We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great (!) Choice in San Ignacio Area--Don and Susan C.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sizzling Summer Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great (!) Choice in San Ignacio Area--Don and Susan C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were guests at Mariposa for 6 nights in mid-Feb. 2013 and we could not have been more pleased with our stay. Beautiful setting, extremely clean, comfortable and quiet rooms, and a great and extremely friendly and hospitable staff. From the example set by Jim and Sharyn (owners) the staff bent over backwards to make our stay unique and memorable. Nelmarie, Esau (Chef), Clara, Eilda, Elisa, Selma, Damian, Misael, and, of course, our inimitable driver/tour host and resident archeology/anthropology expert Augusto combined to make this visit wonderful for us. They made everything so easy including all arrangements for a 2 day overnight trip to Tikal/Flores Guatemala. To say nothing of making Susan's XXth birthday celebration memorable from Wake Up coffee to Bedtime! Oh, yes...and an impromptu offer for a personal Tortilla Making Lesson in the kitchen one afternoon by Eilda. As an added Plus, one night the Howler Monkeys entertained us in the middle of the night with their objecting to something entering their "turf", and thus letting us know we were in the Jungle, for sure.
The food was varied, local and excellent/delicious. Chef Esau (Nelmarie's husband) does a great job. You also get the clear impression that this staff really likes each other and really likes and appreciates working here!

We covered alot of territory with their adventures: Belize Zoo, Caracol, ATM, Butterfly Farm, Jungle Hike/River Tubing, and ZipLine Ultimo Explorer. We could have skipped the River Tubing because we do that a lot anyway. But DO NOT MISS the "ATM" tour. That is a once in a lifetime experience.

Be prepared for some bumpy, dirt road rides with ruts to most of the tours. But, as far as we could tell, Mariposa Jungle Lodge is as centrally/optimally located as any area facility to provide access to the San Ignacio Region.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I love this review because it brings back so many happy memories and personal rewards for our staff. We always ask guests if they will be celebrating a special occasion during their visit to Mariposa so we can offer surprise recognition when possible. We are fortunate to host so many adventure travelers who choose a Belize jungle vacation for their honeymoon, anniversary , birthday, holiday gift, or whatever reason guests seek the opportunity to do something different.

Belated thanks for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    19
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
107
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I visited Mariposa Jungle Lodge for 5 days in February. We had booked the Maya Archeology and Culture Package which included excursions to Caracol, Tikal, Cahal Pech and Xunantunich. We substituted the evening tour of the Butterfly Garden for horseback riding and were very happy with that choice. From the time that Augusto met us at the airport until Damian dropped us off at the water taxi we were completely well cared for. Augusto and Damian guided our adventures in Belize and were very knowledgeable and helpful. Augusto handed us off to a Guatemalan driver and guide for our visit to Tikal and met us at the border on our return. Nelmarie briefed us on the next day's excursion at dinner each night. We were so busy that unfortunately we lacked the energy to explore the nature trail at Mariposa. The food was good and plentiful. The staff was extremely friendly. The room was excellent. We were in Toucan. We enjoyed the screened porch for relaxing after our tours. The bathroom was large and the shower was hot and spacious. The bed was comfortable. We had a resident gecko to help with any bugs at night. The only negative to our whole stay was the bumpy dirt road to get there. And while the road was very bad - what we remember from the trip was the wonderful people who shared their beautiful country with us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Belated thanks for your generous review. As you observed, and Lodge staff and guides are seriously committed to sharing their love for Belize, for Mariposa Jungle Lodge, and for the great guests who give us an opportunity to do so. On behalf of our crew, thank you for your kind recognition of their great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mariposa the first week of March 2013. We had dreamed of a Belize trip and saved for it for a few years, so we wanted it to be the best. We would look online at resorts and the tours they offered and then go to TripAdvisor to read the reviews of the resort. The good reviews the Mariposa had earned sealed the deal for us. We were not disappointed!! The resort is beautiful, food great and the staff was excellent. All our tours when smoothly, great guides, interesting places. We didn't use the pool much because we were gone everyday, but it was lovely w/a waterfall, hammock area, bar and lots of plants. If you are a bird watcher, orchid enthusiast and/or love Mayan ruins (we are) then Mariposa is the prefect place for you.
The only down side was having to go back home, we want to go back and will! Thanks Sharyn and staff for making our trip to Belize so memorable.
Walt and Phyllis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Most of our guests love nature and adventure travel, but your passion for orchids (Phyllis) and Walt's passion for archaeological ruins are unforgettable. I think of you often when I see the terrestrial orchids you identified for me, or when I see a new species in bloom. We refer to you as "the orchid lady." And when I hear about new excavations at Maya sites, I think, "Oh, Walt would love to see that."

Thank you for selecting Mariposa Jungle Lodge as the place to share your enthusiasm. And thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I visited Mariposa in February, and my fellow trip-advisor's were correct in the reviews. The staff was awesome- friendly, courteous, and informative. Our food was delicious, and I wished I walked away with some of the recipes.

