We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Holetown, Holetown 24011, Barbados
+1 4328356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $1 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Yet again a fabulous dinner at Tides. Service as ever was attentive and food just fab ! Don't miss out on the shrimp curry - just gorgeous. We have been to Tides for a number of years and they always maintain the same high quality of food and service.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    286
    115
    40
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Recommended by the Locals, we were not disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The steaks were succulent, desserts geared to the American sweet tooth, staff attentive and a good selection of wines - i'd go back just to savour the steak again!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“As usual, fine dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We always go to the Tides when in Barbados. The quality is always very high. This time we actually went twice. First time we had the Lobster - perfect! And the second time the Steak - again can't fault it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Impeccable service together with excellent food and presentation and an ambience to match, make this restaurant count as one of the best we've experienced. May try and squeeze another visit before we go home :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been to Barbados many times over the last 12 years, and stayed mostly on the West Coast, but this is the first time that we have eaten at Tides. We have walked past this restaurant many times during the day and to be honest it didn’t really look that outstanding, but wow, what a difference at night, this restaurant is absolutely stunning, tables beautifully laid out, lighting, not what we expected at all. The service was excellent, and the food was wonderful, just wish we had tried this lovely restaurant before. We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary there, and they gave us a lovely table with a celebratory balloon, table was decorated with crystals and we received a lovely cake at the end off our meal. We will definitely eat there again next time we are in Barbados. Forgot to mention that it is on the edge off the Broadwalk on the West Coast in Hole Town, so you have a lovely sea view with large candles lit up along the edge, just perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.