We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely couple are the hosts.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pink Shack

The Pink Shack
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zejtun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pink Shack
Save
You added The Pink Shack to your Saves list
12 Sqaq Sant Isidoru, Zejtun, Island of Malta ZTN2261, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very lovely couple are the hosts.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed just a night on our way back from our rather long holiday. So we got there around mid night and left before lunch so we can t really do the justice .
But over all, it was an interesting stay, the village which the house is located is quite remote and did not have any thing attractive.(to me) but the house was really nicely designed , really cool as you enter and the paintings,books just keep ur eyes rolling. A little dog will also add to the charm and the couple are really really nice,educated,polite and welcoming.
But to be very fair, we did not expect to stay in the heart of the house with the family and our idea of the b&b was to have a bit of a privacy,where as in our case,the room was right at the door and with a window to the main living room, so any slightest noise from our room could have been heard by others outside , and to us was not very relaxing.
And it was in August and the air felt heavy and hot and there was no ac, so we had to struggle a bit specially during the day.
Breakfast was a combination of nice fruits jam,toast ,cheese and tomatoes , and it was very very nice.
Over all it was nice meeting the couple,interesting stay,a bit over priced

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I love the Pink Shack and its owners. Lyndon and Lillianne are kind, gentle and wonderful people. They have created a beautiful space in this little town of Zejtun that has a wonderful local feel - Sunday morning by the local church, Bigilla man in his van driving by and men gathering in local Social Club...it is exactly what you want to experience in Malta when visiting....This is authentic, real and unpretentious. Not far from other interesting spots - secret beaches, markets, tombs, caves etc. And Valletta is just 10 minutes drive in a car.
Pink Shack is designed for you to fall in love with it :-) A very special place!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are nice, we got a chance to see them all and trully can say so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struer, Denmark
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staying at the Pink Shack you don't feel like staying in a B&B, you stay in Lilliannes and Lyndons lovely home.

We had 10 lovely days at the Pink Shack enjoying the hospitality of our hosts and their lovely pets - Mabel the cheeky dog, in particular stole our hearts - and napkins!

The Pink Shack itself is a very interesting piece of architecture - modern yet still with the charm of the old farm it used to be.

Pool in the yard is great to unwind in, and the rooms are very spacious with good bathrooms.

The shared breakfast with all the guests is an important part of the stay, as this is where tips about where to go, where to eat and what to see are exchanged; one gets inspiration not just from Lyndon and Lillianne but also from other guests. The breakfast itself is always varied and filling.

You need a car to get around in Malta - do book a small one, as the streets in Zejtun are very narrow. Lyndon met us at the airport and led the way to the house, which was great as the maze of oneway streets in Zejtun take a bit of getting used to. Do get a GPS for your car, it eases navigation in Malta a great deal, although not all places are listed, best thing to do is to put in landmarks like hotels etc.

Zejtun itself does not have anywhere to go and eat, but the charming fishing village of Marsaxlokk is within 25 minutes walking distance - and Valetta is easy to get to by bus, if you want a night out and don't want to appoint a designated driver. Taxis are reasonably cheap, but tell them to drive carefully as everybody on Malta seems to drive like madmen.

Speaking of dining, Lyndon and Lilliane have an extensive knowledge about good places to eat all over the island, do take them up on their advice and let them reserve a table for you as we found it is well worth it.

Despite the name its not a gay B&B, but as we found out to our delight, they are very gay friendly.

Cheers Jens and Anth.

Room Tip: Yellow room has en-suite, red room has bigger bed and private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We recently stayed in the Pink Shack with Lyndon & Lillianne who are wonderful hosts and make you feel more like visiting friends than paying guests. This is a sympathetically converted traditional village house which is like a tardis when you get inside. We tried two bedrooms - the Yellow one for the first part of our stay...... light and airy at the top of the house, loads of space and quiet. Then moved to the downstairs room which is very atmospheric with lots of wood and interesting art pieces and a huge four poster bed. We moved to help accomodate new guests arriving not for any other reason. This is a very relaxed property, with very hospitable hosts. The breakfasts are a veritable feast of fresh produce, fruits, freshly squeezed fruit jiuce and bread with home made jams, also there are different cooked items each day - absolutely wonderful - and they can last quite a long time as the conversations flows. There is no rush. You are given a key and can come and go as you please. We loved being there. Although the house is down a back alley - we did not have any trouble finding somewhere to park each evening after we came back from our days outings. And Zejtun is only a few minutes drive from Marsaxlokk with all the lovely fish restaurants - so perfect for evening meals. And then there is Mabel - the most delightful host ever - a small very friendly canine addition to the house - she was so sweet. If we go back to Malta in the future - we will not even look at staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have never stayed anywhere as welcoming as The Pink Shack before. Lyndon and Lillianne made me feel as if I was staying with friends rather than at a bed and breakfast. Their home is beautiful - old and modern at the same time. I was made to feel so welcome and encouraged to sit with them and talk rather stay in my room, and fellow guests and I were even invited to a wonderful dinner party one evening. The cooking is scrumptious - Lillianne's homemade jams have already been mentioned, and there were delicious freshly squeezed juices too. I came to stay at Zejtun because of the fascinating Easter customs, and was kindly taken out around the village to see everything going on, and learnt so much about Malta from them. As someone unused to pets I soon grew to love Mabel the dog. Thank you for my wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

"Bed and Breakfast" doesn't do Lyndon and Lillianne suffficient credit. "Homestay" sums the Pink Shack to perfection. The Breakfasts were "to live for", with a different choice each morning and lovely, long, lively conversations to start each day.

Lillianne and Lyndon made perfect suggestions for our daily adventures and we totally agree with Walterke about Tartarun.

Mable, their newly acquired puppy is a delight as are Bruce and Bert, the two cats.

Thank you both for making our stay so very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Thank you so much to Lillianne and Lyndon for their warm welcome. We had 6 amazing days at their b&b. We felt like in family.
They came to meet us at the airport, helped us through the car rental and gave us very good advice about the sites to visit and the restaurants.
They are very nice people and very helpful with their guests. Our room was large, well decorated and perfectly clean. Their charming house has three guest rooms.
The breakfasts were very big and delicious : home-made jams, fresh bread, each day a different kind of cooking the eggs, pastries, various cheese, ham, sausage or smoked salmon... Amazing !
We are used to staying in b&bs but the pink shack is definitely the best one we have ever had.
Thank you again to them both, we will long remember our stay in Malta !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pink Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pink Shack

Address: 12 Sqaq Sant Isidoru, Zejtun, Island of Malta ZTN2261, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Zejtun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Zejtun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Pink Shack Malta/Zejtun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pink Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.