Our stay was for 4 nights, and I could have used another 2 nights there.. We stopped at the Baboon Sanctuary, Caracol, ATM, and the twilight Butterfly Garden. We had to take a day off because we were exhausted, and wanted to enjoy the property. Most of our tours left early (8am or so), and we didn't return until 4pm or later some days. They were jam packed with fun, but Mariposa itself is awesome. Leave some time to explore the nature trail, relax by the pool, and find the hummingbirds on the property. I heard the Howler Monkey's, but didn't get to find them!

Yes, it's an incredibly bumpy dirt road to get there, but it's like paradise when you do. You are IN the jungle.

If you aren't sure about your trip, ask Clara and Sharyn. Clara helped us book two days in Tikal, and arranged for our hotel and transfers. We didn't book our 2nd portion of Belize with Clara, we did it on our own, and I wish now we had asked for her and Sharyn for their advice, because I think we would have saved a lot more money.

Tip: GO TO ATM. And the next day, for a minimal fee, let the hotel do your laundry. I really don't think I would have gotten the red mud out of our clothing on my own, a week later. And, it's decently priced ($10 I think for a huge bag), that we easily could have packed 1/2 of what we did for our entire stay.

I only saw our room - Orchid. But, there's only 6 or so. They are all in the same area, spaced apart enough for privacy. I never heard another cabana's conversation. We did hear the hum of the generators a little, but it was hardly noticeable. I don't think there's a bad room in the place. The rooms are spacious, and beautifully handcrafted by everyone at Mariposa. The beds were comfortable, and your alarm clock was a howler monkey at 5am.

Thanks Mariposa!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the time you took to detail the planning services we provide. We always welcome the opportunity to assist our pending guests in designing a personalized itinerary to meet their dreams, budget and maximize locational efficiency at the same time. It's difficult to get one's arms around travel in Belize because the limited road availability affects the travel time and distance between two points that appear to be in close proximity on a map.

You definitely hit the highlights of the area but we'd love to see you return for a few days to check out some more jungle adventures and wonders of Belize nature.

Thanks very much for your kind and thoughtful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can confirm that all of the good things that have been said about Mariposa are true. The staff are excellent, the owners are wonderful and the tours they arrange are the best. Our favorite tours were the ATM Caves, Caracol and the all-day jungle horseback ride. You need at least 4 nights here to appreciate the area and the resort. We had 6. Keep in mind that it may rain, even in "dry" season. Also, temperatures can vary wildly. We stayed in February (dry season) and experienced temperatures above 100F one day, but then a cold front blew through (with accompanying rain) and the temperatures dropped into the 70's during the daytime. At night, it was always comfortable - our room had a ceiling fan and a floor fan (which we did not use) plus plenty of extra blankets for the cooler nights. Food was good and varied for every one of our six days for both breakfast and dinner. Soups at dinner were the best. Dinner entree's were hit or miss but overall, you won't go hungry. We had 2 meals by the pool which were quite pleasant with it's waterfall cascading in the background. There are other resorts in the area that are also of high quality but this is the one chose, and we were very, very happy here. Oh, and I loved that we could get coffee brought to our bungalow when we awoke...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairmore, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I spent five days at Mariposa Jungle Lodge. We decided to be picked up at the airport in Belize City and are very glad we made that decision. While the majority of the roads to Mariposa are paved, the last nine miles are poorly maintained dirt and since the last part of the drive was in the dark, it would have been quite an adventure. The lodge and the assorted facilities are very well maintained and modern. Everyone gets the same excellent meals (morning and evening) that are well prepared, filling and varied and lunches are provided with your excursions. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and were always there to answer questions. Nelmarie and Augusto went out of their way to ensure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible. The cabanas (ours was Jaguar) are a little slice of heaven with lots of on demand hot water, very comfortable beds and enclosed porches for that afternoon or evening relaxation. We were busy most days with a day trip to Caracol (and the assorted stops), a day of horse back riding to Big Rock, Barton Creek Cave canoe trip and finally happy hour at the butterfly ranch. Augusto was our guide to Caracol and was very helpful and well versed with the history of the park and Damian took us to Barton Creek. JIm and Sharyn Brinker (lodge owners) were present during our entire stay and were also very helpful and very hands on in the daily life of the resort. Without hesitation we would recommend Mariposa Jungle Lodge and will likely return on our next trip to Belize.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at Mariposa Jungle Lodge in early Feb. The cabanas, grounds and facilities were beautiful, clean and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and gracious. The staff were attentive and helpful. The guides were vey knowledgable, and fun to be with. There are many interesting excursions from the lodge which we enjoyed greatly. We had no complaints about our experience there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
21.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
3.4 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariposa Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort, nestled under the dense jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six thatch-roof luxury cabanas, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy international cuisine, full bar and dancing in the main building, or the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. The Lodge is well-located for tours to all regional Mayan archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.