We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal to your Saves list
Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Panamericana Sur Km. 197. 5, Chincha Alta, Chincha Alta, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chincha Alta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a tour group. The hotel is fairly new and is well maintained. Staff were all very helpful and the restaurant is excellent. My only complaint would be that the bathroom had a bad smell probably due to bad drainage. Be aware that the pool and water near the hotel mean mosquito's are around but the hotel do supply plug in mosquito zappers in rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    83
    32
    9
    1
See reviews for
58
93
5
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel will exceed your expectations when visiting Chincha. We found this little gem to be a welcome relief from all the hustle and bustle of traveling in Peru. Located right of the major north to south route makes this place a great base camp.

The bungalow style rooms are very comfortable, and the beautifully kept grounds around the hotel give the place a resort feel. The beds seemed a bit shorter than the normal beds in the US but I think that is a Peru/South America thing.

A large pool surrounded by lots of green grass, and flowers are just what we needed at the end of a busy day.

The hotel lobby are very clean and comfortable with lots of great seating areas away from the front desk. Wi-Fi service worked good in these areas.

The restaurant has great menu choices and a very nice breakfast bar every morning.

The nicely appointed gym is located up stairs over the hotel lobby and looking out over the pool and surrounding grounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having the experience of staying at one of the "Private Collections" I had a really interesting opportunity to compare the standard of a "Classic" version of the Casa Andina chain hotels.

The good news:

1. Casa Andina's standards for world class fittings, room size, service and cleaniness are there. You feel like you step into a different world when you just pass the front gates. Amazing considering that the Panamericana Sur highway and Chincha's busy commercial strip is right outside.

2. Online rate offer for reservations in advance were quite good and no hassles with check in. Though there was only one person at the front desk, service was prompt and efficient.

3. Hotel environment was charming and very comfortable for the stay (2 nights). There is a well kept garden, the pool was clean (not heated, but during the summer no worries), bar was working (try the sours, they are as good as you can get).

4. Bath water flow was healthy, slight wait for warm water - but it was there.

5. Convenient location: just off the highway, it is a welcome stopover if you are journeying south (or north). There are two major super markets nearby, with one just over the road - just be careful crossing it. Lots of the motor taxis are available at the front gate as well to take you into the town if you wish.

6. Staff spoke a decent level of English and were quite helpful when asked.

The bad news:

1. The room amenities (in this case lotions, soaps, shampoos, etc) were sparse. The soap was okay as the usual micro bar you come to expect, but the bottled shampoo was of a fruit or vegetable unknown. I had to use soap to get the scent out after I tried it. No lotions available, so make sure and walk with your own.

2. Few staff at front: the hotel was almost self help to some extent, e.g. when I drove in the guard (a friendly type by many standards) directed me to the parking lot. However, this was a decent walk from the front desk. Had to trudge my bags through the gravel that was used to pave the parking lot and then up to the front desk. No major fault, but I found it strange no help was ever offered on this. Same story on check out, but I figured out I can leave the bags at the front desk and bring the car over.

3. Breakfast: I was spoilt by the "Private Collection"...and suffered for it. My first morning was a huge disappointment. While I was not expecting the full service omelet station or the waiters keeping my coffee cup filled, the buffet breakfast was too basic. On offer was simply scrambled eggs and one other item, a regular bread variety, some packaged yoghurt (not sure if they were checked for freshness, one I tried was runny), jams, butter, sliced cheese and ham/salami and two diced fruits. Toaster required a gentle tap to get going. Coffee was okay, orange juice not fresh but passable. Maybe if I expected less I would have put this in the good news section.

4. Room lighting: just one item to note - no light in the bath stall (or section) - so at night this can be quite dark if you pull the shower curtains.

Safety question - I couldn't help notice two fire extinguisher demarcated areas with no fire extinguisher. I put it down to a renovation and these were moved to another section. Also, at the side of the patio area of the restaurant, the two large exit doors (I assume from a storage area) were cluttered with a ladder and a heater (outdoor type with propane tank). Again, it could be that some renovation work was completed and this was no longer a main exit. I noticed no one used it for the time I was there as there were two other doorways along the side to the rear which was super active. For paranoid guests like me it would be more assuring if these redundant signs were not there.

Overall, the stay was pleasant and I would actually return as it appears that this is certainly the best choice in Chincha.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms 101 to 107 - facing the back side of the kitchen area. You will constantly hear n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The best option in Chincha and a nice stay over all. It has a nice pool area and the rooms are cozy. The hotel staff is nice overall. However, the restaurant service is extremely slow and rude. I recommend staying at this Casa Andina but don't count on the restaurant staff at night. There was one extremely slow, inattentive, and rude waitress at the main restaurant. Ask for Juan however, he was a really great staff member. Cheers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and many other travelers who visit this website.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the discomfort presented during your stay with us, especially if the service received at our restaurant was not as expected. However, we can assure that your feedback has been taken into consideration to prevent similar situations from happening in the future.

We appreciate the opportunity you give us to improve and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to serve and guarantee you the real Casa Andina experience at any of our properties.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, very attentive staff, nice pool. They were "working on" the gym x 2 weeks while I was there (but it will be nice).. Like karaoke room (like a lounge with lots of couches- cute!). Food and laundry very expensive as compared to the surrounding area. Overall good hotel. Room cleanliness could be improved.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed one night at this relaxing hotel. The hotel is big yet warm. Rooms are like cottages surrounding a beautiful and big pool or facing a small soccer field. Each room has a small table and two chairs so you can have a nice cheese and wine or whatever. Or you can have a pisco sour in the bar, an ideal place for a nice talk with your couple.
Breakfast offers typical tamales and more besides ham, eggs, cheese and more. Restaurant offers good quality and tasty peruvian food. Personnel is friendly and polite and in the spacious lobby you get to see the garden.and the pool and most of the time it is sunny enough to wear your bikini and just do nothing by the pool.
This hotel has a business center incuding a conference room, so it is ideal also for this matters also.
In the garden the hotel allows five or six artisans to offer their products, promoting in this way support for people of the region. So you get to buy nice straw hats as well as sweet goodies or more.
Chincha is very small but important because they grow fruit and the famous peruvian cotton, with its high quality. Only 15 minutes away car driving is Pisco, the original place for the national bevereage: Pisco, made of grape juice.
If you plan to go to Chincha think also of going to Paracas so you get to visit the Ballestas Islands, a place to see sea wolves especially.
I highly reccomend Chincha Sausal Hotel if you want a beautiful and relaxing place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Part of the Casa Andina chain so looks same as all of the others. Rooms are all small cottages. There is a very nice, good size swimming pool. Bar decent size and beer about S/7. Restaurant good, one main course available for veggies. Breakfast standard but no bowls available for the cereal - not sure how they thought we could eat them! Pretty grounds but nothing else nearby. Safe available free if you ask for the key.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal

Address: Panamericana Sur Km. 197. 5, Chincha Alta, Chincha Alta, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Chincha Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chincha Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Classic Chincha Sausal is a cozy, comfortable and practical hotel. It is located on the southern coast of Peru, a few minutes from the heart of Chincha. A tasty and creative gastronomy highlighting the best traditional regional cuisine is one of its attributes, every guest should try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal Hotel Chincha Alta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Classic - Chincha Sausal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.