We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for anniversary celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Holetown, Holetown 24011, Barbados
+1 4328356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $1 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for anniversary celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Delicious food, fantastic location right next to the beach and very romantic along with excellent service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,041
    286
    115
    40
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb food, service US style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault the tides for their food, it as just delicious, but felt this was spoiled slightly by the US style service which, whilst very attentive, meant that we were pretty much in and out in an hour.

Would have preferred to linger over such a delicious meal.....

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
435 helpful votes 435 helpful votes
“Sorry this isn't a 5*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We have been coming to Barbados for many years and always save Tides for a special occasion. We prefer it to the Cliff and have never had a poor meal. The food is amazing and so is the service normally - top notch on both counts. We were there for my birthday and had a lovely table - even had a balloon this year!! Also a great rendition of happy birthday!! So why only 4*? Other reviewers have mentioned service is faultless, sometimes quite formal. For us for the first time ever the service wasn't great! It took about 15 mins sat at our table trying to catch someones eye to place our wine order, we had to ask for our table to be cleared of dirty plates after sitting with them on our table for a while. And I know this sounds daft - but this is a top notch restaurant - nobody topped up our wine. We had to hunt to ask someone for a second bottle! We were OK with this but not normal standard when paying such a high price. Basically service was spotty with 2 hostesses spending most of their time at one table in particular chatting to the two guests for VERY long periods of time. I think we must have been there on an off night - we will go to Tides again as the food is so fab, but will keep my fingers crossed for better service!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy B, Owner at The Tides, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
I can only appologise for the poor service your party received when you dined with us. As you know from previous visits that is not our standard. I look forward to welcoming you back to Tides next time you are on island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Went to the tides last night after numerous times of saying I would go and I must say why did I take so long to go here, it was amazing. From the start to the finish it was fantastic, went with my parents my wife and 5 year old boy and everyone was spoilt rotten by our waiter Wayne.
I would recommend this place to anyone can't wait to go back. When we left I bumped into the owner and head chef Guy and was really taken back by his warmth and pride in his restaurant, thank you very much to all and hope to see you soon

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marden, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We visited Tides as a couple in November and then returned with family in July. The food is very good - better perhaps this time than last, with decent quantities too. Not cheap but we will certainly return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.