We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a snake farm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snake Farm

Snake Farm
2 kms NW from Thelijjavila, Matara, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Attractions in Matara
Attraction details
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not a snake farm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This isn't a snake farm but a conservation centre.
The family have owned the property for 200 years and it was started by the current proprietors grandfather.
It now offers free herbal medicines to combat snake bites, which if i quote the owner correctly, kill 2000 people annually in Sri Lanka.
We went with our kids 6, 10 and 11 and loved it. We got to hold a phython and tree snake amongst others and saw a russells viper and black and white cobras aswell as spiders and scorpions outside of there cages which was a spine tingling experience.
This was the first time I'd experienced these snakes up close and personal and it was an amazing experience.
I cant believe those people who are so tight they can't donate less than £10 for the privilege, when they provide such a valuable service to the community and look after such magnificent creatures so well. They have to be fed! But then you'll always get people who expect something for nothing. Don't listen to them and experience something you'll remember!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Good place to learn about the venomous and non venomous snakes in Sri Lanka. Great place to take your kids to teach them how to love and respect these amazing creatures.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Serpents Gallore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We learnt about the place at our hotel in Matara. The farm is a bit in the interior areas and takes around 45mins to reach.We were expecting a big commercial farm with huge snake enclosures and etc. But instead, this place is very small with only a small signboard declaring its presence.
The guy who runs this place is more of a snake bite doctor who treats people with anti-venoms as this area has a lot of poisonous snakes. He has around 20-25 snakes (king cobras, krait, boa,pythons etc) kept in a room the size of car garage. Most of these snakes are highly venomous.There are few tarantulas in his collection as well.
The best part is this guy will let you come really close to all these snakes. It's sad that he keeps all these reptiles in pretty small boxes but still he has taken decent care of them.
If you like snakes or otherwise are not terrified by them, this would be a worthwhile visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was a great experience! The man who runs it has a lot of knowledge about snakes and takes the time to explain and show you. I really recommend to go here. Also the way towards the snake farm is worth a visit.
He has quite some snakes there and also a Tarantula, brrrrrr :)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“sanke a boo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

wow!!! u must see this place wn u goto matara. they hav no of snakes, but cobras are thr priority. visitors are allowed to pics and given a small talk about how they use venom to produce ayurvedic medicines.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Farm also viewed

Matara, Southern Province
Matara, Southern Province
 
Matara, Southern Province
Matara, Southern Province
 

Been to Snake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snake Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.