We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location in nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Mariposa Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great location in nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Mariposa Jungle Lodge is a great get away in nature. Out of the main flow, you can experience the best of all worlds. Great hosts, Sharyn, and Jim! Great staff! And blissful peace. The great jungle experience without the wear and tear. Excellent food!
And best of all, near caves and Caracol Archeological site.

Lots of birds...great for bird watching!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    19
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
105
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LONDON ONTARIO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

My wife Penny and I recently visited the Mariposa Jungle Lodge for the second consecutive year and were treated to a unique evening barbeque high above the jungle canopy. Our hosts Jim & Sharon have recently constructed a spectacular bird viewing platform that can accomodate early an morning breakfast, intimate dining or in our case, a casual group session filled with laughter, friendly conversation, delicious skewers of shrimp and cold drinks. Between all the jokes being told you can even hear the night sounds of the jungle and the occassion howler monkey. Great time had by all!
Stop by for a visit...you'll be glad you did!
John & Penny Henderson
London Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

I'm a pretty picky person and it takes a lot to wow me, but I have nothing but good stuff to say about Mariposa. This is a one-year old resort, beautiful construction and grounds. All the furniture is made from trees that were removed for construction. Cabanas are spacious and have screened in porch with hammock. The owners Jim and Sharyn go out of their way to make sure you make the most of your visit. Location is in the jungle right on the edge of Pine Ridge mountains, so the wildlife is incredibly diverse. There's a bird tower if you're into birding and one of the staff, Damien, will take you out on the jungle trail to show you jungle plants and wildlife. I saw spider monkeys, armadillo, toucan, many dozens of other birds and then heard howler monkeys every day. You're close to a lot of sights and activities like horseback riding, tubing and caving, yet you're out of the noise, traffic and dust of San Ignacio. There's also a Mayan ruin right down the road. Good and varied food, well-stocked bar, wireless internet. They arranged for knowledgeable guides for Tikal and other side trips. I spent seven days there and enjoyed myself thoroughly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

The Mariposa is special. I would concur with what other reviewers have written. The rooms are very pleasant and private. The food was truly delicious. The staff and owners are a treat. The guided expeditions are out of this world.

I made the mistake of looking on a map and calculating that San Ignacio is less than 20 miles away and San Antonio only three. The reality is we are talking about rough dirt roads here. It is a good half hour drive into San Ignacio. Somehow after a few trips you get used to it. As we traveled more into the jungle, I saw other resorts that make Mariposa look downright accessible, so I guess it is all relative. Pack well, as you will not be running out to the drug store for forgotten items. Insect repellent is a must. I researched it on Consumer Reports and found 3M Ultra Thon. It worked well. My doctor writes medical advice for the Lonely Planet Travel guides. He insisted we take malaria pills. I thought he was nuts beforehand, but in retrospect think it was a good idea.

We brought our 10-year old with us. He had a great time. One of the owners, Sharyn, planned menus to accomodate the pathetically small range of food he will eat. She also played cards with him and he absolutely adored her.

Our trips were truly awesome. In order of enjoyment they were Tikal, Pine Ridge and ATM. The guides supplied by Mariposa are top quality. In Tikal, our guide had been giving tours for 37 years. He is an expert on Mayan culture and had lectured at University of CA, Berkeley on the topic. He loves Mayan history and it shows. We spent one day locally with one of the Mariposa employees touring the Pine Ridge area close to the hotel. He too is knowledgeable and totally dedicated to providing good service. It was a beautiful day of jungle, caves and lots of great swimming holes. ATM was an adventure and quite unforgettable. I have done a lot of mountaineering and did not find it physically challenging. However, the degree of care you have to take with every step makes it stressful. This is the kind of place that would never in a million years be open to the public in the US. You are miles underground with no "Plan B" if there is a problem. There was a girl with a group exiting the cave that got a huge gash on her knee as she passed us. If you go, have the right stuff: covered shoes, preferable neoprene booties with a good tread or a light weight Vibram- soled shoe. Everything will get wet, but you want as much of your body covered as possible. The rocks are sharp and even a thin layer of clothing will protect you from getting cut. Avoid cotton as it will weigh you down. At any rate, the guides supplied by Mariposa for ATM were excellent also. My husband is not exactly a rock climber. The guide directed his every step and did a great job with him.

Overall, the Mariposa provides a vacation with great adventure and relaxation. Isn't that the essence of a great trip?

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Adventure by day, luxury by night. The theme of the Mariposa Jungle Lodge. How true it is.
We explored Mayan ruins, caves (Yes, we did ATM), natural beauties such as pools; floating a river through the jungle; birds, flowers, butterflys and animals.
The guides were knowlegeable, friendly and very nice people. The owners went out of their way to make sure we saw a variety of the events offered, ate wonderful food and had a lovely relaxing cabana.
I especially enjoyed a couple of naps in the hammock on the screened in porch overlooking the jungle (Puma) and birdwatching/listening.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

My wife and I had no idea what to expect. We were met by the friendly staff, taken to the lodge. The Cabanas were absolutely lovely in every respect. Clean, modern, with a lovely screened in patio/porch with a hammock. The dinning was suburb with different meals of every culture each evening. Every day we partook of a different excursion from the lodge, such as the local culture, caves and waterfalls, the Mayan ruins, the jungle horseback ride, and one evening the sunset from the lookout with a wonderful bar-b-que. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived, but left with such a joy wanting to return many times over to the Mariposa Jungle Lodge. Go and see for yourselves, you will have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, MS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

My associate and I stayed at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge while conducting a feasibility study of a zipline canopy tour to be built locally.

Meals made to order and requests granted (I never liked tomato soup but would travel back just to have it as an appetizer). Room was immaculate. The surroundings are unmolested rain forest. The grounds are well maintained. You must climb the bird-watching tower.

But the best part is the staff. The locals who work there are as friendly and accommodating as I have ever found. They proud of their heritage yet embrace tourism activity. The owners, Jim and Sharyn, seal the deal. They bound with you in moments. I felt as though I was visiting with long lost friends and family each evening.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort, nestled under the dense jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six thatch-roof luxury cabanas, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy international cuisine, full bar and dancing in the main building, or the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. The Lodge is well-located for tours to all regional Mayan archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.