We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food,shame about the service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whinstone View Bistro

Whinstone View Bistro
B1292, Great Ayton TS9 6QG, England
01642 723285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 restaurants in Great Ayton
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Middlesbrough
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food,shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited the Bistro for a celebration meal ... it took 25 minutes to get our order in even though the the place was not over busy.. and this because we had to remind the manager twice that we were not being attended to.. When the food arrived it was excellent & the waitress service first class...shame about the waiting time though

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    59
    27
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Used as eating and meeting venue and couldn't fault. Excellent hidden location, lovely sun terrace just the job in this nice weather. Great service. Food exceptional. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Why this is my favourite place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful outside eating area and inside, the bistro has the perfect ambience. I love anti-pasta and the platter here is to die for. The only thing missing is a few slices of cheese and I always ask this to be added and the staff who are very polite and friendly don't mind at all. Love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Lack of staff charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I went with friends for lunch at the Bistro. As it was a lovely day we chose one of several empty tables outside. Once seated we were asked by a very grumpy waitress if we had booked a table. We said we hadn't but as none of the tables had a reserved sign on them we presumed it was ok to be seated. The look from this woman said it all! We presumed we should not have been sat there. Although we weren't asked to move the poor service only confirmed our suspicions that we should not have sat at the table! We did not feel welcome the whole time we were there. Interestingly enough though the other tables remained unoccupied for the whole 90 minutes we were there so no idea what the problem was.
The food was average at best when it eventually arrived. My salad was drenched in acidic dressing which completely ruined the meal.And it was definately overpriced.
If I return I only hope the grumpy staff member has been retrained at some charm school or other.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Surroundings pity about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went on Moday night for my wife's birthday. Wanted somewhere with a nice beer garden so we could soak up some of this super sunshine we're having. Been here before a couple of years ago and it was really nice. Took a table on the decking and drinks arrived promptly. Starters were good. Main courses were just average. I had the lasagne from the 8 for 8 menu. It was more like a 'slice' of lasagne served with a small salad and a couple of pieces of garlic bread. Tasty but really disappointed with the portion size...poor value for money, if it was this small it should have come with chips. My wife had the Whinstone slider which on first impressions looked really good. However again the portion sizes were quite small and she said they were a little greasy. The time between starter and main was 40 minutes and even though there were girls about we had to call one over to ask for more drinks and to see the sweet menu. Overall I would rate the place / surroundings as excellent but the food / service as average and the portion sizes as poor. Overall we had a nice night and hopefully this was just a one off and we will return to give it another go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whinstone View Bistro also viewed

Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
 
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Whinstone View Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whinstone View Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.