We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Mariposa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Mariposa Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Avon, CT
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Mariposa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can confirm that all of the good things that have been said about Mariposa are true. The staff are excellent, the owners are wonderful and the tours they arrange are the best. Our favorite tours were the ATM Caves, Caracol and the all-day jungle horseback ride. You need at least 4 nights here to appreciate the area and the resort. We had 6. Keep in mind that it may rain, even in "dry" season. Also, temperatures can vary wildly. We stayed in February (dry season) and experienced temperatures above 100F one day, but then a cold front blew through (with accompanying rain) and the temperatures dropped into the 70's during the daytime. At night, it was always comfortable - our room had a ceiling fan and a floor fan (which we did not use) plus plenty of extra blankets for the cooler nights. Food was good and varied for every one of our six days for both breakfast and dinner. Soups at dinner were the best. Dinner entree's were hit or miss but overall, you won't go hungry. We had 2 meals by the pool which were quite pleasant with it's waterfall cascading in the background. There are other resorts in the area that are also of high quality but this is the one chose, and we were very, very happy here. Oh, and I loved that we could get coffee brought to our bungalow when we awoke...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    19
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
105
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blairmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I spent five days at Mariposa Jungle Lodge. We decided to be picked up at the airport in Belize City and are very glad we made that decision. While the majority of the roads to Mariposa are paved, the last nine miles are poorly maintained dirt and since the last part of the drive was in the dark, it would have been quite an adventure. The lodge and the assorted facilities are very well maintained and modern. Everyone gets the same excellent meals (morning and evening) that are well prepared, filling and varied and lunches are provided with your excursions. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and were always there to answer questions. Nelmarie and Augusto went out of their way to ensure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible. The cabanas (ours was Jaguar) are a little slice of heaven with lots of on demand hot water, very comfortable beds and enclosed porches for that afternoon or evening relaxation. We were busy most days with a day trip to Caracol (and the assorted stops), a day of horse back riding to Big Rock, Barton Creek Cave canoe trip and finally happy hour at the butterfly ranch. Augusto was our guide to Caracol and was very helpful and well versed with the history of the park and Damian took us to Barton Creek. JIm and Sharyn Brinker (lodge owners) were present during our entire stay and were also very helpful and very hands on in the daily life of the resort. Without hesitation we would recommend Mariposa Jungle Lodge and will likely return on our next trip to Belize.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at Mariposa Jungle Lodge in early Feb. The cabanas, grounds and facilities were beautiful, clean and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and gracious. The staff were attentive and helpful. The guides were vey knowledgable, and fun to be with. There are many interesting excursions from the lodge which we enjoyed greatly. We had no complaints about our experience there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent 2 and a half weeks in Belize with a large percentage of the time in the jungle. Mariposa Jungle Lodge is one of the most unique places we have every stayed at. The owners have managed to tame the jungle just enough to build their cabanas, lodge and pool area in a setting that is truly beautiful yet wild all at the same time. There is wild life all over the area but you feel like you are in the lap of luxury in the jungle. The cabanas have thatched roofs and when it rains it sounds as if you are in a tent. But, instead, you are in your cozy cabana that has all the amenities a large hotel would have but more. The Lodge is so centrally located that you can experience lots of different adventures: caving, zip lining, butterfly watching, cave tubing, floating down a river, horseback riding, just to name a few things. The staff at the lodge are truly wonderful people, very friendly, very helpful and very knowledgable about the area and its history. Not only will they arrange for your adventures in the jungle, they will also help you arrange your adventures to other areas of Belize such as the beach, the reef and even to Guatamala. We loved returning every evening after our daily adventures and walking to the lodge for dinner where we had a special welcome back note on our dinner menu. The staff made you feel like family and always wanted to hear about your day and your adventures. Everyone made us feel very special. We would go back to Mariposa Jungle Lodge at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: All of the cabanas are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood, WI
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 5 days at the lodge and San Ignacio area. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and was involved in either transporting us to excursions and doing some of the tours, themselves. Meals were very good (no choices, everyone eats the same meals). The cabanas are nice, though rather dimly lit. You are in the jungle, thus issues can and did come up with water and the Internet. We rate it 4 stars (not 5), because of the "issues" that can come up, such as poor Interent service or water issues. These issues were NOT their fault, it is the jungle and you can't expect perfection. Otherwise it was a nice as it could be. In the area, be prepared to do "adventure" tours, these are not for the weak of mind or body.

Room Tip: 6 cabanas, we believe. The real issue is the type of beds, location not really an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perutraveler_9
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Mariposa for our honeymoon and it was absolutely lovely. It was a very unique experience to stay in such a preserved area of jungle and every night we heard howler monkeys like they were right outside the door.

The staff are incredibly knowledgeable, polite, and helpful. We took a trip to Caracoal/Cave/Rio on pools and it was so special. Our guide was wonderful and it was one of the best things we did in Belize. Also, the food is delicious.

One night we went into San Ignacio for dinner, which was also a worthwhile adventure. I recommend renting a car if you like driving, the drive was a great adventure and very doable from Belize City!

I highly recommend this lodge for an authentic and relaxing jungle experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you are thinking about a travel adventure vacation -- THINK BELIZE! And don't just visit the reef and the beach -- actually get out of your element and see the Jungle.

Mariposa Jungle Lodge takes care of it all -- They will pick you up from the airport -- prepare special meals for you and make you feel at home. This is a resort in the heart of the Belize Jungle. Remote and a bit of a journey to get to from Belize city but 100% worth it!

At night you walk from the lodge to your hut through the torch lamps and hear the sounds of the howling monkeys.

We took a jungle tour -- this was fantastic! Went bird watching and went inside a massive cave.

As part of a working vacation we also paid a visit to the nearby, remote and not as visited Caracol Maya ruins.

Sharyn Brinker the owner of the lodge made us feel like family. BEST TRIP EVER!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort, nestled under the dense jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six thatch-roof luxury cabanas, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy international cuisine, full bar and dancing in the main building, or the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. The Lodge is well-located for tours to all regional Mayan archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.