We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacarion for those looking for something a little different!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sizzling Summer Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent vacarion for those looking for something a little different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Just spent one week at the Mariposa Jungle Lodge in Belize and would like to recommend it to anyone looking for something different from the ordinary. The lodge itself is beautiful as are the grounds and cabannas. The tours they offer were wonderful. We saw the Mayan ruins at Carocol, went canoeing in an underground cave, spent time in the capital city of Belmapan, went to Belize City, saw the Mennonite community, went horseback riding in the jungle and mountains, had a bar b que at the top of a mountain, and spent time in two local Mayan homes where we had lunch and learned how to make tortillas. The food was excellent and bar well stocked! Our hosts, Jim and Sharon Brinker could not have been more cordial and accomadating.

  • Liked — The variety of things to do!
  • Disliked — The road leading in to the resort
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    19
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
107
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We were in the Mountain Pine Ridge area and needed a place to stay for the night. We saw the sign to Mariposa Lodge and decided to give it a try. We were delighted to find a new, beautiful, and very clean cabana available. Our hosts, Jim & Sharyn, were very hospitable, and gave us a great dinner, and also provided a lot of information on the area. In the morning we excited to see a Toucan land in a tree right outside our cabana, followed by 4 more! We were also given a complementary nature walk by a very well versed native of the area. We would definitely recommend staying at the Mariposa if you are visiting that area.

  • Liked — The beautiful cabana and the hosts hospitality.
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew Gardens, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

My husband and I are mature travelers who enjoy new experiences and adventure, but we like our creature comforts too. All our standards were met during a week at Mariposa Jungle Lodge in the Cayo area of Belize. The proprietors, Jim and Sharyn, convey their enthusiasm about nature and jungle life, Mayan ruins and culture, and the opportunities to explore this beautiful country. Following their recommendations, we visited caves by foot, canoe and tube. With the outstanding guides they employ, we compared Caracol to Tikal and learned about local flora, medicinal plants and fauna in the process. The food was great at the Lodge and Sharyn prepared a lovely picnic lunch for us to eat on our outing to Caracol and the Mountain Pine Ridge sights. The highlight of the trip was the unique “Culture Tour” in which we not only learned about the nearby villages, but were invited into several homes to meet the local people and learn about their lifestyle, customs and beliefs. We learned how to make a delicious bean dip and fresh tortillas, which we sampled along with other typical Belizean food items. Our spacious cabaña was surrounded by natural jungle flora, including the Black Orchid which we learned is the national flower of Belize. The king-size canopy bed was very comfortable and the mosquito netting reduced our concern about jungle life joining us in bed. The thatch roof and screened-in porch gave us the jungle ambiance we’d hoped for, while the extensive tiling assured cleanliness. We were glad we stayed at Mariposa Jungle Lodge and recommend it highly.
Rita & Bjorn, Kew Gardens, NY

  • Liked — the food and the hosts
  • Disliked — can't think of anything negative
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed at the Mariposa over the holidays and had a wonderful stay.

The cabins are beautiful and the food is good. The lodge is located in the Mountain Pine Ridge area which is definitely worth seeing but be prepared for the bumpy dirt roads.

Sharyn is a wonderful host and made sure that our trip was well organized. She took the time to email us with advice on things to do and not do. She also salvaged our overnight trip to Tikal when we found we could not drive our rental car over the border (some rental car companies allow this but others do not)

All in all, I strongly recommend the Mariposa. It is still a new property so it is not as well know as some others. . .but with experiences like we had I am sure they will build a great reputation.

  • Liked — Commitment by the owner to make sure we had a great vacation
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
21.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
3.4 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Jungle Lodge

Address: San Antonio Road, San Antonio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariposa Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique eco-resort, nestled under the dense jungle canopy of San Antonio, Belize, offers six thatch-roof luxury cabanas, mosquito-netted canopy beds, private screened porches with hammocks, and comfortable sitting areas for relaxation. Enjoy international cuisine, full bar and dancing in the main building, or the library with an eclectic book collection, games, and array of international art and memorabilia. The Lodge is well-located for tours to all regional Mayan archaeological sites, waterfalls, caves, and rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Jungle Hotel San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.