We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience with a lovely family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbe Blanche Hotel

Columbe Blanche Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulay Idriss
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbe Blanche Hotel
Save Saved
You added Columbe Blanche Hotel to your Saves list
21 Rue Zouak Tazgha | Zerhoune, Moulay Idriss, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moulay Idriss
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Authentic experience with a lovely family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Quite a treat to stay in this family home which has been converted into a hotel. Our twin room was simple yet clean and secure. There was a trick with the hot water in the shower but it worked well. The family were very friendly and helpful, Watching the sunset from the roof top terrace eating fresh pomegranates was lovely. We enjoyed a banquet dinner here (90DH plus drinks) and were welcome to go into the kitchen to watch it being prepared. The banquet included Moroccan salad, Harira soup, Kofta Tajine, Chicken with vegetables and cous cous (best I have ever eaten) - followed by fresh fruit. Am so glad I was able to visit this special spiritual town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I did not stay at Columbe Blanche but I did have the pleasure of eating here late one night at very short notice. A superb meal was made to order for me as I am a vegetarian. The cous cous was one of the best I have eaten in Morocco. Thanks so much.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Loved this place. Friendly family and amazing food!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

This "hotel" is the same as "La Colombe Blanche" B&B. I suggest the TripAdvisor staff to unify the names and the critics into 1 only place, the B&B. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xpcv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

The Columbe Blanche is a private home with 5 rooms on the upper two floors devoted to tourists. It is located on a residential alleyway deep in the heart of the "medina" section of the village (by "medina" I mean no cars - only foot traffic). The fabulous food is cooked by the wife, and the guests are seen to by the husband, whose main job is as a shopkeeper on the main (pedestrian) retail street of the village. We arrived in Moulay Idriss from the back road mountain pass from Beni Ammar (fabulous entry into village) in our fancy, schmancy rental car and stopped at the gas station asking for directions. We were led to a guarded carpark and Zaimi's brother's shop where they cell-phoned the house for Zaimi to come down and greet us. Zaimi arranged for some donkeys to take our bags up to the house. (Moulay Idriss is a mountain village carved into the side of hill - expect to climb). This is a hotel for the adventurous - for those seeking an encounter with The Other - not for the 5 star set. The rooms have bathrooms, but ... hot water has to be turned on by the host, and the beds in each room are extremely plentiful, absolutely comfortable... just not decked out in Riad decorator style. This is how real middle-class Moroccans live, not an orientalist fantasy. We took the rooftop rooms and had terrace to ourselves with fabulous views down onto the plain where Volubulis lies.
Zaimi is so not-slick and unjaded that it's charming. His English is almost non-existent. He's got a friend to help him with English-speaking guests that is a little... obtrusive, but that's because they are still working out the operation. I loved this place; it's not luxurious, but it is so REAL, and the value is great (200 DH/person).

  • Liked — The anthropological authenticity, the hosts, the setting, the view
  • Disliked — If you want/need/expect mod-cons, this is not for you
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbe Blanche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbe Blanche Hotel

Address: 21 Rue Zouak Tazgha | Zerhoune, Moulay Idriss, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Moulay Idriss
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moulay Idriss

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbe Blanche Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.