make sure you keep children's buffet well stocked
3) make sure you have children entertainers who are more proactive and have a real interest in children (last year they were great, not so this year).

That said, hotel is very responsive to feedback, last year I made a comment of there being no English speaking TV channels and this has been rectified.

We already plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in February this year with my son, 5 and my sister and her two sons (4,6). Overall a wonderful experience.
Highlights:
- Hotel and decor very clean
- Food great and varied for both adults and children
- Very convienient beginners slope 2 mins walk with great ski instructors
-High quality spa treatments, good indoor pool for both adults and children
- Children's club well organised with both indoor and outdoor activities...

Lowlights (only two):
Even though we had arrived in the morning, by the time we made reservations for ski lessons for the children all morning slots gone.... If we had booked in the morning everything would of been OK but the receptionist did not inform us.. My advice is to book early.
Second issue was lack of satellite TV for English language channels....

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Familyhotel Sonnwies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familyhotel Sonnwies

Address: Alter Runggerweg, 20, 39040 Luson, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Luson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Luson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Familyhotel Sonnwies 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Family Hotel Sonnwies in Lüsen/Dolomites in Southtyrol We are a 4* Holiday Hotel in the Dolomites of the Valle Isarco/Eisacktal – with our own organic farm, a truly large nature's playground and the spacious Wellness area Salientes Runcada. Here spoiled families find healthy, peaceful and traditional mountain pleasure. With us everybody gets their money's worth. With 70 hours of child care and exciting kid's programs in the open nature kid's fun is guaranteed. The parents have time to relax in the Family Spa wellness area.Best regards Hinteregger Family ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Familyhotel Sonnwies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.