We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay & eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Ayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Oak
Save
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
Great Ayton, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Great Ayton B&B and Inns
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay & eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Booked here for a midweek walking break. Rooms were clean with soft fluffy towels, changed daily - though not asked for. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner who gave his personal attention to most things. His evening bar/catering staff worked extremely hard and managed to cater for everyones wishes, A very popular eating establishment with a good menu- early bird 'til 6-00 pm then another 'til 7-30 and the main menu to choose from. Beer a little pricey but cheaper than the only other pub in this pretty village.

Room Tip: Room 6 suffers slightly by being over the kitchen extractor, though not a problem when ccoking has c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night (a Saturday) on our cycling holiday. We arrived to find the pub packed with folk enjoying themselves. We were given an immediate warm welcome, and were quickly shown to our room. The room was on the small side, but clean and well maintained. We quickly changed clothes and got back to the bar for a drink. We were warmly welcomed by a group of the locals at the bar, and had a very enjoyable conversation – as well as a very nice pint! The evening meal continued our enjoyment of the Royal Oak: copious quantities and well cooked, very nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I have just come back from a 1 night get away with my boyfriend and our dog it was just one of those random nights away. It took us about 2 hours to get there but we had a very warm welcome, the pub has a grass green across from it plus a nice walk which takes you to roseberry topping. We ate at the pub just a burger and some chips and we sat in the side bar because of having the dog with us so we were very happy to do so, i must say it is one of the best burgers i have had in a pub for a long time. The staff are all great and very friendly we will be using this place again and many more because it was so easy. I down loaded the aa bed and breakfast app which is great for finding places where you can take your dog!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed her on 5th night of Cleveland Way. Room very small, shabby and not very clean (especially the carpet). The bathroom was unpleasant. As this was a Saturday there was music from the bar (to be expected) but it went on until 1pm. On the positive side the food and service was very good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ate here to mark my husband`s birthday. Food was "homely" but very very, very good; freshly cooked, very nicely served, hot, and tasty. I would certainly recommend eating here and will be going again.
Generous portions too and very reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The Royal Oak (along with my daughter) have just organised the most amazing 60th 'surprise' party for me. It was a themed Hawaiin evening as we were going on a cruise around the Pacific later in the year to celebrate my birthday, The dining room was decorated in a Hawaiin theme and we were greeted with Rum Punch and canapes. The meal was superb, a choice for everyone but everyone was served at the same time (no pre-ordering necessary). The staff were polite, friendly and attentive and I cannot thank the staff and management of the Oak (and my daughter) enough for making my special birthday such a memorable evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

14 Photography enthusiasts booked our annual evening out with the Royal Oak.......WoW from the moment we telephoned to book till the moment we left after our meal the service was friendly, informative and wonderful. The atmosphere and decorations were very condusive to getting everyone relaxed and ready for our meal. Whilst waiting for everyone to arrive a few of us tried the real ale on offer and compliments on it being well kept. Finally I have to say that all of the above was surpassed by the food which was excellent , well presented and delicious. All in all I have to say that I didn't hear a bad word from any of our party and most of us will be back for more of the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Great Ayton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Great Ayton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Great Ayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.