We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip Colombo and base yourself here instead” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otel Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Otel Chalets to your Saves list
Otel Chalets
#129/C, Oruthota Road | Mudungoda, Gampaha, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Gampaha B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Skip Colombo and base yourself here instead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a place meticulously designed by the owner with great attention to detail and offering a few touches of luxury - a great relief to arrive somewhere so nice after a long train trip! The outdoor pool overlooks rice paddy fields which looks just as stunning at night time as in the day. A fish pond and wooden bridge are great touches. We wish we discovered it earlier and skipped the hustle of Colombo.

We booked Otel as an airport overnighter, but it would have been perfect to use as a base for this part of Sri Lanka. The rooms are well appointed, quiet and with plentiful insect repellent on our visit - and with fan and air-con we had no problem.

The staff are extra attentive and helped us make the most of our short stay with welcome drinks and a tour of the grounds. The airport/train collection/drop-off service is extremely reliable and recommended. The attached restaurant serves average to good western food but clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhammika1964, Owner at Otel Chalets, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your candid review about our property.I think travelers will see this and more and more visitors will come to Otel chalets.Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Heavanly relaxed and intergrated to the nature, at Otel, you can spend a nice staying with your family with peace of mind and joyfull experience! The Otel Restuarant provides you excellent food and beverage prepared with utmost attention to the customers' taste and good health. So, its not only a resting place for you, but also you may enjoy your meals with your family or friends in an relaxing atmospere. Any beverage is available for you at reasonable prices with variety of Sri Lankan, chinese or western cuisine!
When you approach Otel Chalets situtaed in a heavanly green surrounding, you'll be amazed to see the graet craftemenship of the room interiors. It purly talks to your heart & soul!
The simming pool situated near a natural scenic enivironment close green paddy fields, I guess, this is the only place you find in Sri Lanka in its nature. Also, its privacy provides you the highest satisfaction for you and the companions.
Excellnat staff service and the personal attention for the guests is another uncomparable point of the Otel Chalets, eventually all of these will come to you with a reasonable pacakge you will never believe. Thanks for having a great place like this in a beautifull & calm city like Gampaha, situated just 40 minites drive from Colombo air port!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have excellant scenic beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Was here for a day and the place is well worth the price we paid .room is little small than the average but clean enough to have a pleasant stay . Owner too is a friendly chap who seems like he's enjoying every bit of what he does . I have nothing bad to say about this place but having more staff and making the swimming pool easily accessible from all corners of the place will definitely help the visitors .

I do not think twice recommending this nice little place to anyone who's searching for a place to stay in Gampaha .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here before taking the train up the Hill Country.

The staff were all very friendly, and collected us from the air port and dropped us off at the station in the morning. They even waited with us at the station, to ensure that we got the correct train (there were quite a few in Gampaha station), despite the President of Sri Lanka's brother coming to open their newly built swimming pool that morning!

Despite the swimming pool not being officially open, the staff were happy to let my nephews swim in it when we arrived!

The food was great, not nothing exceptional. It was just what we needed after a long/delay-ful journey from the Maldives.

The only down side was there was no mosquito net in our room, and we couldn't find our insect repellent at 3 in the morning, so woke up rather bitten.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here on our first day in Sri Lanka. The setting is beautiful and the rooms are lovely. The owner and his staff went above and beyond - letting us into our room despite arriving at 6am, showing us around and generally being super friendly. We stayed in the split level family room which is gorgeous - two double beds and the top level is open to a little balcony. The pool is a real treat: great setting and super clean. There was a bit of noise during the night from an over-exuberant dog but otherwise very peaceful. The restaurant at the top of the drive (owned by the same people) serves good food but we were the only customers that day so it was a bit quiet. Would thoroughly recommend this hidden treasure for your first or last night in SL as a great alternative to the traditional Negombo trail as it gives a good headstart inland to other areas you will likely visit.

Room Tip: Split level family room is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place was refered by one of my friends. When we arrived in Sri-Lanka, the owner of the chalets came to pick us up from the airport. The manager and the owner were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived, they offered us a welcome drink and gave us a tour of the chalets. We were able to pick which room we wanted. We chose the upper room of the first unit. The balcony gave us a great view of the paddyfield. We slept without disturbances. When we woke up, we had breakfast at the restaurant. We were served an English and Eastern breakfast, we really enjoyed it. Later on, we went for a swim in their newly-built swimming pool. It is situated on the paddy field with an amazing surrounding.The service and cleanliness was beyond expectations and the food was delicious. We were only going to stay for 2 nights but decided to stay a bit longer as we fell in love with the place. I definitely recommend all of you to visit this wonderful place whenever you visit Sri-Lanka. This place should be first on your list !

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Those who want a great view should chose the upper level rooms with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Discovering Otel Chalets was like finding a gem! This is indeed a great place to dine, relax and enjoy your means with friends and family. The food is very good and the staff and the management are second to none!

You would usually find live music on weekends making it a remarkable dining experience.

They also do have very cozy Chalets built with all ammenties. I have not been in one but have done a tour around. I am sure a night's stay at these Chalets would be an equally great experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otel Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otel Chalets

Address: #129/C, Oruthota Road | Mudungoda, Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Gampaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gampaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are four individually designed Chalets constructed with local building materials, in a unique modern but naturalistic style with verandas and wooden balconies. The Chalets present space to yourself and an excellent outlook of the exotic tropical setting, which is ideal for a peaceful holiday. All four Chalets are facilitated with air conditioning and ceiling fans, and equipped with 21” Colour Televisions. Modern built spacious private bathrooms with hot and cold water. The interior includes characteristic wooden furniture, local fabrics and mattresses of natural fibre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Otel Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otel Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.