We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frightening.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Timberland Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shabaqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timberland Motel
Save
You added Timberland Motel to your Saves list
RR2 @ Hwy 11 / 17, Shabaqua, Ontario P0T 1X0, Canada   |  
Ranked #1 of 1 Shabaqua B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Frightening.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Not the worst I've stayed in but close. After seeing a couple of dead moose on the highway we decided it was time to stop. This place was cheap but even with that it was hard to take. When we arrived the window was open but that didn't hide the stench of the room which had been doused in air freshener. The carpet was damp, the box springs stained and smaller than the mattresses (lumpy) that were on them. There wasn't really a lock on the door so we put a chair and suitcase in front and there was no curtain on the window. My husband was the only one to brave a shower and subsequently got a rash of unidentified orgin.

This place is preferable to running into a moose but only slightly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
trenton
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Like others have said, we were too tired to drive any further. We were getting ready to go to bed and heard some loud bangs and seen some bright light flashing outside the window, all of a sudden the power went out. I looked outside and see a power pole and some wires going to the building. We went outside and noticed other people who were staying at the motel also lost power, while I was speaking to the guy that was in the room beside me, we saw a bunch of sparks flying on top of the roof in 2 spots. Girlfriend freaked out and packed our stuff and put it in the car. Had to call the number on the door to get a hold of the owner who lived upstairs, but still had power. Nothing he could do as the lines broke off the building and were arcing. Said it was up to us if we wanted to stay, after discussing with our neighboor, both parties decided for a refund and move on, as there was a 1% chance the place could have caught on fire and we wanted no part of that. Owner offered us gas, but we were full from thunder bay, also gave us 20 dollars more then we paid. We drove another hour west and found a nicer motel to stay at.

Room Tip: Drive another hour west, there is a better motel on a little waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were to exhausted to drive further. The rug was 'lumpy', paint peeling off of the walls, sink coming away from the wall. No hot water on arrival & the towels were 'iffy'. Linen appeared to be clean though. However the staff were very friendly & did come and fix the hot water immediately when told of the problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

If I was by myself on my trip i would have prefered sleeping in the car. Too fatigued to drive further. There is nothing else around. It is suitable for a guys only fishing trip where no one is worried about flies, bugs or grime. $75 a night and it should be $35. The place is what it is. A place to crash. I will say the linens were clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timberland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberland Motel

Address: RR2 @ Hwy 11 / 17, Shabaqua, Ontario P0T 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Shabaqua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shabaqua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberland Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.