We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both good and bad things to say...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Inns

Save Saved
You added Beach Inns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Inns
Beach Road | Madiha, Matara, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty lodging in Matara
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Both good and bad things to say...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our tour round Sri Lanka. We enjoyed drinking beer in the evening under the coconut trees round the back of this place. The rooms were clean but there were a few ants and other creepy-crawlies around. The beds had thin mattresses on hard wood, which is firm but OK. We had a single large mosquito net covering two double beds, which restricted the space because of the angle of the net - which didn't quite give enough space for four people. Our room had a balcony with a nice view of some palm trees. We paid Rs 300 for a tuk-tuk to the hotel from the end of the number 31 bus. Many of the locks on the rooms had felt the ravages of the salty atmosphere, and needed replacing, and similarly the french window to the balcony in our room couldn't be locked. The nearby beach is close enough that you could fall out of bed into the sea for an early morning swim, which we did and the water was the nicest to swim in that we came across during our tour. The Sri Lankan breakfast with string hoppers was a highlight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
15
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beach Inns is situated beside the beach, with an outdoor terrace where you can eat and watch the waves coming in from the reef (with turtles appearing to surf in the breakers), a small private beach, it's family run and serves good food. The family make you feel as of you are an extended member of their own family, yet are not intrusive.
Our room was upstairs, sea view and had a balcony. Rooms were comfortable with clean linen, and were cleaned daily. The bathroom was spacious and everything worked, including hot water.
The family were extremely friendly and nothing seemed to much bother for them. They had various breakfasts on offer and they were lovely (hoppers needed ordering the day before but worth doing). The toast, jam and butter was some of the best I have had travelling in Asia, and just what you want when you dont want a large breakfast...we also had som evening meals here as well, and the fish of the day was well cooked -- the sri lankan vegetable curry selection was very good and well recommended. The hotel also sold lovely cold beer (and soft drinks) at competitive prices, although my favourite and most quenching drink was the lovely tea they served. The only problem at times was the fly's however it is a hot country, and they are to be expected -- the hotel staff did disinfect the restaurant area regulalry and also provided mosquito coils in the evening, which was appreciated.
When we decided we would spend the day on their private beach, the staff carried down sunloungers to the beach for us, and set up the large umbrella shade. The beach is lovely, with a lagoon for swimming in, which was clean and clear.
The Beach Inns is just under 10mins walk to to the main Matara - Mirissa road where you can catch public transport to Mirissa if you want for the day / evening -- just remember and take a torch with you in returning late in the evening. If you are travelling in Southern Sri Lanka, I can definetly recommend the Beach Inns as a great place to relax yet still reach the local sights and enjoy the delights of Mirissa from. When we return to visit this lovely country, we definetely will look to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk/australia/bulgaria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

E were very well looked after here. The hotel is charming - you can see turtles while you sit on the terrace. There is a small safe beach for bathing and other eateries close by if you want a change. The breakfasts are amazing value. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

There are some inns of the world that, once visited, get into your heart and won't go. For me, Beach Inns is such a place. When I first visited, I was stunned by the service level and friendliness of the staff, the family unit behind the hotel and especially the son Indika who runs the show. Even though the hotel is very simple, I felt we struck gold. The hotel is hotel is directly situated on its own private beach close to the small town Matara, where the culture of Sri Lanka really remains. The family runs the kitchen and the food is amazing, and my pallet is very critical! The surrounding streets is bursting with small town life but in a very very quiet way. You feel the culture of Matara ooze into your veins in a really cool way. There are perhaps very few inns in the world that provides such high quality of service / and its still a 1/2 star inn. It is impossible not to be positively astonished by it. And my wife and 3 children were exactly that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

we booked into the beach inn direct for 5 nights intially and returned for a further 4 nights after a trip to kandy. the location is a 250 rupee tut tut ride from the station and sits right on the indian ocean! although the rooms are basic they are clean and at £10 a night i think you'd be hard pressed to find a better alternative!! the owner Indika is very accomodating and will ensure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay. we had a balcony room which overlooked the sea, but on occasions did find the noise of the palm trees and sea a little loud when it came to sleeping. would definately stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked 2 nights, stayed 2 weeks. This place has everything you need- picturesque private beach, clear water for snorkling and diving, great fresh food, fantastic friendly family owners and clean comfortable rooms. We recommend ordering the full fish and eating it will sitting on the terrace watching the turtle bob around in the sea. Nothing was too much trouble and we found it a great base for many day trips. Doing my padi course with the owners son was a great experience- throughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Yeah, booked six nights to start off with and couldn't find a reason to leave. Beach inns is a really great stay. They have several types of rooms, mine was the basic with fan, cold shower and oops nearly forgot....panorarmic view of the ocean litterally just a few metres away. Indika who runs the place is insane, there's nothing they won't go out of their way for, the food is very good and the position very quiet, almost secret. I got to see the southern coastline from Hikkaduwa to past Muddagama, used Beach inns as my base and caught local buses for pennies. Highly recommended. Thanks Indika and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Inns

Address: Beach Road | Madiha, Matara, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty lodging in Matara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Beach Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Inns Sri Lanka/Matara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.