We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Tearoom and Bakery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blaor Atholl Water Mill

The Blaor Atholl Water Mill
Blair Atholl Golf Club, Invertilt Rd, Blair Atholl PH18 5TE, Scotland (Formerly The Water Mill)
+44 1796 481321
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Canby, Oregon
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Fine Tearoom and Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Water Mill, down a short lane and across from the historic castle, is known for its fine baked goods, especially breads, but that's not all it should be known for. Lunch at the Water Mill is a treat--delicious soups, sandwiches, specialty lunches, and of course outrageous sweets. Besides lunch and breads to takee home, you can also visit their working grinding mill. In season the small picnic-style tables get very crowded--so crowded at times that it's hard not make friends. While the decor is decidedly not high class, the food certainly is. Don't pass up a chance to visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kinloch Rannoch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pre-order your bread!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Managed to fit in a last visit on 31 October to the tea room. I had pre orderd my bread and bagel and was surprised to see the shelves full when I went in! This however changed within 30 mintues of me being there for a toastie lunch. You cannot beat a homemade bread and locally sourced filling toasty! It is a little more expensive than other establishments in Highland Perthsire BUT the quality of the bread and the fillings and salad cannot be beaten locally. A great place for a "snack" lunch or a cuppa and a cake. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I would go all the way back to Blair Atholl just to visit The Water Mill tea room and bakery! Not only can you visit the working mill and buy flour and other homemade produce such as delicious breads, scones and bagels, but a meal in the tea room is a delight with the smell of fresh bread and warm soup in the air and the sound of the mill and the river outside as background music. The cheese scones and onion soup were delicious! So were the bagels and fruit bread. It was raining the day we visited and the tea room was such a warm and cosy shelter from the rain, but I'd love to go back when the sun is shining to sit outside at one of the wooden tables near the bridge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Back once again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have been coming to the Water Mill for more than 30 years now (seems hard to believe!) and enjoyed another visit yesterday. We were all able to sit outside in the sunshine, and I particularly enjoyed the cinnamon bagel with my cup of tea.

That couldn't be Kirsty's son helping out could it?? Surely Time doesn't pass that quickly?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fab cafe and working mill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A thorough recommendation for the Watermill cafe and bakery at Blair Atholl. Though it’s now closed for the season it’s definitely worth a trip during the spring/summer.

It’s a working mill, powered by a water wheel and the local stream. It also has a cafe – great soup!! – which sells their baked goods.

This time I had a yummy raisin and cinnamon bagel. I’m a bit fussy about my bagels, having tried the real thing freshly baked at a Jewish bakery in the US. But Rami and Kirsty didn’t let me down – I’ll be back for more…

The others had carrot cake (my companion loves it so much she travelled from Canada for a piece!) and tiffin (which their adorable daughter advertises on the menu and box) – all fabulous.

It’s making me hungry just thinking about it…

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blaor Atholl Water Mill also viewed

Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
Blair Atholl, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Blaor Atholl Water Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blaor Atholl Water Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.